We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALWAYS A GREAT EXPERIENCE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2065 Idaho Street, Elko, NV 89801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Elko
salt lake city
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“ALWAYS A GREAT EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We always look forward to our trips to Elko and the Red Lion Inn and Casino, the latter being the catalyst for our trips. Now that the check-in time has been changed, it will make the trip even more enjoyable. We try to make it on a weekend when the chef Sherman puts out a great seafood buffet on Friday and Prime Rib on Saturday; have known him for years and he is a great chef.
The staff is great; but, wouldn't let me take the mattress home from our Executive King room..Eduardo did dig out the name of the company making it.

Room Tip: Get the Executive King with two club chairs; facing Idaho street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel. It is appreciated! So glad that you continue to have great experiences. Our staff continues to provide excellent service, which you note with Eduardo. We look forward to your return visit and are working on establishing an earlier check-in time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    104
    52
    29
    15
See reviews for
64
67
19
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington, Usa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have been on a two week trip through 5 states for business and this hotel by far was the worst. It is not on the level of a Motel 6 but is really not that much better. The front desk person was all alone as the check in line grew and became frustrated. Although they had some upgrades since my last visit in October 2012, the rooms are still old and rather dank. You could tell that the housekeeping staff sprayed a significant amount of air freshener in the room to hide the smell of mold. On top of this, the rates for the hotel were too high for such an old hotel. There are newer hotels in the local area where I will stay on my next trip to Elko.

The hotel restaurant (the Coffee Garden) was absolutely horrible and the excuse was that they were training new cooks (I got the Chicken Marinara with burnt chicken and dry noodles). I could not in all honesty recommend this hotel unless they lowered their rates.

Room Tip: Try the newer hotels which are very close to this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. My sincerest apologies for your experience. Department heads have been notified of your comments regarding your recent stay. Again, my humble apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Good value rooms, make sure you stop by the Aspens bar and have a drink off Mandy the bar tender, she always has a smile and a friendly word. She pulls a mean cold beer or try one of her depth charges.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Red Lion Inn & Casino. We are proud of the "Aspens" for it's fine service and excellent food. We look forward to your return visit. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed here for just one night and when I went to check in the person helping me was not mean nor nice, she just seemed OK. She just looked very tired and was not talkative. She didn't give me the greatest directions to my room but it was very easy to find since there was a lot of signs etc.
The room was very big and had a balcony with a view of the main street and the parking lot and the distance hills/mountains which was just fine. It had a fridge and a microwave but no chairs to sit on the balcony.
Even though my room face the busy street I could not hear almost anything or anybody overnight. For a casino hotel it was very comfortable and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our accommodations. We strive to provide the best in customer service to all our guests and will continue our training of our Front Desk associates in that area. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stopped here for two nights on our way to Montana. We thought it would be fun to stay at a place with a casino and this hotel had the biggest casino in the area. It definitely was not Las Vegas but it was still fun.

The rooms were very spacious, clean, and also had balcony. The staff was very friendly and were knowledgeable about the games. We didn't win any money, but with as much as we drank and tipped I'm pretty sure we broke even.

My only complaint is that when you are walking towards the area where the rooms are, there is a horrible smell. As soon as you go through the glass doors to your room it's no longer there. We had to hold our breath every time we walked by this certain area to get to and from the casino.

Overall it was a good stay. There are two restaurants (although the 24 hour cafe has good food but horrible service), a gift shop, and a few things within walking distance. We would stay here again if we are ever passing through again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We always appreciate guest comments through Trip Advisor and we take all of these comments seriously. Thank you for your gracious review of our hotel. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We were on a long roadtrip and found the Red Lion to be the best option as a pit stop for the night. First, they allow dogs for a small fee of $15. Second, the location is close to green space and the city park for giving the dogs a nice walk. The Aspen restaurant provided an adequate dinner, so we had a good experience and would recommend it for those passing through. It was also convienent having a Starbucks on site in the morning! The room was clean and comfortable. We could only smell smoke in the hallways; not in the room.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Red Lion Inn & Casino on your recent stay in Elko. We are glad that you found our accommodations satisfactory. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We recently stayed here for a night on our way to Yellowstone. The hotel room was pretty clean even though it was a casino hotel and there were many guests with families and kids (that makes you feel safe). The location is good as well as it is close to the restaurants in the city. We will stay here again, if needed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We hope you are having a great time in Yellowstone. So many of our guests find that our hotel in Elko is the perfect stop between vacation destinations. We are glad that you felt safe at the Red Lion. We welcome you back on your return trip home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel & Casino

Address: 2065 Idaho Street, Elko, NV 89801
Location: United States > Nevada > Elko
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Elko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, Elko's Red Lion Hotel & Casino features the finest accommodations available in northeastern Nevada. Located just off Interstate 80, the Red Lion is convenient from Twin Falls, Salt Lake City and Reno. Enjoy plush, pillow-top beds, contemporary furnishings, free wireless internet and more in our inviting guest rooms. We also have a fitness center, gift shop, seasonal pool and business center, Starbucks, Aspens Bar & Grill, Buffet, 24 Hour Las Vegas style gaming, and more! You have everything you need under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Lion Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel And Casino
Red Lion Hotel Elko
Red Lion Elko
Elko Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.