We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn
3410 Sandy Bowers Ave, Gardnerville, NV 89410   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Gardnerville
Coarsegold
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I are avid motorcyclist and at least twice a year ride over to the eastern side of the Sierras. When in the Topaz lake area we normally stay at a friendly little owner/operator motel near Coleville. However, the motel's associated restaurant is no longer open for dinner and the motel owners have added RV parking. These changes lessened the motel's appeal to us and we have been looking for alternative lodging. On a recent trip, we decided to give the BW Topaz Lake Inn a try. It was a great find. The desk clerk was extremely helpful. When checking us in, she voluntarily checked our BW rewards points and asked if we wanted to use our points for a free nights stay, which we did. She could tell by our riding gear that we were riding a motorcycle and told us which parking spot would be directly outside our room's window. She also told us about a foot path that we could take to the nearby casino and restaurant. Thus, avoiding the need to suit up again. The room was spacious, clean and offered great views of the lake. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast was typical for most any hotel offering a free breakfast. I give it only a four star rating because dining within walking distance is limited to the casino. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms located on the east side of the second floor offer the best views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    41
    12
    7
    7
See reviews for
35
52
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This used to be one of our favorite hotels to stay in on the way back to Boise. The specialty restaurant is very good, but prices have increased the last year or two so that the same bargain doesn't exist...but the service has been very good.. The view from the restaurant is spectacular, but the service was so so, however the food was good...unfortunately the hot sauce lid hadn't been cleaned in a long time.. The room we had was average, but what was not average was the appearance of the bed sheets which were not ironed and appeared to have been left there from the last occupants. We couldn't open the window for air because of the wasps located there early in the evening. Everything worked but the plumbing system probably needs an overhaul because of the challenge of holding the water temperature on starting the shower and the spray nozzles on top were covered in lime.
We didn't gamble, but we heard that the casino returns decent odds.
The hotel has potential, but it will require a show of concern from the owners who have let it fall behind many of their competitors. As for the location and the pool.....excellent!

Room Tip: Look before you leap. There are usually full and you don't have a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Topaz Lake was a good place to stop for the night. The room was clean, wi-fi worked well, and the bed was comfortable. We watched the sun set over the lake. However, the walls (and apparently floors/ceilings) are thin. A neighbor had their TV on loud, which was annoying, and during the night it sounded like someone was in our room because someone was walking (in heavy boots?) in the room upstairs.

Room Tip: Wonderful view of the lake from upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

On route to Lake Tahoe we stopped here and were staggered by the view. Our room was fine with comfortable bed and adequate breakfast but agree with previous comments re lack of tables. Don't believe that there is only casino next door for dinner - reception recommended diner Iron Horse Cantina which was great. Hotel staff lovely and helpful.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We recently stopped there, which I had booked before hand.
The lady that I spoke to at the desk was very rude, until my wife, said a few words.

The room itself was ok, but lacked the few little things one might need. Not up to the standard of 3 star sorry. Not even a 1 star......The breakfast was really very poor, another male from the Inn offered me a waffle, so I said yes please, I sat down and took a bite, but spat it out and placed all of this item into a rubbish bin. My wife was extremely unhappy, we paid the bill and left with out the breakfast.
This male I spoke to was very poorly spoken, not able to communicate very well at all.
I should add My wife noticed the waffle maker when we arrived the night before, but only told me about it as we left, it was very dirty so she said, it was clean in the morning though.
I told the male how I thought of our stay... very poor

Room Tip: find another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stay upstairs. You do haev a great view of the lake.

The room was clean. As someone else said, I believe I smelled the odor of smoke. Everything worked. It is your basic motel room. The staff was friendly.

The breakfast buffet? I wouldn't plan on it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed one night on our way to Carson City. The motel rooms are a good size with everything you need, all are non-smoking but people did smoke outside the rooms. There was a lovely views of Lake Topaz from each window.
The lady on check in had trouble with our "English" accents - although she spoke English!! Breakfast was in a very small area - only 2 tables - I don't think they get many guests.
This might not suit everyone as the location was very quite and there was only one place to eat at the local casino about 2 blocks down. It was a bit pricey but served very good food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn

Also Known As:
Best Western Topaz Lake Hotel
Best Western Topaz Lake Hotel Gardnerville
Best Western Gardnerville
Gardnerville Best Western
Address: 3410 Sandy Bowers Ave, Gardnerville, NV 89410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Gardnerville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Gardnerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking beautiful Topaz Lake, this Gardnerville, Nevada hotel is nestled in the Eastern Sierras, just off Highway 395. It is very suitable if you are going to Lake Tahoe,Yosemite, Death Valley, Mammoth or even Las Vegas if you are travelling from San Francisco area. It features a daily continental breakfast and rooms with free Wi-Fi and a cable TV. Our best selling point is its location in Sierra Mountains and great view of Topaz Lake.A microwave, fridge and coffee maker are provided in all rooms at the Best Western Topaz Lake. Each room features mountain and lake views, and includes a work desk and seating area.Guests can enjoy free access to the on-site fitness room and relaxing jacuzzi. The hotel’s business center offers fax and photocopy services, and the front desk is available 24/7.The Topaz Lake Best Western is just 2 miles from Topaz Lake Park, and the Carson Valley Museum is a 30-minute drive away. Harvey’s Lake Tahoe Casino is 37.8 miles from this hotel. Hotel Rooms: 30, Hotel Chain: Best Western. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.