We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Pet Friendly Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prospector Hotel and Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Prospector Hotel and Casino to your Saves list
Prospector Hotel and Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 East Aultman, Ely, NV 89301   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Ely
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice Pet Friendly Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We chose this hotel because we were traveling with our dog and it is pet friendly. The room was very clean and updated, They had doggie treats layed out for the dog and a dog bed and a dog pillow in the room and made us feel like our furry family member was very welcome. The young man at the front desk was very nice, and gave us 2 free margarita coupons and a free spin on the wheel fo fortune machine. The casino is very small with only slot machines, but provided a little entertainment after dinner. The food was good and the beds were comfy. There is an indoor pool and a small gym if gambling is not your thing. We will stay here again next time we pass this way.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    56
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
32
48
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cody, Wyoming
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

A comfortable and warm atmosphere with exceptionally well appointed rooms search with its own theme. The restaurant is excellent and the front desk service is the best. I travel out of my way to stay at the Prospector.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Traveled from Bonneville UT south and stayed at RV park at hotel. $15.00 a nite with 2 free drink coupons! Ate dinner at restaurant pleasantly surprised with quality and presentation of meals. Casino winnings paid for dinner. Definitely worth the stop.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bouse, AZ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel has been remodeled and is very nice. Very friendly check in clerk and willing to give you good suggestions on different places to eat in town. Bar was friendly and interesting to visit.
Free margarita and spin on the casino wheel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Very clean nice beds Quen size and down comforters. But we couldn't get housekeeping to make up our rooms quick even with a TIP and towels also cofee wow if I got a tip everyday I think I would try alittle harder.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Nice to stay in an hotel with a personality of its own when compared to the usual anonymous plastic chains. I felt I was in the real Nevada. I was particularly impressed with the genuine friendliness of the staff from reception, porters, and the restaurant where I enjoyed breakfast. I had a spacious room and the overall environment of the hotel was quite peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KELOWNA B.C CANADA.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stay here annually --- Quaint - clean - decent food - nice little casino
GOOD SERVICE - nice people - safe --- and I usually win enough to pay for the room!
We stop every October on the way to Phoenix and stop on the way back. They make our
3 day trip fun!!!!

Dano31

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Tis is not a 6 star Hilton but I think it may be more fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prospector Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospector Hotel and Casino

Address: 1501 East Aultman, Ely, NV 89301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Ely
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Prospector Hotel and Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prospector Hotel & Gambling Hall is a full service hotel and casino with a restaurant and cocktail lounge. The property is newly remolded with 5 Star amenities throughout. We are positive you will enjoy your stay with us!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Prospector Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prospector Hotel Ely

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prospector Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.