We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2065 Idaho Street, Elko, NV 89801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Elko
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

The rooms that me and my friend got were huge, with a balcony. Our rooms were clean, and didn't smell smokey like some other reviewers have mentioned. Has an outdoor pool that was closed during winter months. Has a couple of decent restaurants. The WiFi worked great throughout the hotel area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    104
    52
    29
    15
See reviews for
64
67
19
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We both dont smoke, stayed in a non smokers room, was almost as bad at the registration desk, I do understand you can smoke virtually anywhere but still it's pretty gross. The room was decent facing away from the road, the bed was decent, the fixtures were decent. The coffee garden service was good, the gym looked decent, besides the smell the other issue was the tub went to use it and found it had white floating things in it. I am an HVAC tech, you may want to look at the use of active charcoal filters would take the smoke smell out and would improve my rating.

Room Tip: As stated before check in first then unpack your bags, the walk to your room can be a ways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drz77, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear Joey C:

I appreciate and do understand your comments about the smell of smoke in and around our casino, hotel hallways and your room. We are doing our best to resolve this problem, because we can certainly appreciate the concerns of our non-smoking guests. In fact, our environmental experts have made a number of suggestions which we hope will help with the smoky residual in the hallways and rooms. Unfortunately, we cannot always monitor smokers in a non-smoking section, which can make it quite uncomfortable for our non-smoking guests. In addition, I suspect the white objects you found in your tub could be some sort of cleaning residual, but I will be sure to speak with our Housekeeping Manager about this. I thank you for your patronage and hope you will visit us again should your travels return you to the Elko area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

When I arrived to check in my room, the male Auditor was extremely rude & insisted I wasn't in their computer. He was very short & appeared to be playing on the computer while I waited & waited & waited. I made the reservations directly with the hotel & I even had a confirmation number but he insisted I wasn't in the system. Finally after sometime 15minutes he told me he found my reservation. I asked what had happened & he apologized for not being fully awake..? I paid $139 for my room & this is how I am treated? As I left to go find my room(which he didn't even explain directions) I heard him tell a security guard "Cheap $&#% didn't tip".. Never will I stay in such a place. Never will I expose myself to such rudeness & unproffesionalism. The front desk person was the cause I hated my stay. Thanks to you I will NEVER stay at this property. Thanks Alberto for the kind service. Red Lions are nothing but a source of degradation.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drz77, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
To: Benzdealer1

I have just read your review on your recent stay at the Red Lion Hotel & Casino, Elko, Nevada, and I am very disturbed to read about your experience. I want you to know we will not accept this type of behavior from our employees, and we will be speaking to the entire front desk staff to reiterate our position. I would like to offer you a free stay the next time you are in the Elko area. We’d like to show you our better side for sure! If you would provide me with your e-mail or mailing address, I will send you that right away. Again, I am truly sorry to read of your experience with us. David R. Zornes, CEO, Red Lion Hotel & Casino (david.zornes@playelko.com).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We usually stay at the Holiday Inn Express, because we prefer non smoking hotels. Since it was booked, we chose the Red Lion. We stayes in a King Executive room, which was reasonably priced. The room was huge! It had two chairs/ottomans, microwave, fridge and a 42" flat screen TV. Wireless is throughout the hotel. Starbucks is in the hotel. My only complaint is that our nonsmoking room was just steps from the casino, and smoke permeated our room. Other than that, a great stay and a very good value.

Room Tip: Check the website for special pricing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norden, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I stayed here again over Thanksgiving, again I got wonderful service, it's not always available but I got a shuttle to my train when I left. They were very personal in their service, I love that onsite Starbucks, the 24-hour cafe had my favorite breakfast omlette at 4am when my train came in.

I got a room right by the casino and it was very nice, it seems like the remodel is done, and it's worth spending a few bucks more for the room with the extra chair and other amenities.

I loved the new beds, I use a tempurpedic at home, these worked better for me than the Hilton I went to stay at in SF after this Elko visit. If they could just put the Red Lion Hotel of Elko in San Francisco, I would be in heaven.

Well, my other review tells the whole great story but I stayed again and wanted to mention another great experience.

Room Tip: Leave your bags in the car while you register and ask how far your room is from the front desk, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Elko is a nice place would like to spend more time there next time I am around. The hotel was nice great service as well.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapleton Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I am very picky about hotels so i was very happy when we found this one. The rooms were quiet and the beds very comfortable. We ate on location and the dinner was very good. We will stay here again if we ever find ourselves in Elko again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel & Casino

Address: 2065 Idaho Street, Elko, NV 89801
Location: United States > Nevada > Elko
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Elko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, Elko's Red Lion Hotel & Casino features the finest accommodations available in northeastern Nevada. Located just off Interstate 80, the Red Lion is convenient from Twin Falls, Salt Lake City and Reno. Enjoy plush, pillow-top beds, contemporary furnishings, free wireless internet and more in our inviting guest rooms. We also have a fitness center, gift shop, seasonal pool and business center, Starbucks, Aspens Bar & Grill, Buffet, 24 Hour Las Vegas style gaming, and more! You have everything you need under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Lion Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel And Casino
Red Lion Hotel Elko
Red Lion Elko
Elko Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.