We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, very comfortable, friendly & affordable. We would stay again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bristlecone Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bristlecone Motel to your Saves list
Bristlecone Motel
700 Avenue I, Ely, NV 89301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Ely
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clean, very comfortable, friendly & affordable. We would stay again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

What a pleasure to find this room. Mom & pop Drive-up, 2-story operation; park in front of room for ease of unload. Manager showed us a darling 2-bed room that was warm, clean, modern, and had fantastic beds with thick, wonderful pillows. Even the shower has good water pressure. Small fridge and Coffee in room but no micro. Comfortable and quiet electric heat; 9 degrees outside het warm in room. Rooms are off the main road and are very quiet. Casino across the street and not in motel. All finishes looked new.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    76
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
29
66
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Excellent, clean & reasonable overnight stop en route from south to north. Quiet. Can park right outside door (we always choose ground level); has fridge, coffee-maker in room. Will stay here again on our way back & forth.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

In a seven week road trip in south western USA this was, by far, the worst place that we stayed. Our room was very small, dowdy and getting on towards shabby. The towels were thin and skimpy (and mainly green!). The motel is located right on a busy crossroads and our room was right next to the road. We could both hear and feel the traffic well in to the night and from very early the next morning. There was also a fair amount of noise from the adjacent room and the room above is; not the fault of the motel management, of course, but it didn’t improve our stay. No breakfast is provided so, although the motel is quite cheap, we do not think it offers value for money. Also this is the only occasion in seven weeks where we met with a brusque response (bordering on rudeness) when we asked a perfectly polite and reasonable question at the reception. That says a lot about the general courtesy and friendliness of Americans! But it also says a good deal about Bristlecone Motel. We think there are much better accommodation options in Ely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesreeRamirez, Manager at Bristlecone Motel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
I am sorry you had that experience staying with us. The noise from the street does tend to be a little distracting, beings we are located on highway 50. I am also sorry you didnt like the towels, they are one of our most complemented items. They are from the JC Penneys Home Collection and not the average motel towel. Once again I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Even though we were assigned what was probably the least-desirable room in the motel (ground floor on the highway,) we slept very well. The bed was excellent, room very clean, towels big and fluffy, and internet worked well. The bathroom is miniscule, but sufficient. The location is convenient to stores, restaurants and even a casino.

Room Tip: A second floor room away from the highway would be preferable, though we had no complaints about our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesreeRamirez, Manager at Bristlecone Motel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for the review.. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and took the time to give your feedback. We hope you stay with us again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar City, Utah
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This motel has a friendly staff, rooms that are as clean as they smell and the parking is excellent. It's close to the grocery store and post office, too. The internet works great. It even has a table with chairs to use as a mini office. I slept good and woke up feeling great. It's a nice place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Default City
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Rooms were clean. Smelled clean! Linens were home-like. Cable channels on TV and actual working Internet. Loved it.
The bathroom could have been a little newer but it didn't spoil the stay.
Coffe mug in room, air-conditioning, free parking wih plenty of places.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I just got home and decided to rate the Bristlecone because of the staff and the facility itself. The girl at the front desk made us feel welcome. She found our reservation and checked us in quickly. We have stayed here a few times before in rooms on the ground floor but went with the second floor this time because of the big paned doors that go to the balcony. The view is beautiful! The rooms are spacious, more like suites but not at the price many other motels would charge for the same. I also like the parking lot. It accommodates big trucks as well as trucks and trailers. I found the room to be very pretty, very clean, and comfortable. I like the long hot shower that never got cold and lack of noise which sometimes comes from other rooms or the outside when we stay at the other motels. I will be staying here again!

Room Tip: The upper rooms have an exterior balcony with table and chairs every so often so we can enjoy the we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bristlecone Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristlecone Motel

Address: 700 Avenue I, Ely, NV 89301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Ely
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, home away from home atmosphere. The only motel in Ely with patio seating. We pride ourselves on cleanliness and courteous service to our customers. Great beds and linens. The motel is within walking distance of three restaurants. Free wi-fi and pets ok. In-room coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Bristlecone Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristlecone Motel Ely
Bristlecone Hotel Ely

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bristlecone Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.