We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to complain about, yet nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Legacy Golf Club

Legacy Golf Club
130 Par Excellence Drive, Henderson, NV 89074
702-897-2187
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 18 hole, par-72 links-type course features its challenging and fun "Devil's Triangle," as well as "Suits" and "Love Grass."
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nothing to complain about, yet nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I played with my usual travelling four-some on SB Sunday (2/3/2013). It was a shot-gun start at 8:30 to get everyone done well before game time. The course is pretty nice, reasonably kept, and does offer some scenic views. However, it is in the midst of a housing developement (I usually try to avoid this when travelling).

All in all, a decent day on the course, pretty much what I expected, nothing terrible, nothing special.

Not sure I'd return, but not because I had a terrible time, I'd just try others first. While there are some that I try to play each time I hit Las Vegas, this one doesn't get added to the list.

All in all, it's fine, just not memorable...

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    14
    5
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN area
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Vegas Hospitality AND Great Golf!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Located just outside the Vegas city limit in Henderson, The Legacy is a short cab ride from the airport or The Strip, and the Par-72 course is absolutely beautiful. Mountain views are visible from almost every hole, and the desert-scape terrain around beautifully-manicured fairways and greens is stunning.

I booked a round with my wife to be the first activity after we got off the plane, and the only hiccup surrounded transportation to/from the course. After an unplanned taxi ride from the airport to the course, the General Manager and Assistant Pro came out to meet us and absolutely rolled out the red carpet. The entire staff is first-rate, from the servers at The Grill to the starters, and even the grounds crew were polite, friendly, and accommodating as they prepped the course for overseeding (the course closes for two weeks at Labor Day to install Rye to get through the cooler months).

The Grill, by the way, has DELICIOUS food and great drinks. Full breakfasts are usually only served on weekends, but continental food and drink is available during the week. On the course there is a refreshment cart with snacks, water, sports drinks, and alcohol.

As for the course, fairways are wide and forgiving, and play is fairly straightforward with few surprises. Off the fairway, you're more likely to find yourself in desert-like sandscape than high grass, helping recovery shots find their mark. Depending on the time of year, you'll get good roll on drives that find the fairway, but depending on your tee selection you could be hitting long irons or woods on your second shots.

White tees play 6211 yards with a 68.8 rating and 123 slope. For the higher-handicapper, move up here and have more fun!
Blue: 6744, 71.3/131. Second shots are at a premium or you'll struggle.
Black: 7233, 74/139. The course is an annual host to the United States Open Qualifying. Play from the Blacks only if you're that good, or want to raise your handicap a few.

One drawback to the course, noted on other sites, is slow play. Tee times are spaced 8 minutes apart, and groups can back up quickly. Try to find a spot where there aren't times booked in front of you, and check with the starter.

The Legacy is part of OB Golf, which manages other courses around Las Vegas including Aliante and Angel Park. Hotel partners include The Orleans and The Palms. Dress code is enforced, and rates vary with season and time of day (e.g. Twilight). Rates include greens fee, range balls, and cart. Great tee times and rates can be found on sites like GolfNow.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“very very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

the grass was very nice, as nice as you find at the better courses. beautiful scenary.

Visited March 2012

Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“For the price 29$ it was a good deal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Played Saturday June 9th, 1pm tee time 100 degrees. Pace of play was good at about 4.15 hours, course was rock hard, large patches of burnt and brown greens and fairways. Greens were very fast and difficult to putt due to the burnt out areas. Course looks like it has potential when in good shape.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiram, Ga
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lousy Conditions, slow play, shabbily dressed staff!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

If you’re looking to spend a DAY on a golf course with shabbily dressed personnel, texting employees, tipping the starter for someone else's Tee time, an old driving range, demolition derby golf carts, fairways with little or no grass. Greens that are patched and spray painted green. Marshall's that do nothing about the pace of play, no snack window during the week and no restaurant after 5:00, this is the place to golf.
With all of the Beautiful professionally run Golf Courses in Las Vegas and Henderson, NV, I would go to one of them instead I am sure the experience would be more enjoyable!!! And take less time!
Will not go back!!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legacy Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Legacy Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legacy Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.