We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plush hotel well worth the stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   101 Montelago Boulevard, Henderson, NV 89011   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #16 of 27 hotels in Henderson
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Plush hotel well worth the stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 11 nights due to an Ironman competition my wife was taking part in that was based at the hotel. I have been to Vegas many times with work and personally do not like the Strip, so this was a welcome relief and a beautiful setting 15 miles out of town. We stayed in a suite overlooking the lake and couldn't fault it. Beds exceptionally comfortable and room very large with sofa, chairs and a separate bedroom.
Food was good but not great and prices are a little on the expensive side. We ended up going out to eat most nights further in to Vegas and had our own breakfast in the room, but this was also due to our training schedule for the competition.
The main concern was the bluntness of the staff. Most acted like they didn't really care much about their customers or their jobs, so that took the edge of it a bit. Only exception was Maria who served in the coffee shop (which is basically a Starbucks), as she was lovey.
Hotel also charges a mandatory $22-a-night resort fee that they try to justify by telling you it includes access to the pool etc, which in my mind at $200 a night should be complementary, so watch out as the room rate increases quite a bit before you know it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinLake L, General Manager at The Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
It was our pleasure to provide you with a relaxing escape from the Las Vegas strip though we regret that you didn't find our restaurants to be at the best value. While we truly value your feedback, it's disappointing that your experience with our staff wasn't reflective of the high standards of customer service that we've set and I can assure you that your comments will be passed along. Thank you for sharing your 11-night stay with us and we hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you and your wife back to The Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    167
    65
    42
    23
See reviews for
135
142
26
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This hotel was the most beautifully landscaped and decorated that I have ever been to. It looks like a Moroccan palace inside and out. Beautiful natural setting with great views. Many hotel nooks and crannies to escape to. Excellent swimming options as there are multiple pools, even a beach on the adjoining lake. The staff was helpful and very friendly to a fault. While the food was good, in-house dining options were very few and rather expensive. Off site dining is limited and far away. No good shuttle/taxi options from the airport, the hotel is 25 miles from Las Vegas. This hotel's shuttle does not go to the airport, only to another Westin. Rent a car. Biggest complaint was the constant disco music at the pools and in the lobby. They play games with their room rates so negotiate. Four of us had shockingly different rates. All in all though a stunning, memorable place to stay.

Room Tip: All views are good. While the lake side views are stunning, the other side views are very nice too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinLake L, General Manager at The Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for expressing your appreciation of the landscape and decor of our resort! We couldn't be happier that your review is filled with so many wonderful comments regarding The Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa and we're grateful for the time it took to share your review. For any inconveniences that you may have experienced during your stay with us, we apologize. We wish we could have had the opportunity to address any issues, such as our music at the pool that may have been impacting your time with us. However, we're delighted to read that you enjoyed such a memorable stay and we hope we get the pleasure to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is a stunningly beautiful hotel 45 mins out side of Las Vegas at Lake Las Vegas in Henderson. We stayed two nights and really enjoyed the hotel and area. The village nearby has a casino an Irish pub and a few restaurants. They do a wine walk in the evening where you walk around tasting different wines that are sold there too. We loved the Mexican Restaurant! Then back to the Westin to enjoy a full moon rise over the desert mountains... Stunning! Then we hung around one of several outside fireplaces to talk and have a few drinks. They also have a Japanese restaurants that is very high end, too expensive for us. We ended our night sleeping in their "Heavenly Bed", very comfortable.

Room Tip: Free shuttle to and from the Westin hotel on the Vegas strip. Saves you a 70$ cab ride...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinLake L, General Manager at The Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for sharing your two-night stay with us. A full moon rise over the desert mountains must have been breathtaking! It's wonderful to read how much you enjoyed the surrounding area and it was our pleasure to provide you with a place to come back to and relax around the fireplace. We greatly appreciate you sharing your great review and hope that you'll visit with us again at The Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby Hills, Ohio
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at this property on a corporate retreat, and I have to say we were really impressed! From the moment we arrived, the hotel staff bent over backwards to make our check-in experience a good one. Our room was clean and comfortable, with fresh linens and free wifi. The only detractor for the room was our "view" of the parking lot, but seeing as we hardly spent any time in the room, it wasn't really an issue.

Westin has done a nice job with this former Loews property. They could use a little bit more signage within the Lake Las Vegas neighborhood, but we managed to find it every time. The public areas are very well kept, and the split-level pool complete with water slide was a lot of fun. You'll definitely get your exercise navigating this property, and you can relax in a private cabana (for an additional fee). There is also a micro-beach with access into Lake Las Vegas. For a nominal charge, you can rent things like paddle boats / boards to head out onto the lake.

For us, the highlight of this property was the food. Being it a corporate retreat, we had the good fortune of sampling some of the best that the hotel kitchens had to offer, and they handled themselves well! Every meal was an "experience" with Starbucks brand coffee and everything else prepared fresh and conveniently labeled.

