We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Fernley Inn

BEST WESTERN Fernley Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Fernley Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Fernley Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1405 East Newlands Drive, Fernley, NV 89408   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fernley
Boulder City, Nv
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The crew and I were headed up to Alturas and had to stay in Fernley up and back so we stayed at the Best Western Fernley inn. This is not our first time here as it is our only choice in town we always stay here. The rooms are clean and comfortable the staff is really great. The breakfast is so so as are most motel breakfasts. Has a nice indoor pool that was pretty crowded with young kids both times so I skipped it as it was quite loud in there. The internet is probably the only problem I had as it dropped out several times each time I used it and was quite slow. Would I stay here again? You bet ya in fact I would stay here on my own dime if I had to stay in the area.
Not many places to eat in walking distance but it is only a couple of blocks from I-80 and across the street from a super Wal-Mart.

Room Tip: Stay on the east side rooms in summer as the west side is really hot in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa k, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Fernley Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear BCRON:

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Fernley Inn. We appreciate your business and we thank you for staying with us when you are in the Fernley area. We are in the process of upgrading the internet at the current time. This should not be an issue the next time you stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,


Lisa Ketner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    39
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
28
27
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Don't arrive tired and cranky and expect the night gal to put you in a quite room and get your BW rewards right. If you don't have an official print out she won't honor it. Then she will put loud little brats over your head when you want to sleep in.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa k, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Fernley Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Geol_Cruiser:

First of all thank you for staying with the Best Western Fernley Inn. When you are using travel cards we must have the appropriate documentation in order to process them. We have to input the numbers in order to get reimbursed from Best Western.

I am sure night clerk did not put people with children above you on purpose. The majority of our rooms with two queen beds are on the top floor. We would have been happy to put you on the top floor so you wouldn't have had any one above you. Sorry for the inconvience.

Sincerely:

Lisa Ketner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Beds and room clean, but non smoking room smelled of smoke. Possibly just outside smoking being drawn in through A/C vent near front window. Staff nice and accomodating, good breakfast. Convenient location to Hwy 80 and casinos, Walmart and plenty of eateries.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa k, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Fernley Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear 95maryo:

Thank you for staying with the Best Western Fernley Inn. We appreciate your business and hope that on your next trip through Fernley you will stay with us again.

I am sorry you had the smell of smoke but you are correct there are times when the smoke will come through the a/c vent.

Again, thank you for your business and we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Lisa Ketner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is one of the better best westerns we have stayed at. The receptionist was very helpful. The room was nice. It is close to several food locations. The price was good and the pet fee wasn't out of this world like some places. We will be coming back if we're ever in Fernley.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa k, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Fernley Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear TravelerDave007:

Thank you for staying with us on your travels through Fernley Nevada. We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to you staying again.

If there is any thing else we can do please do not hesitate to let us know. Have a safe trip and we look forward to seeing you again when you come through the Fernley area.

Sincerely,

Lisa Ketner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This hotel is an outstanding value. Spent one night there on our family vacation. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again if traveling that way.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa k, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Fernley Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Phillip,
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! The staff tries very hard to give guests the best possible experience. We hope to see you and your family again. Best wishes from the Best Western Fernley Inn.

Sincerely

Ashley Wake
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I realize that the hotel is in Fernley, Nevada, but it's not what I expect from Best Western. On the plus side, the rooms are pretty spacious and well laid out, lots of TV channels, and the staff was friendly. We were on the 2nd floor and it was tiring hauling suitcases up the rough concrete stairs in the heat -- should have requested 1st floor. The shower in our room had no cool water -- temp varied from very hot to scalding. Also, the outlet I plugged my cell phone charger into was broken -- fortunately I noticed in time to move it to another outlet. The pool is nice and big, but it's in a terribly hot pool room. Comfortable if you're swimming but not if you're sitting on the edge watching your kids. Hot tub is broken. Supposedly you have to use a code to get in, but the door wasn't latching when we were there, so not sure what the point of the code is. The whole pool and laundry area has a run-down feel to it, but a run-down pool is better than nothing. The breakfast was OK -- waffles, eggs, cereal, muffins, juice, coffee. The breakfast room is tiny and cramped, everyone constantly bumping into everyone else. A circuit breaker blew when we were there, maybe because the waffle maker and microwave were being used at the same time? Staff got it going again quickly. I'd stay here again if I had to, but don't expect anything special.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa k, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Fernley Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Maragaret,
Thank you for letting us know how your stay was. I am sorry it was not quite what you had expected. We do really apperciate the feedback. It allows us to see where we could use some improving. Next time you stay please do give us any special requests you might have, we try very hard to fulfill them all. I also apologize about the water temp in your room. We will be checking into the issue. Thank you for staying at the Best Western Fernley Inn. If you have any questions or concerns please dont hesitate to give us a call. Have a great day!

Sincerley

Ashley Wake
Front desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The Front Desk clerk did not even acknowledge us as we walked in the door, as per Best Western Standards. When we complained at check-out about the water pressure and temperture changing throughout my shower, the gal that checked us out didn't seem all to concerned about it. Not very helpful at all. The only other Best Westerns that I've stayed at and I will not stay at again is in Salem, Oregon and Wilsonville, Oregon. This hotel gives them a run for their money for the worst hotel I've stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa k, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Fernley Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Cindy T:

First of all, I would like to thank you for staying at the Best Western Fernley Inn. I am sorry the clerks did not give you the courtesy you expected. That is very rare. I get compliments on the clerks alot. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations.

Fernley has alot of sediment in the water. When a piece of sediment gets in the line it can clog part of the line and make the water fluctuate. When then have to go clean the line. I do sincerely apologize .

If I can be of any service to you please do not hesistate to give me a call.

Sincerely,

Lisa Ketner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Fernley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Fernley Inn

Address: 1405 East Newlands Drive, Fernley, NV 89408
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Fernley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fernley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Fernley Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located off interstate 80 on exit 48. We are directly across the street from the Walmart. Our convenient location has several restaurants and a casino within walking distance. Our friendly staff look forward to hosting you and your family while you are in the Fernley area. We have 66 clean and comfortable rooms. We also have a great swimming pool (seasonal May through September). Bring the kids and let them enjoy themselves. We also are a pet friendly hotel with specific pet friendly rooms. We also offer a wonderful breakfast to get you started in the morning. It offers eggs, sausage or bacon, make your own waffles, biscuits and gravy plus many other items. We look forward to seeing you soon!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Fernley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fernley Hotel Fernley
Fernley Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Fernley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.