We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of China Wok Restaurant

China Wok Restaurant
120 Country Club Dr Ste 62, Incline Village, NV 89451
(775) 833-3663
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Incline Village, Nevada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Large menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

There are so many choices that it is nice to take advantage of the specials full meals that they offer. Lots of food offered for the price. The best deal is their lunches where you can get soup with the meal.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Incline Village, Nevada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A good standby for lunch..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We eat lunch here 2-3 times a month. It's a locals place and when you're a local you get good, friendly service, including being told what sort of food is good for you and, occasionally, a discussion on the current political situation in either Taiwan or the US. The food is good, average Chinese.. We like the pot stickers (not very good for you), the spring rolls (hot and crispy), the won ton soup (full of stuff that's good for you) and the 'happy meal'. The latter is easily big enough for two and we usually take some home as well so for $11.95 it's a good deal. The house fried rice is also filled with shrimp, beef etc. and one serving is plenty for two people. The place is a little bit run down and the restroom is rather so-so, but overall we enjoy the place. Just be patient if the service is slow - relax, it's probably a Chinese thing that's good for you!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kahuku, Hawaii
1 review
“So so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Quirky owners. They were arguing over some personal issue with their kids or something. They kept yelling at each other in Chinese. Food was ok.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Short on service but food is decent. 1 Goodyear star.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I picked this restaurant because it was right across from the Hyatt where I was staying.

The location was ideal for the road warrior who wanted something other than hotel fare. But does location offer a real alternative? Let's test it out.

I came in at 5.30 PM sharp. It was a late October date, in between seasons. There was one local who was waiting for a take-out. The owner took five minutes to seat me in, and another five minutes to offer me tea. She was the cashier, host, concierge, waitress, and maybe cook too.

I picked three gold-standard chinese fares, an egg roll appetizer, a hot and sour soup and a sweet and sour chicken. It was like asking for a Big Mac. There is an expectation of what you should see and taste whether you order it in Lakeland, Florida or Lake Tahoe, Nevada.

There was a 10 minute wait before the food arrived. I only saw one other table and a drop-in customer who ordered take-out. The hot and sour soup was hot but generic. The broth was average and the bamboo shoots were cut micro-sized julienne. The egg rolls were burning hot, crispy and good. The sweet and sour chicken was decent, but generic and not memorable.

I could have been offered a second cup of rice, but it was assumed that what I had in front of me was enough. Same goes for the tea. No refill. Oh, it was not jasmine or green tea or oolong, just plain whatever.

The tab came to be about $20 + tips. The owner surely deserved the tips because she seemed to be overworked.

Final words: Food is standard Chinese fare, generic with no real standouts except for the egg rolls. Service is iffy. With a larger-sized crowd this could present a real problem.

This restaurant would do better as a drive-in and take-out instead of a full menu business. Marketing tip: reduce the menu list and increase the turnaround time. For this I would give the Wok a one Goodyear star.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Tx
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Don't go hungry, you''ll starve waiting for service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

This was the worst service i've had in years. It took 45 min to get our appetizers and soup. Another 30 for the entree. The food was good but we were so hungry anything would have been good. They weren't very busy either. We were so disgusted, we don't remember how much it was.+

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Wok Restaurant also viewed

Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 

Been to China Wok Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Wok Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.