We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican AND delicate?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casita

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Casita
40 E, Center Street, Fallon, NV
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 45 Restaurants in Fallon
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Los Osos, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Mexican AND delicate?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stepping in the door of La Casita removes you from Fallon, Nevada and places you in a very unique culinary realm. Although the food is priced extremely reasonably, the owner treats his clientele with a grace normally found in much more expensive restaurants. Very personal, polite service. Very European. The "Mexican" food that we ordered was different from any we have had over decades of devotion to trying new Mexican restaurants. I asked for mild vs. hot, and was treated to delicate flavors I've never suspected were possible in this type of cooking. Garlic and peppers didn't mask the other ingredients. We were just passing through and came to this place because of the ratings. We have no reason to applaud this restaurant so highly other than that the owner's creation should be rewarded.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fallon, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Italian cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I love this restaurant! The owner loves food and takes time to talk to you about it, if he suggest something try it! It may not be on the menu but he can usually make other items if you ask a few days in advance. The food is great and the cost is very small. They give you the personal touch!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallon, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“If you like mexican food?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The staff and food is perfect if you like Mexican food. There is nothing here that we have ever disliked. The staff is very friendly and accommodating and the food is top. If you want an American dish or steak, then try the steak ranchero which can be Americanized or take it with the tortillas and the rice and you will be in for a treat.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallon, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“so so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Not much to say about another mexican establishment serving average food in Fallon. Everything is the same value oriented mexican cruisene

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, NV
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“I love this place! They care.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Food is actually Italian and Mexican. I went there for tacos and ended up with one of the specials - Salmon over linguine - a nice light caper sauce and perfectly cooked zucchini. There is nothing better then perfectly cooked vegetables. YUM! The price was only $10! The steak special was about $19 - Russell is the new chef - he's very caring - opened to suggestions (I would love a real chopped salad). He is there to please and takes pride in his cooking.
I understand they roll out a taco cart on Tuesdays - sounds liek fun!
Service by Lupe was excellent. I had a wonderful meal and a very relaxing time. So much so, I stayed in Fallon that night instead of driving home to Austin.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casita also viewed

 

Been to La Casita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.