We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi worth driving to Lake Las Vegas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marssa

Marssa
101 Montelago Blvd, Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort, Henderson, NV 89011
702-567-6000
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 541 restaurants in Henderson
Price range: $31 - $75
Cuisines: American, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Lake Mead Blvd
Description: Treat yourself to an incomparable dining experience at Marssa. This AAA Four-Diamond award-winning restaurant serves world-class Japanese and Asian-Fusion cuisine under the skilled direction Sushi Chef Kazuki Tozawa. The name means “by way of the sea”, and at Marssa you’ll find only the freshest and finest quality ingredients in the full menu of sushi and sashimi. Chef Kazuki, along with his culinary team, delivers a seasonal menu of delicious and uniquely flavored food guaranteed to delight fish and meat lovers alike. The extensive wine list reads like a journey through the ancient spice routes, and, of course, includes a complete and well-rounded choice of sake. The location will astound you, with breathtaking views of the mountains and majestic Lake Las Vegas through Marssa’s floor-to-ceiling windows. The elegant ambience and attentive staff combine to make dining at Marssa an unforgettable culinary experience.
St Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Sushi worth driving to Lake Las Vegas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a dinner at this fabulous restaurant when I was at the Westin Lake Las Vegas for a workshop. The service and food were excellent, they offer some creative sushi with fresh fish that makes it hard to believe that you are in the middle of the desert. The cajun albacore, the Tiger roll and the Hamachi Fiesta were all delicious. The presentation of all the sushi and entrees was impressive. I would drive out here again just to have dinner when we return to Vegas.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    27
    7
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Asian restaurant--great setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

First, this is not an American restaurant. The food is Japanese probably with a bit of Americana involved but close to authentic Japanese. We avoided the place after we moved here because some reviews said "not that great" and it was presented as expensive. Well I am really irritated that we waited. Yes, it is not an inexpensive place; but every penny we spent was worth it. The small wine list was particularly well-chosen and we were very happy to see some half bottles. The bar is a full bar and while they don't do all those speciality cocktails, they appear capable of doing whatever you want. Generous pours as well. The food--we were impressed--we started with a shared pair of scallop nigiri--the downside--we wanted more. It was fresh, fresh, fresh. Wow! For the entree we shared a bento box (like NO other and far better--the lightest duck rolls, intense lobster cakes, a dumpling thingy that was divine--and huge walnut shrimp close to perfection. The seafood--mixed seafood--large pieces, lots of variety and the best tasting broth especially when absorbed into the dry roasted ramen. We were lucky--we got a yummy assorted of muchi with ice cream. I even love the stuff in the supermarket freezer, but these were on another plane. Just loved this place. Dreamed of the dinner all night and mused about it all day at work. Worth the trip from wherever you are.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Despite a good Maitre D, the food was generic and ordinary. Our dessert was poor and in general the food was very overpriced for the quality. Warning, if you cannot tolerate MSG, do not eat here, the food was loaded with the stuff.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria VA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Lovely Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The food was great, very nicely presented, very tasty. The waiter was attentive. The views were lovely. The hotel seemed mostly empty mid week - we had the restaurant and the outdoor fireplaces later mostly to ourselves. It is expensive. Portions are adequate to allow for appetizer and entry and have room for dessert (which was an awesome chocolate thing).

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“What a difference QUALITY makes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had sushi (although there are lots of other options on the menu)- and it was the best I have ever had! I was hesitant to have sushi in this land locked oasis- but apparently they import it daily from all over the world - and WOW! Truly the best sushi I have ever had!
We also had a server who made the entire evening so enjoyable- his expertise made this culinary adventure a 10+!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marssa also viewed

 

Been to Marssa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marssa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.