We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families or old folks!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   111 Country Club Drive, Incline Village, NV 89451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sunshine on Sale
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Incline Village
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Ramon, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great for families or old folks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

The title sounds bad, great place for families or old folks?! Is that possible? Well, it is. This place is on the extreme... old people can enjoy and so can families with children....there were 2 pools and 2 hot tubs... 1 for the kids and the other for adults, that goes for the hot tubs too. Hyatt Hotels offer a Camp Hyatt and a nanny service which we took advantage of, our children loved it. We did receive some glares from old folks, not my fault my kids yell out with laughter when they are in the pool. In the evening, we were told to keep it down because our friends (minus the children) were being too loud for the old patrons. We were in the saloon and it was 7pm, the casino was quiet, it's definately not Las Vegas but it's a CASINO PEOPLE! I have to say this place is for old people or young families, nothing really inbetween. The rooms were great, we stayed Lakeside (across the street from the main hotel) and had an amazing view of the lake... the food was average. The beach was AMAZING, it's private which makes it even better... they provided everything and made an effort to make everyone feel comfortable. The beach is really perfect for the young families, the children can run wild and not have to worry about disturbing the seniors.

  • Liked — The beach, location, room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    466
    274
    75
    37
    23
See reviews for
212
327
25
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

We were here over this past weekend - found the place to be very over priced for what it was and moved to the Marriott for the second half of the stay for $100 less per night -same bed, same pool, more amenities, larger room, add DVD player and nicer bathroom, less cigarette smoke and casino.

The Hyatt did have a nice bed and great pool, but like I said so does the Marriott. The spa was pretty but not "amazing." This is also a casino therefore the lobby is full of cigarette smoke and the sounds of slot machines, not very pretty or elegant. The website is very deceiving, as per the pictures the hotel appears to be lakeside, not true. The hotel is thru a parking lot and across the street (and thru another parking lot.)

The Lone Eagle Grill is beach side and was quite nice, great service, great view, elegant. Could be very nice in the summer time.

The breakfast (Shore Cafe) was so over-priced it was shocking that is probably why it was totally EMPTY everytime we walked by (2 eggs - $14 if you wanted that room-service make that 2 eggs $20.40) especially when you can drive/walk less then 3 blocks and get a great breakfast for about $7.

We also booked a Spa Terrace View room and somehow ended up on the other side of the hotel looking at an ugly roof and trash bins (it was nearly mid-nite when we checked in, too late to see and too sleepy anyway) Upon check-OUT they apologized??@#$^*(&^%

pick the Marriott.... unless you smoke, gamble.... and want to spend extra money and get nothing for it...in that case I will give you my address you can send some money there.

  • Liked — Bed and pool
  • Disliked — price and over rated.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

Fantastic property on the quiet north shore of Lake Tahoe. A few noteworthy things to mention that haven't come up in previous reviews:

-Weather can be fickle. We had snow on Memorial Day weekend! It didn't cover the ground at the Hyatt's elevation though.

-Heated outdoor pool can be accessed from inside the building, which is great in cold weather. One of the two hot tubs is adult only, and was almost scaldingly hot.

-Sign up for a Player's Advantage Club card in the Grand Lodge casino attached to the Hyatt. Before checkout, check with casino services to see if you can get anything deducted from your hotel bill based on your play.

-Casino is small but fun. Good drink service, but when the table games are busy the cocktail waitresses don't really bother getting anything for the slots players.

-Nachos at Cutthroat's in the hotel are excellent. This bar also has a great selection of beers.

-Parking can be dicey during busy casino hours, when casino patrons are sharing the lot with hotel guests.

-The Paddlewheel bar across the street is pretty dank, but the drinks are probably a quarter of the price of what the Hyatt charges and the locals hanging out there are, well, let's just say they're interesting.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

The property is absolutely beautiful, particularly going on the crosswalk to their private beach and walking to their floating pier. You have a stunning view of the mountains on the pier and can actually bend down and put your hands in the lake. They have rocking chairs and a bar set up to watch the sun set. Their fire pits at night are also wonderful to sit around and talk to other guests. We definitely will go back. Our room was beautiful (tenth floor) and we could see the mountain peaks and beach from our room, which faced the front of the hotel.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2008

We were here for a four day conference and stayed on the Regency Floor. The Regency Floor Lounge was pleasant with light evening snacks and free alcohol. Their continental breakfast was filling but not really inspiring. We had a wonderful evening meal at the Sierra Cafe. The lobby is inviting with leather couches and a large gas fireplace. There is a casino that was quiet. Their concierge was helpful with scenic drive suggestions.
They have valet parking and self-service parking. The room safe was large enough for the laptop. Their premiere restaurant, Lone Eagle, was a five minute walk and faces Lake Tahoe. The beach is located in front of the Lone Eagle and has wonderful views of lake and mountains. Although we did not take a swim, several brave souls were swimming and using the whirlpools.. We found the room clean. The only thing that surprised us was the darkness of the elevators. Across the street are some restaurants including Tomatoes. We did a “carry out’ for a tasty pizza.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2008

While looking for a place to stay in Lake Tahoe, I decided on the Hyatt Regency because it's a reliable name. The stay was over a long weekend and while it was o.k., I just didn't feel like it was a 4 or 5 star place at all.

