We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great condo-like hotel stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston MonteLago Village Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aston MonteLago Village Resort to your Saves list
Aston MonteLago Village Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   30 Strada di Villaggio, Henderson, NV 89011   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Henderson
san diego, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great condo-like hotel stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed just one night through a Travelzoo special. The property is spread out but very quiet, pretty, very well equipped and close to both Lake Mead and Las Vegas. The room was very comfortable with a kitchenette included. The pool next to our building was not open when we were there but I know I would've enjoyed this feature a lot when open during hotter weather. The complex includes a good Mexican restaurant which we enjoyed. It was very nice to just walk a block or so in distance to go to dinner. They offer a shuttle to the Las Vegas strip which we did not take but would allow for a very balanced visit to the Las Vegas area without being constantly surrounded by lights and hype.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonteLagoAston, Team Aston MonteLago at Aston MonteLago Village Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
monkey1947,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you got to explore and dine in the restaurant Sonrisa Grill. We are sorry about the pool and happy to report it is back opened!

Hope you come visit again soon!

-Team Aston MonteLago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    65
    38
    22
    23
See reviews for
76
82
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed at the Montelago Resort April 12th and 13th for a sports event. Indeed the "Village" is deserted with only a couple of restaurants open. We arrived early and were told the room was not yet ready. No problem, we wandered around. The front desk said they would call when the room was ready. After 5 pm we went back and apparently the room was then ready, though they had never called. Ok, not a deal breaker.
The service in the restaurants is slow and inconsistent, though the servers are friendly. The coffee shop opened early for the event on Sunday, but normally does not open till 7 am. I bought a donut that must have been in the case for 6 mnths, so stale I threw it out before I left the shop. I have never thrown away a donut!!
The room was nice enough with a decent kitchenette and accomodations; however, a bedroom lamp had a dead fly on the shade (ugh), the TV was circa 1980's, remote did not work well and one was missing for the bedroom TV. We were not there to watch TV, though, so that was not a big deal.
The big deal was that I left a very nice pair of sunglasses on the balcony and called the morning of the day I left (quite before check in time for the next guest) and called twice more after that with a detailed description of the sunglasses and where I left them. I finally heard back from them and they said they found the glasses!! Hooray! I gave them a credit card number and they promised to send them to me. Today, I received them. They are not the sunglasses I reported missing, not the brand I described. In fact, they are a pair of cheap glasses that are about as old as the TV set.

So, the staff nicked my glasses and sent me the crappy ones in return, charging me for the honor. We will not return to this so-called resort. There is no reason to stay there. There is no resort, no place to eat in the hotel. The pool closes early. There is no nearby grocery,convenience store, etc. In order to stay here, you do really need to plan on cooking in your room since there are but few options in the deserted Village. I wonder what the business plan was for this resort? It's really a disaster.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The condo unit we were given was superb with a great porch overlooking the lake and we were very satisfied with it. The hotel manager, Nicholas, was pleasant and professional when we checked in and the staff who checked us in was helpful and pleasant. That said, there were some caveats. The entire Lake Las Vegas Resort is slowly recovering from near collapse. The casino and both golf courses are closed. Most of the stores in the village are closed. There are a couple of restaurants but the one Mexican eatery we wnt to was not able to handle the number of people who they seated. There was a triathlon there that weekend and the place was full of athletes and families. At night there is music playing into the wee hours from the speakers along the ground in the village. These should shut down automatically by ten o'clock but even at 1:00 a.m. we heard the noise. The night before the triathlon when participants wanted an early bedtime they had a rock concert going live until ten. Not well thought out. Parking was limited. Very limited! I was told I could fish in the lake by the hotel manager but when we went to the marina, to rent the boat the guy working there would not give us the boat as long as I had a fishing rod. No fishing, he indicated. This employee needs an in servicing on how to deal with hotel guests as when we entered his rental office he threw down the agreement form and pen(literally) while snapping his gum and told us to "fill this out" His handling of the fishing rod incident was rather heavy handed. We left the rod with him so we could take the boat. Major communications gap between the hotel and whoever "owns" the lake. Beware of the $23.00 a day resort fee for things that don't exist. Other than that it is a beautiful place to stay and the staff really tries hard to please. Very clean and well kept.

