We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lakeside setting in North Tahoe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   111 Country Club Drive, Incline Village, NV 89451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Incline Village
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful lakeside setting in North Tahoe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our stay at this Hyatt over the President's Day long weekend was terrific. The hotel itself recently finished a modernization program, so our room in the tower was very comfortable and spacious. The staff was very friendly and the service level was high. We booked our visit through the American Express Fine Hotels program, so we were given free breakfast for two every morning as well as a $100 resort credit and late check-out. The buffet breakfast at the hotel was extensive and service was good despite the very crowded conditions; President's Day is clearly one of the busiest periods of the entire year. The onsite Lone Eagle Grille restaurant at water's edge was enjoyable; the lodge-styled dining room is fantastic while the food and service were very good. The spa was also very modern, clean and comfortable; our massage treatments were very good.
This hotel is convenient to local ski resorts including Northstar and Squaw Valley. One word of warning: be very careful as you drive through the nearby CA/NV border area. It's a speed trap!

Room Tip: To ensure a good view ask for a room above the 7th floor if booked for the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    334
    90
    44
    27
See reviews for
265
404
30
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here twice and absolutely love it. Regardless if you are a skier (in the winter), or in Tahoe to enjoy the summer season, we are of the opinion that it doesn't get much better than the Hyatt on the north shore. On site restaurant, bar, cafe, casino, fitness center, and amazing pool area is sure to keep you busy. The hotel offers luxury accommodations in both the main tower area, and cottage homes (across the street). The rooms are very well apportioned and modern; condition of rooms would rank near the top one percent of hotels we have visited. The cottage option is also nice, but not as modern; however, they are lake front. In the summer this is a huge plus; less than one minute walk to the beach/water. Although we didn't gamble, the casino is one of the nicer ones in the area, with a full array of both slots and table games. We can't say enough about the pool...awesome! Restaurant is pricey, but not above average for a hotel of this type. Food was very good. Lastly, it would be unfair to not mention the staff; they were great as well, greeting us with a glass of champagne at check-in. Hotel does charge a resort fee.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We were fortunate enough to be upgraded no charge to a lakefront cottage that overlooked the lake. Stayed 2 nights and had a fantastic stay. The staff were so accommodating and the restaurants were excellent. I would make a point of trying to book a cottage on my next visit. So much quieter and you can park your car out the front of your cottage. Fireplace in the living room of the cottage also adds to the experience.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our family of 4 including two kids age 5 and 7 visited for a 3 night weekend stay. We arrived from the airport on the North Tahoe Express shuttle (very nice driver...$140 roundtrip for 4) to the hotel which we found very well kept with friendly reception and an inviting "lodge" decor with fireplace in lobby. Rooms are clean, good quality toiletries, and nice step out balcony. My husband complained of a disinfectant smell (I think they might clean with Pinesol to keep with the "lodge" theme, but can't be sure...I wasn't bothered by it too much).

The location is a bit secluded...I think it's too far to walk to any center of activity. However, there are shuttles that run to and from various ski resorts, but I believe it runs to Diamond Peak most frequently, so we actually cancelled our plans to go to Northstar (only one shuttle to/fro daily). We had a great time at Diamond and I believe we saved a good deal of money with this choice...only $60 all day lift per person and there are some fantastic views of the Lake Tahoe from these peaks...something I did not expect. The Hyatt shuttles running to and from Diamond were fantastic...prompt and friendly driver, but be aware shuttle doesn't start running till 8:30am - lines for ski school and rentals on site start earlier than this. For our first time bringing the whole family skiing, we were hoping for a little more guidance how to plan the ski school purchase, rentals, etc, but the concierge was only vaguely familiar with the process. Nonetheless we figured it out after the first day at the slopes.

Back at the hotel, we enjoyed the hot tubs outside multiple times after skiing (regular pool is heated, but not quite enough for most adults to enjoy...many kids didn't seem to mind), watched one of the free kid movies in one of the common viewing ballrooms, and also roasted smores at the firepit - all of which our kids loved. My husband and I wanted to do a spa treatment one day after skiing, but there was no opportunity since we returned from the slopes around 5 and the last spa sessions were at 6...also no childcare for adult spa time unless you pay $150 for a several hrs of the "kids camp".