My major issue was with the transportation. I was most pleased with the North Lake Tahoe Express from the airport. They are reliable and the drivers are friendly; I found it ironic that getting to the airport cost half of what it cost me to get to a ski resort. My second day there, I missed the 8 am shuttle to Northstar and on calling the front desk, they stated a taxi would run me about $30. Northstar is not that far from the Hyatt. On calling the taxi service, they told me they charged $50. Now, I understand the Hyatt doesn't own the taxi company, but the concierge should have a good idea of what the taxi service should cost to go to the nearby ski resorts. Here's my advice-take the bus that goes right by the Hyatt back entrance -it's $1.50 with a transfer to get to Northstar. That's how I got back.

Also, don't rely on the Hyatt's phone list (in the activities book that is in every hotel room). I got two full voicemail boxes when I tried to find out information about cross country ski options. Like others who have commented on the room temperature, mine was slightly off and I was sickened in my NON SMOKING room by late night smoking in one of the nearby rooms-it was coming through the vents. The maid service was nothing to write home about-the maid made up the TV remote and 2 pairs of socks into my bed-causing consternation when I couldn't find either of the items, thinking I was going crazy and had lost them. The towels weren't folded either in the bathroom on each of my two nights.

That being said, the food and restaurants were quite good and generally well priced. Room service was fantastic and very quick. I also LOVED the spa-one of the top spa experiences I've ever had. All of the personnel in the Stillwater Spa were incredibly friendly and welcoming. It is an absolutely beautiful spa-I love all the warm fireplaces you can huddle around while waiting for your next treatment, and the relaxation room is wonderfully relaxing. I really like that they emphasized their policy that you can use the facilities all day after your treatments. That being said, I think there is a lot of potential for this Hyatt-maybe some additional support and education for some of the staff, but otherwise a decent stay.

  • Liked — Spa
  • Disliked — Some service
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2008

This resort is amazing! We were treated like royality from everyone who works at this resort. We were always called by our names, and the service went far and above any other resort we have stayed at. The views are unbelievable and we especially enjoyed the sunset on the beach. We had Sunday brunch which was excellent, ate at the bar and grill, and had appetizers and drinks at their restaurant across the street (also watched the sunset from here) The spa treatment was the best spa experience I have ever had, although it is pricey. We used the hot tub outside which was fun in the winter time. I would definately recommend this resort to a friend.

  • Liked — location and staff
  • Disliked — small casino
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino

Address: 111 Country Club Drive, Incline Village, NV 89451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Incline Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Incline Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular setting on Lake Tahoe’s north shore with 500 feet of private, lakefront beach. Surrounded by towering pines and mountain greenery; 35 miles to Reno/Tahoe Int’l Airport; 40 miles to South Lake Tahoe Airport. Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino was recreated in the classic style of a 1920s alpine grand lodge. Exterior renovations of river rock and shingles complement the natural environment with colors echoing the tradition and sense of history of the original homes built in the Tahoe area. Extensive river rock landscaping and two outdoor fireplaces add to the guests' sense of arrival at the "Old Tahoe-Lodge" style entrance. The resort's Grand Lobby boasts crafted stonework, creating a cozy setting amid the warmth of an oversized double-sided fireplace, rich leather chairs and high-beam ceilings. The 421 guestrooms, including 24 lakeside cottages, have been decorated with natural pine, distressed wood, and leather furnishings, reflecting the setting with autumn colors of moss, brick red and wheat. Included in our Lake Tahoe resort's $60 million transformation was the addition of the Spa Terrace, a new three-story wing adjacent to the main 12-story hotel. Offering 138 luxury guestrooms with views of the Sierra Nevada skyline, the addition provides visitors with private balconies and breathtaking lake views. The Spa Terrace replaces the resort's former Aspen Terrace and overlooks the resort's new swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Hotel Incline Village
Hyatt Lake Tahoe Resort
Hyatt Incline Village
Hyatt Regency Incline Village
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa And Casino Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.