Room Tip: room 303 is the good one. Manager Nicholas told me it was his favorite unit and he wasn't lying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonteLagoAston, Team Aston MonteLago at Aston MonteLago Village Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
levio,

We appreciate you reviewing our resort. We are so sorry the marina wasn't permitting fishing at the time you went. The lake is stocked from time to time and this is why the didn't allow it. We are glad you enjoyed your room.

The Village and Shops and Casino are not owned or operated by Aston and we apologize. They are working to get these re-opened and with new shops.

Hope you come visit again soon!

-Team Aston MonteLago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This property is simply okay. From check-in to check-out, the staff we encountered were polite but not well trained. At a glance the property is attractive but with a closer look you see the need for repair. The room was comfortable but the furniture was worn. The bathroom had mold in the shower even after we told the front desk, it wasn't cleaned. The pool was closed for repair. Both ice makers were broken. We paid extra for a "Lake View" and from the room all you could see was the side of the next building. If you stood on the balcony and looked to the left you had a limited view of the water between the two buildings. If you looked the other direction it was a parking lot. However, it was quiet. There was a wake board competition taking place but once you closed the sliding door, the loud noises stopped. Our goal of sitting on a balcony, looking at a lake and relaxing wasn't the experience we had. As Las Vegas locals we will not return nor will we recommend this resort to other travelers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ak
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The 3 worst of my many complaints were the surprise bill on the 7th day checkout, all 3 pools and 2 hot tubs being broken, and the room was broken too. The bill included 4 taxes plus a resort fee every day. The entire place lost electricity for 20 min...after that we had no heat or air for our room and the pool and hot tub heaters failed. Then our room...one thing among many was the shower door that could not be opened once closed. BTW, customer service is not customer orientated, they just want your money. We endured.

Room Tip: The children we saw were unsupervised...throwing and breaking a vase outside our room etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I stayed here while competing in the iron girl triathlon in October 2013. The hotel was extremely busy with athletes coming for the event. This hotel offers a local discount which was great for me since I live in Las Vegas also, it was not far from the venue for the triathlon event. The hotel room was good for what I wanted, it has a working shower that had hot water, satellite TV and the guest services were good considering the amount of people staying at the hotel. The grounds its self were also quite good. If fit "the bill" for what I needed. The Lake Las Vegas "village" had cafes, restaurants, etc. in a calm environment compared to "the strip." The parking was secure, underground parking which I appreciated since I had expensive triathlete equipment in my car. The pool was not open (off season) but the ground were the pool is, is quite nice. There was wi-fi in my room (free) and the room was clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Aston typically does a great job with family accommodations and this resort is no exception. The location is 25 to 30 min. from the strip and is part of an owner occupied complex.

The lake is good for swimming, paddle-boarding etc.. The rooms are apartment style and are large with a full kitchen. There are 3 or 4 decent restaurants on the site but the shopping plaza next door has quite a few more for rent signs than it has tenants.

We enjoyed our 3 night stay thoroughly.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool/ lake are a good idea. The bar on the outside has band nights (good) but if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonteLagoAston, Team Aston MonteLago at Aston MonteLago Village Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
VDBRAV,

Thank you so much for your review. We hope you come back in the future....

The Village and Shops and Casino are not owned or operated by Aston and we apologize. They are working to get these re-opened and with new shops.

-Team Aston MonteLago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston MonteLago Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston MonteLago Village Resort

Address: 30 Strada di Villaggio, Henderson, NV 89011
Location: United States > Nevada > Henderson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Henderson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston MonteLago Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aston MonteLago Village Resort offers the perfect mix of deluxe accommodations on a spectacular lakefront setting near the action of Las Vegas, yet a relaxed departure from the hustle and bustle of the Strip. This uniquely themed resort offers a total vacation experience, with its Mediterranean-style setting and diverse activities, MonteLago Village Resort is an excellent addition to the Aston collection of condominium resorts and hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Aston MonteLago Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Montelago Village Hotel Henderson
Montelago Village Hotel
Montelago Village Henderson
Montelago Village Resort Lake Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston MonteLago Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.