We also had the opportunity to check out the spa, which was worth every penny that we would have paid if the experience wasn't part of our corporate retreat. The staff was friendly, professional, and very good at their jobs. The locker-rooms are also over-stocked with everything you'd expect to find in a spa, plus a few surprises.

This resort is very family-friendly, and with it's location being 30-mintues from The Strip, it's far enough away that you can escape but close enough that you can easily get back. The hotel runs several free shuttles daily (you'll definitely want to plan ahead as shuttles do fill up quick). A cab ride from The Strip will set you back $75-$100 (car service is similarly priced).

Overall, going to the middle of the desert in the middle of August may seem a little backwards, but the amenities of this hotel made the trip absolutely worth it. Can't wait to go back someday!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the Lake if that's important to you, but it's really not ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinLake L, General Manager at The Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
It's always a pleasure to read about our guests' experiences with us and we're thrilled to have been able to exceed your expectations upon arrival. Since you were able to experience so much during your trip, we truly appreciate that you've taken the time to share such a detailed review for our future guests. Thank you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was a Lowe's property when I stayed last year, and I'm pleased Westin bought it out-the beds are already better! This is such a unique destination resort: beach (manufactured), pools (multi level) and kid friendly, and lake. Golf course is closed. But they had free kayaking and free paddle boating. Staff outside was so energetic and wonderful. Staff inside exceptional as well. Very consistent and welcoming. Food in hotel at Rick's was inconsistent. Food at Massa was over the top amazing. Sushi and just great specials...so good we ate there twice.

They are slowly renovating the carpets and rooms, so some patience is required. Lots of stairs to the pool areas, but lower pool is accessible. Conference rooms were comfortable. Always lots of weddings here. Not to be missed, at least for one night on your way out to Lake Mead.
However, heads up. If you do not rent a car, a cab is close to $75 from airport and about the same from there to the Strip, although because Westin has another property on the strip they run a shuttle. Very unique place to stay. Free water in the rooms is nice. Spa menu was not in the rooms and hard to access. Worth seeing, if you have the time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinLake L, General Manager at The Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We're so glad that you've expressed such an appreciation for our Westin's Signature Heavenly Bed. Thank you for providing a great overview of the many activities that we offer at The Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa. We hope that you enjoyed them all! We couldn't be happier that you were pleased with your stay and we hope that we get the pleasure to welcome you back again. Thank you for sharing your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangaparaoa, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had a fabulous time with the pool and waterslide with our three children aged 2 to 7. The customer service was fairly poor for a 5 star hotel. Our food orders were slow and in one case forgotten. Our five year old has cerebral palsy and while he can walk, lots of stairs down to the pool were difficult. The staff couldn't really advise better means of access so it was hard work for us and him lifting him. We left a pushchair in the lobby while we were eating a meal and they took it away!

The location is bliss and the waterslide is great but really they need to address their customer service for a five star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinLake L, General Manager at The Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
While we're truly happy to read how much you and your children enjoyed our pool and waterslide, we deeply regret any inconveniences or difficulties that you encountered during your stay. The experience that you have described does not reflect the high standards of customer service that we've set and I can assure you that your comments will be passed along to our staff and the head of our restaurant management. We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us and hope that we will get another opportunity in the future to welcome you back again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The resort , previously a Loews and a Hyatt, is beautiful with an over-the-top Moroccan theme. The rooms are okay, could use some upkeep, Rick's restaurant is good and a lovely room, the pool areas are large and have lots and lots of chairs. In fact, too many, as they are crowded way too close together. On the other hand, our room overlooked a large concrete courtyard with a gazebo that didn't have a single place to sit. The grounds are well-maintained and very nice.

The lobby is nicely set up with intimate group seating, but sadly smells strongly of mildew/mold. When I was there the sand "beach" area by the large pool was closed, as was the water slide. Self parking is included in the $22 "resort fee" as is the very weak and useless internet, a newspaper that was not delivered and a few other things we didn't want or need. There is nothing in the area, and no minibar or refrigerator in the rooms (they are in the process of removing them as most were not working well according to the hotel employee who was in our room when we first arrived.)

Room Tip: Get a lake view room because the view is the only thing this hotel has going for it. Better yet, sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinLake L, General Manager at The Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for sharing your detailed review about your experience at The Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa, as we always appreciate the feedback our guests provide. For any inconveniences that you experienced while relaxing in our lobby, we truly apologize. We regret that you didn't find our services included in the resort fee to be beneficial during your stay and greatly appreciate you sharing this perspective with us. Since we strive to provide each of our guests with exceptional service at every turn, your thorough review regarding your stay is very much appreciated. Thank you and we hope that we can someday get the opportunity to welcome you back to fully impress you in all areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Montelago Boulevard, Henderson, NV 89011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Henderson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Henderson
#4 Luxury Hotel in Henderson
#11 Romantic Hotel in Henderson
#13 Business Hotel in Henderson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the "world's best hotels" by Travel + Leisure, The Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa offers visitors a 3,600 acre resort with spa, golf course, and fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Starwood, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Lake Las Vegas Hotel Henderson
Loews Hotel Henderson
Loews Resort Henderson
Loews Henderson
Henderson Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.