We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop only if your Desperate.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn
3410 Sandy Bowers Ave, Gardnerville, NV 89410   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Gardnerville
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stop only if your Desperate.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We recently stopped there, which I had booked before hand.
The lady that I spoke to at the desk was very rude, until my wife, said a few words.

The room itself was ok, but lacked the few little things one might need. Not up to the standard of 3 star sorry. Not even a 1 star......The breakfast was really very poor, another male from the Inn offered me a waffle, so I said yes please, I sat down and took a bite, but spat it out and placed all of this item into a rubbish bin. My wife was extremely unhappy, we paid the bill and left with out the breakfast.
This male I spoke to was very poorly spoken, not able to communicate very well at all.
I should add My wife noticed the waffle maker when we arrived the night before, but only told me about it as we left, it was very dirty so she said, it was clean in the morning though.
I told the male how I thought of our stay... very poor

Room Tip: find another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    43
    16
    7
    10
See reviews for
41
56
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
TN
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stay upstairs. You do haev a great view of the lake.

The room was clean. As someone else said, I believe I smelled the odor of smoke. Everything worked. It is your basic motel room. The staff was friendly.

The breakfast buffet? I wouldn't plan on it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed one night on our way to Carson City. The motel rooms are a good size with everything you need, all are non-smoking but people did smoke outside the rooms. There was a lovely views of Lake Topaz from each window.
The lady on check in had trouble with our "English" accents - although she spoke English!! Breakfast was in a very small area - only 2 tables - I don't think they get many guests.
This might not suit everyone as the location was very quite and there was only one place to eat at the local casino about 2 blocks down. It was a bit pricey but served very good food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We spend one night.
The hotel is a basic hotel. Rooms are big with lake view.
Breakfast was very poor.
It's a place to sleep only if you have no alternative.
There is only one place to eat diner (which was good...)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Unfortunately we stayed here during the wildfires on the western rim of Yosemite and the smoke from the fires had travelled all the way to Topaz Lake. As a result we had no view of the lake. Our primary reason for staying at this hotel was the proximity to Lake Tahoe without the Lake Tahoe prices. We were impressed by the hotel considering the low cost. The room was gigantic with all mod cons. It had a gym with good equipment (small but functional). The guest laundry facilities were clean. There was a hot tub but no swimming pool. We appreciated the nice touches such as vouchers for the casino next door where we had a decent and very inexpensive meal. The complimentary breakfast at the hotel was excellent and the freshly cooked waffles were a highlight. The only thing that lets them down is the receptionist whom we found to be efficient but not overly friendly. Also, as we were looking for sockets behind the bedside table we saw that they hadn't done a good job of cleaning that area. Overall, a very enjoyable stay and great for filling up with fuel right next door at what we found to be the cheapest price between Lake Tahoe and Yosemite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Springs
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Heavy smoke from a nearby wildland fire. Tricky road down to the motel entrance. Steep road back up to the main highway. Great motel, large clean room, all of the neat stuff. Can hear the coyotes at night. Rooms have an exterior door. Bring tire chains if it is snowing, the steep hill may be a problem. Over looks Topaz Lake, this is high desert country. Will have to drive a bit to find a place to eat. If you want some action, it is not here...keep driving. No pool, not for the kids.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We are seasoned travelers and this was certainly one of the most unpleasant experiences. Very poor service from the start, inaccuracy of room charges, gave us an issue when we requested a room move because of the strong smoke odor causing illness to a child, did not want to provide extra linens for the family, room had broken light, no water pressure, and the a/c barely worked. Miserable folk all around there!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn

Address: 3410 Sandy Bowers Ave, Gardnerville, NV 89410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Gardnerville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Gardnerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking beautiful Topaz Lake, this Gardnerville, Nevada hotel is nestled in the Eastern Sierras, just off Highway 395. It is very suitable if you are going to Lake Tahoe,Yosemite, Death Valley, Mammoth or even Las Vegas if you are travelling from San Francisco area. It features a daily continental breakfast and rooms with free Wi-Fi and a cable TV. Our best selling point is its location in Sierra Mountains and great view of Topaz Lake.A microwave, fridge and coffee maker are provided in all rooms at the Best Western Topaz Lake. Each room features mountain and lake views, and includes a work desk and seating area.Guests can enjoy free access to the on-site fitness room and relaxing jacuzzi. The hotel’s business center offers fax and photocopy services, and the front desk is available 24/7.The Topaz Lake Best Western is just 2 miles from Topaz Lake Park, and the Carson Valley Museum is a 30-minute drive away. Harvey’s Lake Tahoe Casino is 37.8 miles from this hotel. Hotel Rooms: 30, Hotel Chain: Best Western. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Topaz Lake Hotel Gardnerville
Best Western Gardnerville
Gardnerville Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.