We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Inexpensive Condo/Resort in Henderson, NV” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston MonteLago Village Resort

Save Saved
You added Aston MonteLago Village Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aston MonteLago Village Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   30 Strada di Villaggio, Henderson, NV 89011   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 27 hotels in Henderson
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Inexpensive Condo/Resort in Henderson, NV”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Had a very pleasant stay in Henderson in the Luna di Lusso building of the Aston MonteLago Village Resort. The room was a studio (with a lake view) that was nicely maintained. Everything worked and the kitchenette was well equipped. I would gladly stay there again.
It was very quiet in the building I was staying in!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonteLagoAston, Aston Montelago Team at Aston MonteLago Village Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear James C,

Thank you so much for your feedback on our resort. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at our Luna Di Lusso building.

Thanks for visiting us; we would love you back soon!

Aston Montelago Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    58
    29
    20
    18
See reviews for
65
73
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Booked a week through Interval as timeshare exchange for April 2012. I was vacationing with husband but had to work this week of our vacation so required internet. Confirmed with the establishment prior to arrival that internet was available and stable. Arrived, first issue was a resort fee I was not aware of. Secondly, the small fridge (bar size) was not cooling. Called to have it rectified. Room seemed ok, nothing fancy. Set up computer and connected to internet, some difficulties, could not stay connected. Was a Friday so had the weekend to work out issues. Went for dinner on resort, not impressive. Many empty stores/establishments out of business. Very few people about. Returned to room, fridge still not cooling. Poured bath, nice deep tub. Pulled plug when finished, but when using washroom in the morning tub still not drained. Called to have it rectified. Tried internet, kept getting disconnected. Went to pool, okay. Went to room to change and go out. Tub still not drained. Went out, came back a few hours later, tub still not drained. Tried internet, kept getting disconnected. Called Front Desk, told them we were leaving and wanted refund. They refunded resort fee, except for one day. I had to deal with II for refund of week booked as resort was not acceptable. They did provide an additional week but I advised that this was not a resort up to par with what was advertised not to mention the extra resort fee. Also, must have a vehicle to stay at this resort.

Moved to hotel, not on the strip, with stable internet and was able to work the rest of the week, with no issues. Full fridge, that worked.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonteLagoAston, Aston Montelago Team at Aston MonteLago Village Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear kar3nb,

Thank you so much for your feedback on our resort. We are so sorry that our resort feel short of your expectations during your stay. We have communicated your concerns to the proper team members and they are working to ensure these issues were resolved.

Our Viera building is now WIFI throughout, our Luna building will get WIFI shortly. Our one bedroom units have full kitchens and full refrigerators at our Viera building.

We are happy that you were able to enjoy the rest of your trip in Las Vegas and hope that in the future you can experience us again.

Aston Montelago Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed here when we ran the Really Big Free Half Marathon at Lake Las Vegas. Our room was beautiful with a complete kitchen that even included a dish washer and wet bar complete with martini glasses and shakers. There was a balcony with a breathtaking view. It is about half hour from the strip, but only 15 minutes from Henderson where there is a mall, Walmart and Target. A 15 minute drive to get a snack will not kill you if you want beauty, peace and quiet on your vacation. The villiage at Lake Las Vegas is a little bit odd because most of the store fronts are empty right now, but there is still enough to see, get a gelato and sit by the lake.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Away from the crowds of the strip but only 20 minutes away, with luxury amenities, great service, impressive settings by the Lake Las Vegas in the Italian kind of village at Montelago make this place one of the best places to stay in Las Vegas. The village has some of the best restaurants in town, a great casino and its own marina - not talking about one golf course that got just been redesigned and redone - the whole package for your dream vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Imagine if you will a couple who books a vacation condo outside Henderson, Nevada in what is advertised as a resort village. Imagine that they arrive to a nearly empty facility. Walking through the shopping area of the village they see empty storefronts and restaurants that have gone out of business. Imagine that they wonder if they have accidentally booked their vacation in the Village of the Damned. No, my friends, they have booked at the Aston MonteLago.

This property has gone through bankruptcy and is tottering on the brink of a total shut down. The website is very misleading.

