We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Firefly Tapas & Kitchen Bar - CLOSED

Firefly Tapas & Kitchen Bar
11261 S. Eastern Ave., Ste 200, Henderson, NV
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“love it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

was hesitant at first, but the small plates allows for various tastings.. nice place, will go again.. staff pleasant, service quick, prices reasonable, atmosphere relaxed...

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Something different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Liked the food particularly the Mac and cheese. Tapas are fun to eat because they are small bits and you can sample many things.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“BAD SERVICE, RUDE STAFF”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have been to this restaurant 5 times within the past 4 months...each time willing to give this restaurant another chance. The food has always been good but the staff ruins the experience. We kept hoping the next visit would improve. One evening we had a terrific waiter! We have also purchased a total of over $2000 in gift certificates to our clients who like tapas restaurants. Tapas food is fun and enables one to eat a variety of dishes. Prices are low, menu has a great selection. Restaurant is pretty, casual, patio has a terrific view of the entire Vegas Valley, nice Seven Hills neighborhood. Trouble is, the small sampling of food comes out way too fast at times, especially on our latest visit. There is no reason for a party of 4 to sit at a table and watch 2 guests served 8 dishes piles in front of them, one dish after another, while the other 2 guests sit there with empty plates. The snotty waiter snapped at my husband when we questioned why we had all of our 8 dishes served and yet our 2 guests had NOT ONE of the 8 dishes they ordered, delivered to them. "Guess you're not educated on tapas or what it is...that's how it's served." And then he walked away! Our guests ordered similar items, they should have been served some of their selections as we were served. We tried to share our tapas dishes so that we could begin our meal. Many items were cold once we started to divide the various dishes. Our guests ordered their meat cooked "rare" which doesn't take as long to cook as "well done." Yet our "well done" meats were indeed served long before our guests "rare" meats were served. The cocktails we ordered upon seating arrived 10 minutes into our meal service. When we questioned the waitress as to where our drinks were, her reply was, "It's a Saturday night honey, we're busy, can't you see?" A waitress in her 20's (or of any age) shouldn't be calling a guest "honey." Now imagine small tapas plates at a table for 4 people. Total of 16 plates (8 orders per couple) on the table. Not one of the various servers we had at out table even attempted to clear the empty plates as we finished our food. We began to pile and stack the plates, sat with empty water glasses, were never asked if we'd like a second cocktail order, our guest never once had his soda glass refilled. The women used the ladies room and returned to the table immediately. One toilet of the 2, was overflowing and out of order, a line of women overflowing into the hallway. The 2 sinks were clogged up, water filled each bowl, the hand towel dispenser was empty, water splashed all over the sink top. Dirty paper towels scattered all over the floor. The women took a few photos of this mess while they were in the ladies room. Shall we post the photos on this review? How embarrassing for us to bring guests to this horror show of an evening. We asked a waiter to find the manager and explain the bad condition of the ladies room and then please ask the manager to stop by our table before we left. After politely reminding one of our waiters, no manager ever showed up and the second visit to the ladies room showed no clean-up what-so-ever. Finally the table was cleared after practically getting up and chasing a waiter down, each waiter/waitress dashing by all the tables as if they were in some sort of foot race on a busy Saturday evening. Not enough staff? Not trained in how to work a busy room? Not enough experience handling guests? All of the above. Most of the hostesses and wait staff appeared to be of college age. Not sure how old the "manager" was, we never saw him/her after requesting twice. The check was laid down or rather tossed on our table in front of our female guest. What's that all about? Nobody bothered to ask if anyone cared for after dinner drinks, coffee or dessert (which we all wanted). When my wife asked for dessert, one female waitress stood at our table and smirked, "Well why didn't you pipe up BEFORE I closed out your check? Well, like....whadayah want?" Sadly this owner could have had 4 desserts added to our check, after dinner drinks, coffees, etc. My husband STILL insisted on leaving his usual 30% cash tip "because they have to split tips with other servers who aren't necessarily part of the snottiness problem we experienced." I finally have to give up and never return to this Seven Hills location. We will travel out of our way to the other Firefly locations in Vegas because we love the tapas idea and haven't had the bad experiences we've encountered at this one location. We own a very successful company, based on customer service! We travel all over the world teaching huge companies the art of customer service. Our families own several successful restaurants in New York City...we both grew up working in them and learning top shelf service. We feel we are well versed in customer service and our complaints concerning this restaurant are valid and not exaggerated. The owner needs to step it up before this busy restaurant closes due to the bad inconsistent service, not the wonderful selection of food. This is our very first bad review on Trip Advisor, sadly it's not what we wanted to post. P.S. NO RESERVATIONS accepted on Friday or Saturday...the busiest nights. Average wait is an hour for a table and nowhere to wait, the bar only seats a few patrons.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Good food is not as easy to come by as you would think in Henderson. We were hesitant to go here the first time, thinking that we would be disappointed and that the restaurant would close soon.
Friends took us and we've been coming back ever since!
There is a great variety of tapas on the menu, from seafood to meat and everything in between, and each dish is excellent.
Our favorites are the stuffed dates and the lentil vegetable dish.
Prices are not low, but reasonable considering the quality of the food. The atmosphere is good too (although the music can be a bit loud sometimes) and you can get a great view of the strip if you're lucky.
There is even a patio to dine on during spring and fall.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not good food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Food was moosh. Came out way to fast. Sent the filet back was overcooked and tough. Lamb chops were bland and overcooked. Calamari was decent. Shrimp tempura was aweful. Best part was the water. Service was good. Food was terrible.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firefly Tapas & Kitchen Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firefly Tapas & Kitchen Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.