We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt High Sierra Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hyatt High Sierra Lodge to your Saves list
Hyatt High Sierra Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   989 Incline Way, Incline Village, NV 89451   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Incline Village
Clayton, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Quiet and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We own at the Hyatt and love this property. It's tucked in a great space in Incline Village and right next door to the Hyatt Casino and Resort, so you can either stay at the timeshare condo or eat at the resort and share their gym and amenities. The condos are all 2 bedrooms and recently renovated and provide a cabin feeling to them. There are several buildings and very limited outdoor parking, but plenty of parking next door at the hotel. A lovely creek runs next to the property and they have a great clubhouse with pool/outdoor hot tub, firepit and BBQs. The resort itself is small, which is wonderful. I love the staff - everytime we've visited they have gone out of their way to make us feel welcome. There are paved walking trails along the lake, an upscale restaurant (the Lone Eagle) which belongs to the Hyatt is right on the lake with it's own private beach. We've visited every season of the year and there is never a bad month. Even in winter, it's terrific that the ski resort Diamond Peak has a free shuttle and is 5 min away - and a more challenging resort with the best snow in Tahoe because of it's altitude is 20 min away - Mt. Rose. Challenging steep runs without the crowds nor the stiff lift ticket prices --- Ladies day is deeply discounted tickets and ditto for seniors!

Room Tip: Ask for a building near the clubhouse/pool in the winter if you don't want to walk far to hot tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    19
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
25
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carson City, Nevada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

This is a beautiful place to eat. If you're a local, bring your out of town guests here to enjoy Tahoe. The room is modern, classy and the service I'd first rate. I downgrade the breakfast I had a little but menu is different and interesting. Healthy options abound.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We stayed in a second floor room that had two bedrooms and two bathrooms. Living room and dining room aren't spacious and sort of dark except they are great for extra space to have family gather and watch movies or relax. Kitchen is also compact and dark it serves it's purpose to make quick snacks or easy meals.

The bathrooms in our room were not updated and look like they could use some overhauling. They were clean I would just expect slightly more given the price point of this hotel.

Furniture in bedrooms also could use some updating, nothing that can't be overlooked just needs some more modern pieces. It looks like some rooms are being updatedso maybe ours just haven't been done yet.

The lobby staff is nice they aren't the fastest and weren't really that accommodating or able to provide the customer service you would expect at a high end property. There is only one person in lobby and it gets backed up.

Pool area is small and cute. Serves its purpose and doesn't get crowded. There is a fire pit we had to request to be turned on. Game room and lounge too. We asked front desk person for keys to hotel pool too. Hotel pool is extremely spacious with a large children's pool, family spa, large regular pool that feeds to indoor area and adult spa. It's a walk and in the cold it's not comfortable so visit the pool with a change of clothes.

Beach access is across the street and features amazing private beach area and high end restaurant. Walk is doable with children.

Staff at the main hotel were not friendly and lacked service. The Giants playoff game was on at 6:00 p.m. And we were yelled at for walking into the bar restaurant at two minutes to game time and opening of restaurant. At five minutes after game time we just went in because no one came to open. This seemed like extremely poor service especially proximity to San Francisco. Also annoying more than 50% of the screen were showing a football game instead of baseball so fans were crowding together to try to watch game. Servers were unfriendly.

Overall this hotel is amazingly spacious for families and offers a quiet place to vacation. I would ask management to do a complete service overhaul and training.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

We stayed at the High Sierra location for a Hyatt Vacation Club getaway from 10/4 to 10/7. The property itself is pretty small, with 6 individual buildings containing 10 two bedroom suites each. It's adjacent to a large Hyatt Regency that has pretty much all of the services (restaurants, fitness center, casino) missing at the Lodge. We had access to everything we needed at the Regency and the walk to get to them was no worse than walking up to the Lodge's front desk.

The check-in process was fine, although the lobby is very small and rustic. The grounds are beautiful- lots of trees, surrounded by mountains, a short walk to a nice private beach, small pool and clubhouse area. Our rooms were fine- on the smaller end of what we've seen with other Vacation Club properties, but very nice. Ours was a bit dusty for some reason- we think perhaps it hadn't been occupied for a couple weeks or something like that. As usual, everything we needed for cooking, etc. was available, and there's a grocery store less than a mile away.

Fitness center at the Regency was surprisingly good, although no free weights other than dumbbells (up to 70#). Good ellipticals, a few weight machines. We had dinner at one of the restaurants at the HR next to the casino... decent 'pub food', expensive beers.

The weather was fantastic, hiking was perfect, and the sunsets at the beach were excellent. It was a great week for us at a place we'd like to return to someday!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Always love my peaceful, healing stays at Incline village. Local, laid-back, without the fake ride. Love the exposure to the lake but a bit crowded after 10:00 am. Lake staff are so attentive and energetic with food, drink, chair and umbrella. Be sure to have cash of a few dollars for a tip. Love the bar on the floating dock and afternoon cruise on the catamaran.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Park, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I have been to the Hyatt High Sierra many times and love the location. It's very clean, easy to get around, has many different room options with the lakefront condos and rooms in the hotel itself. Love the atmosphere that Lake Tahoe provides. With easy access to the beach, hiking trails, and skiing this is a fantastic place for friends and family to meet up and stay. The only downside is that our 16 year old son was allowed to put a beer on the room for a friend which the waitress did not question. He felt uncomfortable doing so as we were not around and felt pressured not to say no. Probably not the best service in regards to watching drinking ages, but not a deal breaker.

Room Tip: If you can afford to, get the condos by the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, CA
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is the 3rd time our family has stayed at the Hyatt High Sierra during the Fourth of July holiday week. These are not 5 star condominiums but they are very good 4 star ones. The units have some small issues. For example, there is a/c in living room but not in the bedrooms/baths, and for us it is needed sometimes. Also, the units feel a little crowded with the furniture chosen for the space. But the units are clean and updated and the beds are comfortable.

All the units are 2 bedroom/2 bath. We have stayed on the middle and top floors of 3 different buildings and there was really no advantage or disadvantage to staying in one over the other - all were equally good.

Hyatt High Sierra is a great option for families or for 2 couples who want to stay together on the property and have full access to all the Hyatt amenities and services. It is a great place to stay to enjoy all the fireworks and fun during the holiday week. We will return next year!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hyatt High Sierra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt High Sierra Lodge

Address: 989 Incline Way, Incline Village, NV 89451
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Incline Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Incline Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt High Sierra Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Hyatt High Sierra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt High Sierra Hotel Incline Village
Hyatt Incline Village
Incline Village Hyatt
Hyatt High Sierra Lodge Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt High Sierra Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.