Here are the positives:
* You're away from the noise and commotion of the Strip, so if you're not into that scene it's a good choice
* The two-bedroom condo we rented was roomy, had two bathrooms and a workable kitchen area. It was reasonably well equipped.
* You can get a good value because they're desperate to rent these places.

Here are the negatives:
* There are only two working restaurants in the whole Village.
* The attached casino is a dismal, depressing affair
* There is no wireless internet in the room and the wired internet didn't work either. As business people, we needed to stay in touch, unfortunately. It was virtually impossible. Repeated calls for help to the front desk led nowhere. Calls to the support line resulted in being kept on hold for 20 minutes. Totally unacceptable. They did take off the "resort fee" as an adjustment, but we'd have preferred to have had working internet.
* The front desk staff appears to be clueless. We appeared to be among only a handful of people staying in the place, yet checking in took forever. Likewise, we booked a golf package for two rounds of golf for four people. The staff member took our credit card number and said she would get back to us. We never heard a word. When we arrived, we were assured the reservations had been made. They had--but for one person.
* The attached golf course, which they picture on their web site, has been allowed to die. There is no golf course on or around this property. Our golf package required us to drive 30 minutes back to Henderson to play at the Tuscany Village. The website says it's 5 minutes away, but trust me--it's easily half an hour. Not a big deal, but not what you think you're buying.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We chose to stay at Aston Montelago for our Las Vegas wedding. We thought our parents who were flying out to meet us in Las Vegas would prefer to stay off the strip and our wedding was not on the strip so we thought this would be a low key way for us all to enjoy the occasion. When my husband's parents arrived (a day before us) they took a cab from the airport and were disappointed to find the entire place was empty and all of the restaurants and shops were closed for the evening. They could not locate an ice machine or a vending machine. When my hubby called to inquire, they said there was no ice machine and that they suggest all guests stop at Walmart on their way in...no one ever told me that on any occassion when I had called and emailed with other questions. When we arrived (with a rental car) we took everyone to Walmart to get snacks and such so all was well. The grounds were beautiful and the front desk staff were friendly to our group. We were very disappointed in the "casino" which is really just an electronic game center. The bartender was rude and charged us for drinks even though we were gambling at the bar (though he probably didn't notice as he was entrenched in a conversation with someone else and only half acknowledged our presence). The "sports book" was really just a kiosk where you place bets and otherwise looked like regular sports bar with lots of TVs.The rooms are fine, not great, but clean. My biggest complaint with the room was no full length mirror (as a bride I couldn't see the full dress). I would offer one note- THIS IS NOT A HOTEL. This is more like staying in a condo without the amenities of a hotel. If you want to stay here be sure you rent a car so you can get snacks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trabuco Canyon, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Our family has stayed in this hotel for several years from 2003-2012 and we will NEVER return! This hotel use to be very clean with beautiful grounds with a friendly staff. This year it is the furthest from the spectrum...the hotel smelled like sewage, only one ice machine in the whole entire hotel and it never dispenced more than a cup of ice at a time. Our room was filthy, pull out couch was broken and maid service did not vacuum our room during our stay we had to ask her on the 5th day to please vacuum and she was rude and said she did.(popcorn crumbs and dirt was on carpet) When I spoke to the hotel manager Steve Collins about our not so pleasant stay and issues he did not apologize for our bad experience and hung up on me after speaking to him for the 2nd time that the couch was still broken and not fixed. The only reason we pick this location is because its close to Lake Mead but in the future we will stay elsewhere. If you are looking for a 1 star hotel look no further but if you want a nice experience look somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston MonteLago Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston MonteLago Village Resort

Address: 30 Strada di Villaggio, Henderson, NV 89011
Location: United States > Nevada > Henderson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Henderson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston MonteLago Village Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aston MonteLago Village Resort offers the perfect mix of deluxe accommodations on a spectacular lakefront setting near the action of Las Vegas, yet a relaxed departure from the hustle and bustle of the Strip. This uniquely themed resort offers a total vacation experience, with its Mediterranean-style setting and diverse activities, MonteLago Village Resort is an excellent addition to the Aston collection of condominium resorts and hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Aston MonteLago Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Montelago Village Hotel Henderson
Montelago Village Hotel
Montelago Village Henderson
Montelago Village Resort Lake Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston MonteLago Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.