We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid NY/NJ Deli” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Weiss Restaurant Deli Bakery

Weiss Restaurant Deli Bakery
2744 N Green Valley Pkwy, Henderson, NV 89014-2120
702-454-0565
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 549 restaurants in Henderson
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Las Vegas, NV
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Solid NY/NJ Deli”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Real Jewish Deli.....the nova, whitefish salad, pastrami, etc....and Michael's handmade bagels (bialys on the weekends)..all legit....even Joyva in the case by the cash register. The effort to keep this restaurant as good as possible is a constant; don't expect to be "schmoozed"....but, efficient service and owners that know what they are doing is the key here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    26
    17
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cummington,ma
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“If you've had New York City Pastrami....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

You will not find it here at Weiss's. I am a deli snob, I'll admit it. I grew up in NYC and I know pastrami. We went just before closing on a weekday, a few diners remained, the service was prompt and professional. The place looks like the deli's I am used to...plain wooden tables and chairs, no decorations to speak of and the requisite dirty floor. There were no food aromas wetting my appetite, no metal bowls of pickled tomatoes or vinegary coleslaw on the tables to stimulate me visually and when my plate of pastrami arrived I knew I was gonna be disappointed. This meat was very pale with little to no dark pastrami seasonings edging each slice and it tasted like thin sliced salami or hot dogs. Definitely not NY style pastrami. A 1/2 pickled tomato, 1/2 pickle slice and a single black olive was on my plate, hiding under my sandwich. The french fries were underdone but the side of gravy for dipping which tasted like a mix (not a problem for me), was thick and rich...perhaps the highlight of the meal ! My companion had the chicken soup and asked for extra chicken meat. The bowl was full to the brim with chicken and veggies that had obviously been sitting in the soup pot for 8 hours or more. Mushy and unappetizing in a flavorless, pale broth it remained largely uneaten. Not wanting to leave a 1/2 uneaten pastrami sandwich and bowl of soup to be thrown in the garbage, we took it back to the house where I threw it away the next day. So many calories, so little pleasure.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Amazing bagels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were visiting Vegas and wanted a good bagel. We went on a Sunday around noon and there was a slight wait. The service there was friendly and prompt. The atmosphere is what you would expect of a deli but was fine. Everything we had was cooked perfectly and the bagels and home fries were just wonderful. When we are in Vegas we usually go to a great French place for breakfast and it is always excellent but we chose to go back to Weiss instead. Again, our breakfast was perfect. We ordered a dozen bagels to go and a bag of their bagel chips. They had several other bakery items that we can't wait to go back and try. It is a little out of the way from the strip but totally worth it! We can't wait to go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful Out-of-the-Way Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My sister-in-law lives on the boundary between Las Vegas and Henderson and when I visited her and her husband, she recommended Weiss Deli for lunch. We went through an unassuming entrance in a shopping center and found ourselves in a surprisingly large place. Had a wonderful chopped liver and egg salad sandwich, while my sister-in-law had an enormous salad that came with a bagel should couldn't eat. So I ate it. Really authentic and delicious! The waitress was extremely friendly and really hustled. Even though the restaurant was full with a lunch-time crowd our meal was served quickly. Can't wait to go back and try more of the selections on their huge menu.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Scrumptious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting after the new year and had a craving for a really great deli sandwich. I googled best deli in Vegas and stumbled on Weiss. I was not interested in going to a casino deli, so Weiss was a perfect choice since we had a car. We sat outside on a crisp sunny day and ordered a bowl of cabbage soup that was really delicious; I have eaten my fair share being from Chicago! I ordered a triple decker, pastrami, turkey & slaw on rye. It really exceeded my expectations not only for the obscene portion, but was so incredibly tasty and completely hit the spot!!! My husband was awestruck with it's beauty and shared in the delight. Great fries too, perfect new pickle and a pickled tomato were an excellent accompaniment. We did have to take a doggie bag but were happy to have some left over. We also took a few "black and white" cookies to go which is one of our favorites, and their's were fab! Thank you Weiss, we really enjoyed:)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weiss Restaurant Deli Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Weiss Restaurant Deli Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weiss Restaurant Deli Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;