We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Harbor

Sand Harbor
Highway 28, Lake Tahoe-Nevada State Park, Incline Village, NV 89452
775-831-0494
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches
Activities: Scuba diving, Swimming, Kayaking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Rocky coves and boulders to jump off of are the primary features of this beach.
Willows, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We loved everything about this place. The water is so beautiful, the walking loop shows off even more of the gorgeous landscape and views with interpretive signs along the way. There are clean flush toilets and ample parking. We agreed that next vacation we would make more time to stay in the area, this place is just...breathtaking!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    31
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Shakesphere Festival”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

If you like shakesphere then you must come to sand harbor in July-August when they have the Shakesphere festival absolutely the Best time ever

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sunsets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Spend a couple of hours photographing the sunsets and sand harbor. The beach area was not crowded do to the time of the year. Will go back for more photo's

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Loved Sand Harbor! The beach is beautiful and clean. The Char-pit also offers great beverages - one of the best bloody Mary's I've ever had! Water is pristine. Must bring your own umbrellas and chairs. Bathrooms are also very well kept. Watch out for squirrels...they get into everything

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Beach; Incredibly Clear Water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a pretty cove type beach on the Nevada side of the lake. They charge non-Nevada residents $12 to park per car, and don't allow parking on the freeway to walk in. I did see a free beach just south of this one, but didn't get too good of a look at it; it might be similar.

We were there close to sunset and it really was nice. While it was cloudy when we over by Tahoe City, this beach was sunny when we went. The beach has restrooms, and I think most people would be satisfied with visiting here if they don't mind paying to park. The water is incredibly clear! They have a second entrance to the beach to the north that is for boats, but the main beach has a separate parking lot just a little further. If you are staying in North Tahoe, I'd definitely recommend it. Maybe not as nice as Baldwin Beach on the South side of the lake, but very good.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sand Harbor also viewed

Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), NV
 
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 

Been to Sand Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sand Harbor to your Saves list