Changing gears, we were completely impressed by the food and the beautiful dining area decor and mountain views - I believe it was all recently renovated. Buffets were available at Sierra Cafe (our daily choice) which was somewhat pricey, but well worth it for the fresh food and excellent service! Breakfast buffet included much more than continental such as apple crepes, omelets, fresh pan fried potatoes, yogurts, oatmeal, variety of breads/pastries, fruits and juices. Our dinners included fresh scallop, prime rib, blackened salmon over creamed spinach, many delicious green sides/salads, and EXQUISITE mini dessert selection each night...creme brulee, mini merengues, chocolate pies/cakes, etc...not the cheapy box stuff of a chain buffet, very high quality! We skipped lunch on the slopes to build an appetite for these buffet dinners during our stay. On the last morning of our stay, we were a bit dissapointed we couldn't eat breakfast before our airport shuttle. Buffet was slated to open at 6:30a, but at 6:50a, it still hadn't gotten going so we had to scurry out with a muffin from Tahoe Provisions which is the cute little bakery with starbucks coffee. However, we did have a super friendly check out and were able to use the lobby's large computer screen rapid airline check-in just prior to leaving. All in all, despite the few little bumps, the experience was overall terrific...would definitely come back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The hotel itself is located across the street from Lake Tahoe; a great location and a beautiful hotel for sure. The restaurant and bar are directly on the lake, they are not to be missed. The outdoor fire pit is awesome. The rooms at the hotel are clean and well laid out. Now for the not so good news.... the sound insulation between rooms is terrible. I could hear almost every word that the people in the next room were saying. The words, the coughs, the sneezes...all of it. The guest room doors from the hallway to each room seem like they are too short, they are very high from the floor, so there is a large gap that lets in extra sound from the hallway as people pass by. This of course makes the noise problem even worse. The hotel clearly knows there is an issue since each room now has a fabric door "snake" that is meant to block the door gap a bit. To me, that seems like a small bandaid for a much larger noise problem. This is not what I would expect from an otherwise very nice Hyatt hotel. The front desk acknowledged that noise complaints were not uncommon at the hotel. They were apologetic and tried to make it right by switching me to another room however the issue was the same in the 2nd room, actually worse since the new room had a connecting door which made it seem like I was sharing a room with my neighbors (one of whom apparently had a case of bronchitis based on the sounds I heard). Once this place gets the acoustic issues resolved, I will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Get a room that has windows that open, not all of them do. Ask for a room with no connecting door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
363 helpful votes 363 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have been staying here on and off for many years and have generally been happy with the accommodations and service. This time we had a 9 year old with us and needed some additional space. One of the Lakeside Cottages was just perfect. We were in a upper one-bedroom cottage facing the lake( #265). These cottages are two story with a 1 bedroom suite and an additional connecting bedroom(if 2 bedrooms were needed) on each floor. The suite consists of a good sized living room with a sofabed, chair, coffee table,and a dining room table with 4 chairs. The living room also has a very realistic gas log fireplace and a complete sound/DVD system. There is a small kitchen area adjacent with a microwave, toaster and coffeemaker as well as plates, utensils and a small unstocked refrigerator. There is also a half bath. The ceiling is peaked and the overall decor is that of a luxury mountain cabin. There is a nice sized balcony (about 8' x 18') with 4 Adirondack chairs and two side tables.

The bedroom is fairly large with a rocking chair as well as a table with 2 additional chairs. There is a large closet and a standard bathroom.

The Regency Club is in the main tower building, about a 5 minute walk from the cottages. Their offerings are quite nice. Last night in addition to the standard cold appetizers they had cups of macaroni and cheese. This morning the hot dish was pancakes. We are staying during winter break for schools in California so the dishes appealed to the large number of children who visited the club.

It was fun being able to go swimming in 30 degree temperatures. The outdoor pool is nicely heated and there is a large whirlpool pool as well. Lots of people using the pools despite the temperature.

We had an outstanding stay and will continue to make this resort our first choice during our frequent visits to the north shore.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Hyatt Lake Tahoe is a good property trying to become an ultra-luxury destination … and not quite getting there. The property has clearly been recently and nicely renovated from top to bottom (the staff all keep reminding you of how much money was spent!), the staff are all genuinely friendly and trying to be helpful, the restaurants are pretty good, and there are lots of amenities … on site casino, a spa and pool, conference rooms, shuttles to nearby ski areas, etc. Keep in mind that I booked this hotel through AMEX’s luxury resorts program, so I had very high expectations for an all-around world class experience… and my rating and comments are relative to that standard.

