We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place to Kayak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Harbor

Sand Harbor
Highway 28, Lake Tahoe-Nevada State Park, Incline Village, NV 89452
775-831-0494
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Sand Harbor like an insider
Special Offer
$130*
and up
South Lake Tahoe Boat Rental
Activities: Scuba diving, Swimming, Kayaking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rocky coves and boulders to jump off of are the primary features of this beach.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“My favorite place to Kayak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My favorite place to Kayak on the lake- the views were breathtaking! We were able to rent our Kayak at Sand Harbor which made it very convenient to explore the Lake.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    42
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Incline Village and made the 5 minute scenic drive up the road to Sand Harbor. The cost was $12 for California residents and well worth every penny. There are several beaches for families to sit on and enjoy the amazing views of Lake Tahoe. This is truly one of the most beautiful and scenic areas of Lake Tahoe. My husband and I brought our SUP/kayak (they say no dogs but allowed us to take our dog out on our boards with us) and spent two separate days exploring this beautiful area.

The second day we headed South from Sand Harbor and what a treat! I can't tell you just how incredible the view is, how amazing the water is..you just have to go see for yourself!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California, United States
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“The best beach around Lake tahoe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Dont forget to visit the Sand Harbor beach - white sand with blue water (ice cold). you will be able to do water sports around the beach and it is a awesome beach to have a drink. :-)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Pristine Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I've been here several times to just wade by the water and swim for a bit. My boyfriend and I just dived here last weekend and the water was pristine. There wasn't much sealife, but we saw lots of crawfish/little lobster. Perfect little beach that isn't too crowded during the week

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Awesome Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is one of the nicest state parks I have ever been to. Clean and well maintained. $12 for the day and when lot full, no walk ins. Parking is close to likely the nicest ,biggest sandy beach on the lake. No bottles or bbq on beach keeps it clean. Great views.
The snack bar was nice. Bathrooms adequate for a park, bring your own wipes.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sand Harbor also viewed

Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), NV
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 

Been to Sand Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.