We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to get away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 Foothill Rd., Genoa, NV 89411   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Genoa
PLUMAS LAKE
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to get away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We own a timeshare at this resort, but do not often stay here since it is so close to home. We stayed over Christmas week and my sister joined us from NJ. We were disappointed in the lack of snow so skiing was reduced to one day of fair conditions. We had to find other ways to entertain ourselves since the only thing to do really is ski this time of year. The concierges were very helpful, but since we know the area, we pretty much have done it all. Good thing the resort is very comfortable so we were able to relax and just enjoy the beautiful grounds. I really do enjoy staying here, far from the busy cities and crowds of people in Tahoe and Reno. The hot tubs are always nice. The only downside was the pushy sales presentation they give to the “owners” trying to upsell us on what we already own.

Room Tip: The Dillon Rooms are the newer rooms and are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    59
    27
    14
    21
See reviews for
67
75
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We spent a week here in early December. We experience 2 winter storms, but the hot springs were wonderful, the spa experience great and the on-site restaurant very good. The nearby town of Genoa has good restaurants and the oldest bar in Nevada.Minden as 15 minutes away. Tahoe and Carson city are also close. While you feel out of town at this resort, it is close to everything you need

Room Tip: Ask for one with the flat screen TV's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Have to give a rating to one star is the minimum. Bad experience from the beginning. They knew we were coming in early- big deal! Tried to give us a smoking room. Ended up with room furtherest out. Terrible free wifi service --- no working wifi at all. TV not working. Short silverware, dining room furniture missing; broken. Sofa bed not worth sleeping in. Roll-a-way bed not any better. Can't even use the mattress to sleep on the floor. Have to call overworked front desk to get to maintenance, housekeeping, etc. Then lucky to get a response. Asked for a broom to sweep the patio. Was told housekeeping would do it. 2 calls later..... Minimal logistical staff when people are checking in. Money put in to improve the place was put into the wrong things. And I am one of the original OWNERS and have been for over 10 years. Time to move on?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerWindsResorts02, Public Relations Manager at 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you for your post. We are forwarding your comments to your homeowners association for review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Not impressed: rude staff, poor service, and extremely uncomfortable beds. I cannot tell you how TERRIBLE the beds are. It was like sleeping on hard plastic. We ended up sleeping on the floor because it was so bad. They supposedly just did a huge renovation. My suggestion would be, rather than building new timeshares, spend money on helping your current guests by purchasing new mattresses, giving them more than two forks, and perhaps, pay a friendly staff. We requested a cot because the bed was so bad, and it took them two hours to deliver tonight. We won't be finishing our stay with Walleys, we will got to a better hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here...if so bring your own air mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerWindsResorts02, Public Relations Manager at 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your post. We sincerely regret your stay was uncomfortable in any way. We are in the process of replacing all mattresses and putting new kitchen packages in the units, but as you experienced, that process is not yet complete. We are forwarding your comments to the resort General Manager and the HOA Board of directors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Having read through a lot of previous reviews before visiting this resort I was a little nervous as to what to expect. But we were not disappointed. Our room was clean, spacious and well equipped. Previous comments about the beds being uncomfortable certainly did not apply in our case. Very very comfortable, no problems there! The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The restaurant was first class, the Spa was fantastic. We took our little dog with us and this place is totally dog friendly - above and beyond. Will we visit again? You bet we will!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

If you need to get away from it all but still close to it, this is the place. We had a nice size room with a living room and kitchen area. Natural hot springs to fill the 5 hot tubs around the pool. The town of Genoa, just 2 miles down the road was unique with a wonderful restaurant and the oldest drinking establishment in the state. The views in all directions were spectacular. Close to Carson City and Lake Tahoe. Yosemite NP and ghost Town of Bodie an easy drive.

Room Tip: 6th time there and all rooms were very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

I will never stay there again. Terrible service, small rooms and overpriced. Definitely amateur hour here. The front desk was rude, the spa was ok. There are a lot of choices nearby that I will be reserving on my next stay in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerWindsResorts02, Public Relations Manager at 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your post. We are forwarding your comments to the resort General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 2001 Foothill Rd., Genoa, NV 89411
Location: United States > Nevada > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the picturesque views of the Sierra Nevada Mountains, 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa is a getaway for all ages. Come experience the legacy of David Walley’s Hot Springs and Spa for yourself. Since its conception, almost 150 years ago 1862 David Walley’s Hot Springs and Spa has offered its patrons the ultimate in relaxation and health benefits from its mineral rich waters. Relax in one of the five on-site hot spring mineral pools, or enjoy a Swedish massage at our Day Spa. And for your dining adventure you don't have to leave, with two on-site restaurants you have a vacation at one location. 1862 David Walley's Restaurant and Saloon is not only a favorite place for food but wine as well, the restaurant hosts some of the finest winemakers from virtually every region around the world. The newly remodeled restaurant keeps this quality while entertaining your palate with a variety of wild game, seafood and Wagyu Beef. For Breakfast and Lunch go next door to the newly open Harriet's Cafe. Harriet's proudly serves Starbuck's coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1862 David Walley`s Hot Springs Hotel Genoa
David Walleys Hot Springs Hotel
1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort And Spa Genoa, Nevada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.