We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay at Topaz Lake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn
3410 Sandy Bowers Ave, Gardnerville, NV 89410   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Gardnerville
Davis, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good place to stay at Topaz Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Topaz Lake was a good place to stop for the night. The room was clean, wi-fi worked well, and the bed was comfortable. We watched the sun set over the lake. However, the walls (and apparently floors/ceilings) are thin. A neighbor had their TV on loud, which was annoying, and during the night it sounded like someone was in our room because someone was walking (in heavy boots?) in the room upstairs.

Room Tip: Wonderful view of the lake from upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    48
    19
    8
    9
See reviews for
47
63
14
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

On route to Lake Tahoe we stopped here and were staggered by the view. Our room was fine with comfortable bed and adequate breakfast but agree with previous comments re lack of tables. Don't believe that there is only casino next door for dinner - reception recommended diner Iron Horse Cantina which was great. Hotel staff lovely and helpful.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We recently stopped there, which I had booked before hand.
The lady that I spoke to at the desk was very rude, until my wife, said a few words.

The room itself was ok, but lacked the few little things one might need. Not up to the standard of 3 star sorry. Not even a 1 star......The breakfast was really very poor, another male from the Inn offered me a waffle, so I said yes please, I sat down and took a bite, but spat it out and placed all of this item into a rubbish bin. My wife was extremely unhappy, we paid the bill and left with out the breakfast.
This male I spoke to was very poorly spoken, not able to communicate very well at all.
I should add My wife noticed the waffle maker when we arrived the night before, but only told me about it as we left, it was very dirty so she said, it was clean in the morning though.
I told the male how I thought of our stay... very poor

Room Tip: find another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stay upstairs. You do haev a great view of the lake.

The room was clean. As someone else said, I believe I smelled the odor of smoke. Everything worked. It is your basic motel room. The staff was friendly.

The breakfast buffet? I wouldn't plan on it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed one night on our way to Carson City. The motel rooms are a good size with everything you need, all are non-smoking but people did smoke outside the rooms. There was a lovely views of Lake Topaz from each window.
The lady on check in had trouble with our "English" accents - although she spoke English!! Breakfast was in a very small area - only 2 tables - I don't think they get many guests.
This might not suit everyone as the location was very quite and there was only one place to eat at the local casino about 2 blocks down. It was a bit pricey but served very good food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We spend one night.
The hotel is a basic hotel. Rooms are big with lake view.
Breakfast was very poor.
It's a place to sleep only if you have no alternative.
There is only one place to eat diner (which was good...)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Unfortunately we stayed here during the wildfires on the western rim of Yosemite and the smoke from the fires had travelled all the way to Topaz Lake. As a result we had no view of the lake. Our primary reason for staying at this hotel was the proximity to Lake Tahoe without the Lake Tahoe prices. We were impressed by the hotel considering the low cost. The room was gigantic with all mod cons. It had a gym with good equipment (small but functional). The guest laundry facilities were clean. There was a hot tub but no swimming pool. We appreciated the nice touches such as vouchers for the casino next door where we had a decent and very inexpensive meal. The complimentary breakfast at the hotel was excellent and the freshly cooked waffles were a highlight. The only thing that lets them down is the receptionist whom we found to be efficient but not overly friendly. Also, as we were looking for sockets behind the bedside table we saw that they hadn't done a good job of cleaning that area. Overall, a very enjoyable stay and great for filling up with fuel right next door at what we found to be the cheapest price between Lake Tahoe and Yosemite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn

Address: 3410 Sandy Bowers Ave, Gardnerville, NV 89410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Gardnerville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Gardnerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking beautiful Topaz Lake, this Gardnerville, Nevada hotel is nestled in the Eastern Sierras, just off Highway 395. It is very suitable if you are going to Lake Tahoe,Yosemite, Death Valley, Mammoth or even Las Vegas if you are travelling from San Francisco area. It features a daily continental breakfast and rooms with free Wi-Fi and a cable TV. Our best selling point is its location in Sierra Mountains and great view of Topaz Lake.A microwave, fridge and coffee maker are provided in all rooms at the Best Western Topaz Lake. Each room features mountain and lake views, and includes a work desk and seating area.Guests can enjoy free access to the on-site fitness room and relaxing jacuzzi. The hotel’s business center offers fax and photocopy services, and the front desk is available 24/7.The Topaz Lake Best Western is just 2 miles from Topaz Lake Park, and the Carson Valley Museum is a 30-minute drive away. Harvey’s Lake Tahoe Casino is 37.8 miles from this hotel. Hotel Rooms: 30, Hotel Chain: Best Western. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Topaz Lake Hotel Gardnerville
Best Western Gardnerville
Gardnerville Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.