We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross room, but cheap if you're passing through on I-80” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Elko

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Elko to your Saves list
Travelodge Elko
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1785 Idaho St, Jennings Way / Idaho Street, Elko, NV 89801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Elko
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Gross room, but cheap if you're passing through on I-80”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The room was a joke, look at the picture. Despite all the NO SMOKING signs posted in the hallways and on every room door and in your room, the entire place smelled of smoke. We booked our room for $59 and paid a $10 dog fee through Hotels.com. You have to do it through the website or phone because they won't match the price in person. Other hotels in Elko charged $15 - $100 per night for a dog (seriously- $100!!) so we went with the obvious. We were just passing through on a road trip for a few hours to crash anyway.

Pros:
Cheap
Just off I-80
Accepts dogs ($10)

Cons:
Uncomfortable bed
Reeked of Smoke
Tiny bathroom
Poor TV reception
Heat/Cooling didn't work right
Hardly any outdoor space to walk a dog
Forget about the free breakfast
Did I mention Smelled of Smoke

Room Tip: Use this place to crash for the night and nothing more. Good for Smokers because it reeks of smoke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
923_Spokane, General Manager at Travelodge Elko, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Asebrell,

Thank you for proving a picture of the room you stayed in. As you can tell Travelodge is upgrading the room, starting with the bed package. We have only a few rooms left to upgrade the actual beds in, and I am sorry that you felt the bed in your room was uncomfortable.

We have two completely non-smoking floors as well as a third floor with some smoking rooms, we adhere to our strict no smoking policy in our non-smoking rooms, as I am sure read when you registered (referring to the $350 fee for violating our non-smoking policy).

I am glad that you liked our $10 pet rate, I know that when traveling that can become expensive, depending on with brand you stay. However I apologize that your pet did not enjoy the large grass front lawn in front of Travelodge or the entire lot we have in front of Super 8.

I hope that you consider staying with us again, in the future.

Sincerely Yours,
Laura Abraham
General Manager
Travelodge – Elko, Nevada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    32
    54
    19
    20
See reviews for
50
36
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
WEST JORDAN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The trip started terribly when the desk gave our room to another person and they woke us up at 10:50 pm with a phone call AND someone coming into the room. This was not pleasant and the staff should have noted which room we were staying in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
923_Spokane, General Manager at Travelodge Elko, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Mary L.,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us during your trip to Elko Nevada. I am sorry to hear we could have done better and apologize for the error at our front office. I am sure the mistake was caught at the last minute, thus the phone call to correct the situation. We did not mean to awaken you and would never have done so otherwise.

May I ask you please to contact me in person for your visit so that I may see to your reservations personally and to again welcome you to our property.

I will be looking forward,

Thank you again,

Laura Abraham
General Manager
Travelodge Elko Nevada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a good hotel if you need a descent cheap place to sleep. The room was dated, the bed was ok, and the bathroom was good.
My biggest complaint is the Wi-Fi. I was on the third floor and did not have a strong connection and lost the connection a few times.
A big plus is the staff. I was dead tired when I checked in; I had been up for 18 hours, six hours driving and ten hours working. The front desk receptionist was polite, patient and very helpful.
Also this Travelodge is next to a Super 8 and I believe the staff rotates in and out of each location because I have stayed at both and seen the same staff.

Room Tip: The Wi-Fi was weak on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
923_Spokane, General Manager at Travelodge Elko, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Wes S.,

I am glad to know you stay with us when your in Elko Nevada.

We appreciate your kind words as our staff works very hard to insure excellent guest satisfaction. Please know I will look into what available means we have to improve our Wi-Fi band strength on the 3rd floor to insure your next visit with us is even better.

Thank you for being our guest.

Sincerely,

Laura Abraham
Travelodge Elko Nevada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Elko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Elko

Address: 1785 Idaho St, Jennings Way / Idaho Street, Elko, NV 89801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Elko
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Elko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Elko 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Elko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Elko Hotel Elko
Travel Lodge Elko
Elko Travelodge
Elko Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Elko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.