I think that the hotel is hampered by fundamentals that are difficult to change. It’s a twelve-story rectangular building that is built *perpendicular* to the lake … so very few rooms actually face the lake. The structure was probably built in the 1970’s so it’s an imposing green-colored glass and concrete block surrounded by much smaller houses and condominiums … so it just seems out of place, and a little unwelcoming. But that impression changes for the better as you pull into the carport because the staff are all very friendly and very helpful. The front desk was also great and treated us nicely and respectfully and even offered us a glass of sparkling wine.

Our room was a two queen bed room on the Regency Club floor. The room was an average sized hotel room that had clearly been recently renovated. The room featured new flooring, new clean bathroom with modern fixtures and surfaces, and a good sized tub. It also had a lot of light fixtures, which makes for a very clean modern looking room. There was also a lot of storage … two closets and a bunch of drawer space. But unfortunately, the improvements are only skin-deep. The walls are relatively thin (I could hear our neighbors, probably through the connecting door), the pipes to the sink was partially exposed probably because they probably rearranged the bathroom layout as part of the remodel, and worst of all, the window out onto what could have been a fabulous Lake Tahoe view was tiny. The window was probably four feet tall by three feet wide. The rest of the exterior wall was a weird diagonal wall that jutted maybe two feet into the room. Maybe there’s a pillar behind there, or some sort of service equipment, but it was a very unfortunate and dominating feature.

We visited the Sierra Café restaurant for lunch and breakfast. Fair prices for a resort hotel, and good food. The only challenge was that food was consistently slow in coming out from the kitchen. The servers, however, are all great … but it felt like the restaurant was slightly understaffed. The kids menu was very focused on health and nutrition … very admirable … but for my two small kids, it was a little challenging for lunch.

Few other points.
- The hotel has a nice outdoor pool and several hot tubs. I personally don’t understand why you would swim outside in 30 degree weather, but this pool had a cool feature where you could get into the pool from the indoor spa, and *swim out* to the pool. So you don’t really have to walk out into the cold weather.
- The casino is a nice compact place to gamble. I played blackjack for a while, and I had a good time with all of the dealers.
- Be aware that the small roads around the hotel can be very icy. I had a hard time getting in and out of a very cold and wet day. Be prepared and drive safely.

In summary, if the Hyatt Lake Tahoe didn’t have to compete with other properties in the AMEX Fine Hotels and Resorts program (for example, the nearby Ritz-Carlton where I have stayed previously which admittedly is several *times* more expensive), I think it is a fine hotel. But it simply fails to meet that particular expectation. Without that standard, the Hyatt Lake Tahoe is a fine destination resort with new rooms, and a great staff, and good all-around amenities. Just make sure you get a room with a bigger window!

Room Tip: Get a room where the view isn't blocked by a giant diagonal wall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino

Address: 111 Country Club Drive, Incline Village, NV 89451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Incline Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Incline Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular setting on Lake Tahoe’s north shore with 500 feet of private, lakefront beach. Surrounded by towering pines and mountain greenery; 35 miles to Reno/Tahoe Int’l Airport; 40 miles to South Lake Tahoe Airport. Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino was recreated in the classic style of a 1920s alpine grand lodge. Exterior renovations of river rock and shingles complement the natural environment with colors echoing the tradition and sense of history of the original homes built in the Tahoe area. Extensive river rock landscaping and two outdoor fireplaces add to the guests' sense of arrival at the "Old Tahoe-Lodge" style entrance. The resort's Grand Lobby boasts crafted stonework, creating a cozy setting amid the warmth of an oversized double-sided fireplace, rich leather chairs and high-beam ceilings. The 421 guestrooms, including 24 lakeside cottages, have been decorated with natural pine, distressed wood, and leather furnishings, reflecting the setting with autumn colors of moss, brick red and wheat. Included in our Lake Tahoe resort's $60 million transformation was the addition of the Spa Terrace, a new three-story wing adjacent to the main 12-story hotel. Offering 138 luxury guestrooms with views of the Sierra Nevada skyline, the addition provides visitors with private balconies and breathtaking lake views. The Spa Terrace replaces the resort's former Aspen Terrace and overlooks the resort's new swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Otel, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Hotel Incline Village
Hyatt Lake Tahoe Resort
Hyatt Incline Village
Hyatt Regency Incline Village
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa And Casino Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.