We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money; no frills” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Railroad Pass Hotel and Casino

Railroad Pass Hotel and Casino
2800 South Boulder Highway, Henderson, NV
+1 702-294-5000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 563 Restaurants in Henderson
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Value for money; no frills”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stopped here for a buffet lunch as part of a tour to the nearby Hoover Dam. Staff were helpful and welcoming. There was enough variety for everyone to find something they'd like and on this day there were Italian and Mexican specialities. Food was unfussy. Drinks were served at the table.

Bearing in mind that the buffet was under $7 this must count as a real bargain location. Basically you get what you pay for and can go back until you've had your fill.

The hotel and casino had a small, interesting museum outlining the history of the site and trumpeting the fact that it claims to be America's oldest casino. Its history is bound to the dam's construction. Plenty of opportunities to gamble if you wish and eating opportunities other than the buffet.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Always great to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Always clean rooms and the staff great, I would definitely stay again, there is nothing I dislike about this place

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Trucker friendly and Comp friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Compared to all others in The Las Vegas area this casino has the best ' comps' hands down. The 3rd floor non-smoking room I stayed in was clean and comfortable though the a/c started freezing up the second day. Shower pressure is so-so. The bed was extremely comfortable compared to Floor 5 I stayed in last time. Good value. Wheel of Fortune Dollar Slots could be a little looser. Witnessed one person 'hit' $1000 spin today on the 25c Wheel of Fortune Slot twice within 15min. Nice going. That's $500!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed one night here during the 4th of July Holiday period(2013). I have always wanted to visit this place because it is the longest running casino in Nevada with a rich history. The room was only $42 which is an extreme bargain during a holiday weekend. The hotel staff were fast and friendly. Check in took roughly two minutes. The room was basic but very clean. Immediately following check in, I hit the casino floor. I made a quick trip to the players club and signed up. A very nice gentleman with a long grey beard assisted me. He told me the history of the property and comped me a free future night's stay for joining the Player's Junction club which is free to join. This is the best sign up deal that I have seen in any casino. My favorite game is craps, so I immediately approached the craps table. To my surprise, the pass line minimum was only $1! Most casinos offer craps minimums between $5 and $25. I ended up playing for about 6 hours. The Craps Dealers were extremely friendly and entertaining. I had a blast. While I was playing craps, the pit boss issued me a $20 comp coupon for the hotel restaurant(Iron Rail Café). I used the comp the next morning at the café and the food was excellent(Omelette and Pancakes). The Railroad Pass is about a 20 minute drive from Las Vegas, but it is well worth it. The gaming value is phenomenal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ok for the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Friendly service but unorganized. Elevators were way too slow and there were no stairs.
Burns in sheets in smoking room. Walls way too thin. You could hear everything. Vary well priced though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railroad Pass Hotel and Casino also viewed

 

Been to Railroad Pass Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Railroad Pass Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.