We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, Rustic, and Tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dinky Diner

Dinky Diner
323 Crook Ave, Goldfield, NV
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Goldfield
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Simple, Rustic, and Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I ate lunch here after visiting the nearby Car Forest (highly recommended). Upon arrival, the owners were very friendly and welcoming. They seemed to know most of the other customers in the restaurant, creating a cozy, small town feel. I would definitely recommend the fries, and the burger I had was quite good too. The service was a bit slow, but the quality of the food made it well worth the wait. Lastly, this place has many pictures and stories of Goldfield's past which contribute to the atmosphere. Overall, I would recommend this place unless you are in a rush.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wow, fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stopped at dinky Diner, as we like to support Mom and Pop type places. What a treat. The portions were huge. I had the Green Chile Burger. It was home made, and I wished I could eat more. It was delicious.
Found out the managers were from Fairplay Colorado, our home state. Very warm greeting, you can watch the cook (who looks like a bullrider and cute) make your food to order.
Please give them a try.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“They close at seven”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This is the only place in town to eat. We were counting on this for dinner and we arrived in town just after seven and they were closed. The next closest place to eat is Tonopah over 30 miles away so we just had cheese and crackers in the room. So I can't tell you if the food is good or bad, but the hours of operation suck for the traveler.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonopah, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Worst food on US 95”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I should have listened to the two locals who warned me but I'm Irish. After finally being acknowledged and given a menu, I ordered the premier double cheeseburger with fries after being assured that it would be cooked medium rare. After 20 minutes (I was the only one in there at the time), my extremely well done burger came out. It was inedible, period. I tried pointing out to the waitress that it was burned to a crisp but was ignored. The fries were excellent and the only edible thing on the plate.
Why the premier double cheese burger? Because everything on the menu is a la carte, you want lettuce on your burger or sandwich? Tomato? It's all extra and this includes the BLT!
I ate the fries and complained while at the register and was told that it was cooked medium rare and I had to pay for it. I told her to get new glasses or a dictionary, paid for it and it's the last dime they will ever get out of me.
A word of warning, when the ticket is delivered with the meal, you probably will never see the wait person again, check your order before he/she/it leaves your table.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Ghost town adventures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

GREAT and only place to eat in Goldfield NV. We had a wonderful lunch here. It is an older place with a nice face lift. The owners are wonderful (very friendly) and seems like locals really like the place too. They also have gifts you can buy (t-shirts, magnets, coffee cups and a few little books). Great place to stop for a nice meal,

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinky Diner also viewed

Been to Dinky Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dinky Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.