We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect play to stay on the way to Yellowstone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Elko

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Elko to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Elko
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3019 Idaho Street, Elko, NV 89801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 27 hotels in Elko
Davis, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect play to stay on the way to Yellowstone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My family staed this hotel two nights on the way to Yosemite and back home. The location is perfect just from West California to Yellowstone. After long driving from home, the hotel provided everything for us. The staff was very helpful!! Hotel has been redecorated recently, very clean and nice. The room was very spacious and breakfast are very nice. I travelled a lot and stayed in Holiday inn many time all around the world and this is the best Holiday inn I've ever stayed. After long drive, my husband stayed in the hot bath tub, and kids and I went to the swiming pool everynight. The pool was big and nice, only 2-3minutes driving.
I will definitely stay again next time to Yellowstone again.

Room Tip: This is the best hotel in Elko.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    41
    18
    5
    6
See reviews for
27
38
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Huge room and bath, very clean. Basic amenities (shampoo/lotion, coffee maker, iron) but no fridge/microwave. Better than average breakfast--cereals, delicious cinnamon rolls, sausage/bacon/eggs, pancake machine, yogurt/milk, juices/coffee/tea in a big dining area. Free newspaper. Only complaint is that the tub plug never did work so couldn't take a bath and didn't care much for the range of settings on the showerhead. Front desk staff for the most part very friendly and helpful (I got a new lightbulb), although the guy on duty the last night neglected to arrange ahead for a cab (yes, much to my surprise, Elko apparently has one!) for early the next morning so a co-worker almost didn't make his 6:00am flight.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnemucca, Nevada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

the emplyee who checked us in was rude.i paid cash at check in BUT they still CHARGED THE CREDIT CARD, I WORK for a HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS and we never charge the guests card when they pay CASH.we are supposed to put it in the comments for INCIDENTALS.the rooms were very noisy. I CALLED THE FRONT DESK FOR A WAKE UP CALL AND THE LADY WAS VERY RUDE ABOUT IT.I will never stay there again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelli L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Elko, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your concerns. We value all of our guests, and want all to have a positive experience with us. We strive to provide all of our guests with great service and friendly staff. I do hope you will come back and give us an opportunity to change your impression of our hotel. We would love to speak to you regarding your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We spent the night there a couple of weeks ago on our way to Salt Lake City. Very friendly staff, good rooms and nice breakfast. Right off the interstate. Would stay there again! All of the holiday Inns that we have stayed in are quite nice and we recommend them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henderson, NV
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

A Holiday Inn Express, is a Holiday Inn Express, right? You know what you are getting and hopefully, there are no bad surprises. This property had no bad surprises, which is what we wanted in Elko for the night. It was clean and comfortable, with a friendly desk clerk and a decent breakfast; again, with no surprises.
One complaint, and it's fairly minor: We wanted our dinner delivered, as we were both tired after a nine hour drive. The front desk had several menus of places that delivered. However, they had run off the copies on a printer that was BADLY in need of a cleaning, with the result that the copies were basically unreadable as far as the descriptions of the various items. I mean, come on folks, how hard is it to make clean, legible copies available for your guests? I would have been embarrassed to hand out such copies myself.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Elko, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear helene s,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am pleased that you found our location convenient. However, please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your comments about the printed copies of the menus will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to be taken into consideration for future upgrades. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elko, Nevada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Aneth is the reason I did not give this hotel a poor rating. Example: A guest had exploded a bowl of oatmeal in the microwave and bailed out. She not only apoligized and rushed for a stepladder to clean it, so I could warm my drink. She made a joke about the ladder being her high heels, making the wait pleasant. So I watched her greet returning guests by name and be completely unobtrusive unless someone needed help or a smile. This takes brains. The construction of this hotel was really solid quality. Obviously the new investor/owners just want to extract profits, because all the staff were great, and obviously housekeeping had begged someone to get rid of the moldy grout in room 105. Unfortunately, someone had just rushed and put a little sealant right over some of the mold. The owners should care about keeping these large, comfortable bathrooms cleaner, because the staff is trying their best - put just a little money into maintaining this quality construction cleanable, and this hotel could get 5 stars again. Seriously, just inspect the bathroom before you take a room, because the staff here couldn't be nicer.

Room Tip: just demand a room with bathroom grout not old/moldy, because housekeeping clearly tries their best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Elko, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear JaaaaayCeeeee,

Thank you so much for your recent comments. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience. I would love to welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience with further details. I have sent you a private message to obtain additional information regarding your stay.

I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

The location was within a half block of Red Lion Casino. It was nice to get out of the cigarette smoke to an extremely comfortable motel! There was a small shopping center accross street with inexpensive oriental food and a yogurt shop. The motel's hot breakfast had a pancake maker -first time we'd seen something like that. Unfortunately the pancake maker was broken despite their attempts to fix - will look forward to that on our next trip!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Elko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Elko

Address: 3019 Idaho Street, Elko, NV 89801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Elko
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 hotels in Elko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Elko 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Elko hotel is a three-time winner of the Torch Bearer Award presented by Intercontinental Hotels Group. This award recognizes the hotel management for maintaining the highest standards of excellence in product quality, hotel operations and guest services. The Holiday Inn Express is a non-smoking hotel. Our hotel is conveniently located by the Ruby View Golf Course, restaurants, shopping centers, casinos and a museum. Our hotel also has a beautiful view of the Ruby Mountains. Easy access on and off Interstate 80 makes this facility the choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Our friendly staff will make you feel right at home amid our cozy atmosphere. All of our rooms are large and comfortable and we're always ready to check you in with fresh cookies and a smile. The next morning will start out right with our complimentary hot breakfast bar. Whether you're traveling on business or just having a little fun, you'll enjoy the luxurious Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Elko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Elko Hotel Elko
Holiday Inn Elko
Elko Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Elko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.