We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Station Hotel and Casino

Save Saved
You added Sunset Station Hotel and Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Station Hotel and Casino
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1301 West Sunset Rd., Henderson, NV 89014   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 27 hotels in Henderson
New jersey
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My third stay at this hotel and look forward to returning. Great food choices, bars, movie theater, bowling alley, nightclub. This place has everything but the crowds of the strip. Lots of low limit tables and loose video poker machines. The best is the Gaudi Bar in the center of the casino. Freindly bartenders, and healthy pours, especially if your playing pkoer at the bar, and the architecture and design of the bar is a tribute to Antonin Gaudi of Barcelona.
I stay in the King suite that is 1000 square feet, with bar, living room, dining area, 2 bathrooms, and king bedroom. I would pay 2 to 3 times for this suite on the strip. The employees are outstanding, whether dealers, servers, front desk staff, housekeeping etc... Clearly the management is doing a good job. The only downside for some is the long walk to the hotel elevators, but I enjoy walking off some of the food I had at the buffet.

Room Tip: Go for the King suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    193
    96
    31
    27
See reviews for
138
156
33
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Although we stay at other hotels while in las vegas Sunset Station is my favorite hotel. The staff are friendly and it's always nice to see a familiar face. Our room attendant Linda was excellent.
I always ask for a feather pillow and even though we have a KS room they always accommodate my request.
Another favorite is the Asian Station at the Feast Buffet. We ate there 4 times and that was my dinner each time. The cooks are remarkable!!!!! I can't wait for our next visit.
The pool area is a beautiful oasis, the only thing is it could be heated for the fall months.
It is truly a resort stay with lots of shopping, movie theatre and of course gambling.
I tell my friends even if you don't gamble it's a great place to vacation.

Room Tip: This is our tenth stay in the last few years and i can honestly say we have never had a room that we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

When I visit a city, I don't want to pay a fortune just for a room I am not going to be in very much. I prefer to spend the extra money on a show or a good restaurant. This is the place. For a while I lived and worked in Henderson and used to go to the Sunset for the slots. I've been to lots and lots of casinos in Nevada, Illinois and Arizona, but I think the payouts are really fair here.
Avoid the main cafeteria; the food is only mediocre. I do recommend the Sonoma Cellar for privacy and good food. Service is excellent. Got discounts for shows in Las Vegas, and had a nice vacation away from my usual routine.

Room Tip: Choose your room at the east end away from the casino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Oregon Coast
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at Sunset Station Hotel and Casino on our trip going to Arizona. Very convenient off the interstate, but when I had booked this room weeks before by phone directly, no one mentioned the resort fee at all. Before we even left for our vacation they had charged the room to our credit card, not just a hold! Upon arriving we were told there was wifi and given the code. The restaurants are expensive, and a regular cup of coffee was also expensive! The slots are extremely tight (we know this because we love casinos)! The room was nice but the wifi did not have enough signal to do anything. When we checked out is when we were slammed with the resort fee and it was the first we had heard about it. Almost $20 added and charged on top of the already paid room. So beware! We will never stop at Sunset Station again.

Room Tip: Really, go somewhere else unless all you want to do is sight see a pretty casino!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Alberta
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here after rafting on the Colorado River and visiting the Hoover Dam. Was looking for something not in Las Vegas and Henderson fit the bill. Even with $16.00 resort fee was able to get a great rate. The resort rate was definitely clearly indicated when booking not just in the fine print. The room was very comfortable and the bed came with controlled comfort settings. The check in was very impersonal and not very helpful. Pool was large and ample towels were provided beside the pool. Unfortunately there was not breakfast included. We stayed on the 6th floor and there was no smell of smoke in the room. The smoking floors are 4 and 10. Unfortunately for those not liking smoking, the casino allowed smoking which floated into the registration area and into the restaurants. Actually choose to eat at a restaurant outside the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I just came here to eat and to check this beautiful casino out. This place beautiful! I will stay here in a few months. I ate a wonderful meal at the buffet and even won a little money. There is a waterfall at the oyster bar. This and the Green Valley Ranch were the biggest surprise off the strip. Very classy looking just look up at the ceilings with the the blue skys and clouds. Like I said I didn't stay here but I will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel and found it to be very clean and comfortable. The rooms are large and have comfortable beds, a flat screen TV and a small table and chairs. The bathroom is configured with the toilet and shower in one room and the sink and a long counter in the room with the bed (behind a wall). The shower head had some sort of oxygenator on it that made very little water feel like more (sort of). The room and the whole hotel was very clean. Our room was always cleaned by noon. There is plenty of parking (near multiple hotel entrance doors) and lots of shopping, restaurants, fast food, etc. nearby. If you don't want to stay on the strip this is a great alternative at a very reasonable price (too bad the resort fee adds $16+ per day). That being said, we would still definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Station Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Station Hotel and Casino

Address: 1301 West Sunset Rd., Henderson, NV 89014
Location: United States > Nevada > Henderson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Henderson
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Henderson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Station Hotel and Casino 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on more than 98 acres and 457 rooms in the heart of Henderson, Nevada, Sunset Station Hotel and Casino is conveniently located near Lake Mead, Lake Las Vegas, Galleria Mall, Sam Boyd Stadium, golf courses, recreation areas, and other renowned restaurants and shops. We offer panoramic views of the glittering Las Vegas Valley and high desert mountains. From Sonoma Cellar, one of Las Vegas’ finest steakhouses. To Grand Cafe with gourmet tastes at café prices. To Cabo, one of the best Mexican restaurants in town. To Feast Buffet, voted Las Vegas Best Buffet numerous times by the Las Vegas Review-Journal. To a huge food court with some great options for quick eats. Nobody does dining better than Sunset Station. The Las Vegas Review Journal gave Sunset Station the nod as “Best Slots” and “Best Video Poker”. And that’s just one indication of how fabulous the Las Vegas gaming is here. We have the latest and greatest games in the Valley including thousands of Jumbo Penny and Jumbo Dollar slots, the most 100% payback video poker games, table games, bingo, keno, live poker and a thrilling race and sports book. No place offers you greater gaming value for your dollar or more chances to hit the jackpot. The nights really heat up at Sunset Station. We have some of the best live music and concerts in Las Vegas. Plus some great, intimate lounges and bars. And the most family attractions you’ll find in town. With more than 13,000 square feet of event space, Sunset Station turns any corporate meeting or event, wedding, birthday or special occasion into the most unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Sunset Station Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Station Hotel Henderson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Station Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.