We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Grand Olde Dame” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 South Boulder Highway, Henderson, NV 89002   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in Henderson
Spearfish, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Grand Olde Dame”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I was a little apprehension when I made the reservation because this is an old hotel. I was pleasantly surprised at the room and the beds were very comfy. The casino was smoky, but the non-smoking room was fine. We ate at the cafe, and the food was excellent and inexpensive. I do love old hotels! I would recommend this to anyone. The only complaint I have is that the people in the room next to ours had their tv blaring all night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    26
    18
    7
    13
See reviews for
12
28
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hebron, NE
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stopped on our way to the Hoover Dam after leaving Vegas with the kids for our vacation. We ate because we saw the sign advertising "Steak and Shrimp for $6.95". For 4 adults and 2 kids, we only paid $45 (which included the tip and pop/tea.) Although the steak was only little pieces of sirloin that was dry, everything else was delicious. They had all kinds of meats and sides that were very good. The desserts were average, but for the price of feeding 6 people on vacation, it is a treasure. We hadn't eaten at a buffet in Vegas while on vacation because of the price, so this was a very pleasant surprise. The atmosphere is like an old diner, but who cares? The food was good, and the price couldn't be beaten.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RailroadPass, Director of Marketing at Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Kelly,

Thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your meal. I have asked the chef to pay a little closer attention to the steaks in the future.

Keith McDonald
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boulder city
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We are locals who stop and play at the casino 2-3 times a month. My husband and I have been there in the day, night, and wee hours of the morning. We have been going to Railroad Pass for several years. In the time that we have played in the casino, we have dropped hundreds of $$, if not a thousand or two. Recently; however, we have reduced our playing budget. We usually play penny poker at a few cents a hand. Our usual method of play is to visit the bar upon arrival, get a couple $1 beers, and then sit for half an hour to 2 hours playing pennies. We were there on Friday 7/6 and unceremoniously kicked out by the "food and beverage manager". She told us that security had noticed our low rate of play, and since we had finished our first bought beer, we had ordered a couple gratis drinks and tipped the waitress accordingly (we are not cheap tippers). About five minutes after we ordered our drinks is when the manager approached us and said the security was "concerned" that we were not playing enough $$ to benefit from their free drink service. That we should either bet more, or not partake in ordering drinks. We were stunned, we have been coming here for years and have never been treated this way. My husband walked up to the player's club and told the customer service workers who were standing there, what had just happened to us. They had a look of fake concern, and then claimed they had no idea who would have told us to bet more. My husband pointed out the "manager" twice, and they looked around and said they still didn't know. Finally, one of the "customer service" people went to talk to the "manager" as we walked out the door.
For anybody who wants to go to a friendly casino and play a little and refresh a little, this is NOT the casino for you. Especially locals. We will never go here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Marketing at Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
I am sorry to hear about your experience. Our policy is to provide free beverages to guests who are playing our slot machines. Like any other business, we expect that players will continue to play at a level that at least covers the cost of additional drinks. Our beverage staff is instructed to be aware of play levels when serving guests and to notify a manager if they feel play levels are not covering the costs of those drinks. Additionally, whenever a staff member is approached by a customer who feels they are not receiving the level of service they deserve, they are instructed to contact a manager (this is usually our pit boss) who is instructed with our basic motto of ‘do the right thing’. It sounds as if we may have dropped the ball with you in that regard. For that I apologize and would like to speak with you in greater detail. Please call me at 702-294-5000, ext 131.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Barebones pleasant room. Dated, but no particular problems with anything. The price is right and the rooms are clean and quiet on the back (north) side of the hotel. Third floor is non-smoking and a welcome relief after walking through the casino.

We avoided the buffet due to comments here, the steakhouse wasn't open, so we ate dinner and breakfast in the coffee shop. Very prompt and pleasant service, but the food is mediocre. Not bad, really, just not quite good. We had to request replacement chicken for the dried-up stuff first served with the Asian salad, and the baked potato served with the small prime rib (quite good) was so long on the warming tray that it was brown on the inside. Breakfast was OK, but no inexpensive casino specials were available.

The hotel/casino is quite isolated from both Henderson and Boulder, so unless one wants to relinquish a shaded parking spot and go elsewhere, one is trapped at the hotel for meals. By no means terrible, but just not really good. We would willingly stay here again if the need should arise. Perhaps the best thing to say about the hotel is that it isn't in Las Vegas.

Room Tip: Third floor for non-smokers, north side for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, Utah
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

On an "overnighter" to see Lake Mead and ride the area, our group stayed at the Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino. We were able to park the bikes where they didn't eat up a lot of car parking and were easy to see from the rooms. The rooms are huge, and well appointed. My only comment to the staff was the lack of a pad and pen to use while in the room. The a/c unit is noisy, but once you drift off, you don't hear it. The shower head is short and you have to duck to get your head wet. Everything is clean and tidy and a great room for the price. We ate at the cafe - and they were able to accommodate the group with no problem. Breakfast 24/7 is a plus for me; and strawberry shortcake for a buck made dessert choices harder. I will go back.

Room Tip: The higher you can get a room, the better the view. I'm told the valley side is the better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Affordable dog friendly hotel/casino........I paid $58 a night including a $10 extra pet fee (and a $50 refundable pet deposit). The room was spacious- no microwave or fridge- but they do have a great cafe open 24 hours, a buffet, and a more expensive fancy restaurant, as well as the casino. Really pretty views of the mountains from our room.....my dogs enjoyed the view too! The Railroad Pass is close to the Hoover Dam and Boulder City- 2 local great places that are not to be missed! Have fun!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the mountains (back of the building- away from the street)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We'd been driving for some considerable time and were very much in need of a place to lay our heads for the night. This place was just right there waiting for us at the side of the main road. It was obviously a casino with folks there to enjoy themselves, but the sleeping accommodation could not be faulted. We had a very spacious, clean room and were not at all disturbed by any noise. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The price was extremely reasonable at $39. We'd use it again, but, as tourists, might prefer to get closer to Las Vegas itself.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino

Address: 2800 South Boulder Highway, Henderson, NV 89002
Location: United States > Nevada > Henderson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in Henderson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Railroad Pass boasts the longest running gaming license in Nevada – Now in our 81st year. We focus on the important stuff – providing a friendly staff and great values. You’ll find good food at great prices; clean rooms at affordable rates; and exciting gaming action. Whether you’re into the classic spinning reels or the newest movie-themed video slots, you’re sure to find a machine to your liking. Blackjack, Craps, and Roulette are all available for your enjoyment. Nestled in the hills of Henderson on the way to historic Boulder City, the Railroad Pass is just a few minutes from Hoover Dam, the Las Vegas Strip, several world-class golf courses, sky diving, zip lines, kayaking, hiking trials, and just about any adventure you can enjoy. We feature three restaurants in which to relax and enjoy a meal. Our Iron Rail Café offers American favorites 24 hours a day. The Box Car Buffet is perfect for those who have a wide range of tastes, offering over 40 freshly prepared items every day. For those with gourmet tastes, enjoy the finest steaks and biggest desserts The Steak House at the Pass. With only 120 guest rooms, we’re tiny by Vegas standards, but are huge on value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railroad Pass Henderson
Railroad Pass Hotel Henderson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.