We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met our expecations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Elko

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Elko to your Saves list
Travelodge Elko
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1785 Idaho St, Jennings Way / Idaho Street, Elko, NV 89801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Elko
Topeka
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Met our expecations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Day 2 of our travels, again arrived really late. Room was comfortably larger than 'normal'. Parking was a challenge - the lot wasn't big enough for the property. It was nothing more than a place for us to sleep at.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
923_Spokane, General Manager at Travelodge Elko, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Spray Hawk,

Thank you for your comments and your review of your recent visit to our property in Elko Nevada.

We are all raving about the picture of the running dogs, it is exciting to say the least.

I am glad to hear we meet your expectations and that your accommodations were clean and spacious. We are improving each day and hope to see you again on your future travels.

Enjoy your journey and we wish you safe travels always,

Laura Abraham
General Manager
Travelodge Elko Nevada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    32
    54
    19
    20
See reviews for
50
36
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
POCATELLO
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The parking was limited and hard to get to an enterance. The location was a main boulavard and easy to find.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
923_Spokane, General Manager at Travelodge Elko, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Wendy A,

Thank you for choosing the Travelodge in Elko Nevada for your choice in accommodations to our wonderful community. We agree the property offers an excellent location and is in the heart of the city, however we will look at perhaps better signage in our parking area to insure an easier trip.

It is great to see you using TripAdvisor and please know we will always make sure to offer an outstanding price and a clean, comfortable and welcoming property.

Thank you again for your patronage!!

Sincerely,

Laura Abraham
General Manager
Travelodge Elko Nevada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey La
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

When we checked in they said that we would be charged $77.00 a night. Stayed one night and the total charge was $427.00. I don't think the ritz is that. The desk clerk said it was a smoking fee. We don't smoke!!!! I have tried to contact the general manager but have gotten the run around. So this is certainly a major rip off. Bad business ethics.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
923_Spokane, General Manager at Travelodge Elko, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Swtflwrs,

Our agreement upon registration is to provide a safe, clean and comfortable stay for each patron of our establishment. Our charge to you for this effort was as agreed upon being that rate of $77.00 plus taxes.

However, after this a charge for the use of "Smoke" was an additional amount noted on the registration form which you signed clearly stating that smoking in a non smoking room is an additional charge of $350.00.

Without exception - our commitment to each guest is clear, it is formal and it is direct. Thus your refusal to pay with your credit card company was declined by them, and the charge stayed.
Our proof was presented making our agreement complete. That is our ethics speaking.

Swtflwrs, we strive to insure our guests give us a "High Mark" when commenting on TripAdvisor, as we appreciate this forum and its informative dialog for the modern day traveler. We do not however endeavor to be "Stoned" as "Un-Ethical" thus will and must and do protect our property, its occupants and their families.

In that regard, we are the Ritz.

Respectfully,

Ms. Laura Abraham
General Manager
Travelodge Elko Nevada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Very very bad hotel if you don't like to sleep inside an ashtray.
i book a non smoking room and arrive late and of course i got the worst smoking room, without the possibility to switch. They told me they were sold out. , just didn't want to recognize them mystake.

Room Tip: Even if you book a non smoking room, give a call and make sure of it. people at the reception don t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkoGM, Manager at Travelodge Elko, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
FrenchMick,

Thank you for your comments, and your patronage. In today’s traveling world, the traveler had the option of booking through a third party or booking directly with the brands 1800 number. It is regretful that the website you used does not make a differential between non-smoking and smoking as in your case. As I hope you will understand in confirming your reservation with your 3rd party reservation system, they confirmed you as a smoking room. It is always our attempt and make every effort to meet our guest expectation and exceed them. However, with your reservation when we called the online company you booked your reservation through, we were told that you requested a smoking room.

We encourage you and everyone to book directly with the Travelodge 1800 number or Travelodge.com and request the best rate guarantee.

In closing without exception, if another room would have been available in our non-smoking section, one would have been provided for you immediately!

Please contact me directly when in the Elko, Nevada area, so that I may see to your reservation personally. Again, thank you for your patronage and for choosing Travelodge.

Respectfully,
Laura Abraham
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucca Valley, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

If all you want is economy, this is a decent place to stay. Hallway smelled like smoke even though the whole place is nonsmoking (I don't think the hotel can really be held responsible for that...just something to note). That being said my room did NOT smell. There were a couple of rips in one of the bedspreads though not terrible. The beds look old, sag a bit, and are very low to the ground but I slept ok (my husband tossed and turned). Toilet clogged the last morning we were there. Please be aware there are no elevators, so if you are travelling with a lot of stuff, it will mean multiple trips up stairs. There is only drink vending in the building so bring your own snacks (there are cookies at the desk).

On the plus sides....one of the least expensive rooms in town. Microwave and fridge in room. Typical continental breakfast in AM. My husband overheard the front desk clerk actively making phone calls to assist other families in finding a room for the night (we're not sure why they needed the help but it was nice to hear the assistance.)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Travelodge Elko, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Docs Bob,

Thank you for your comments about our hotel. We are in the process of replacing the beds and the comforters, so that your husband won’t toss and turn on his next stay with us.

During the summer months it tends to be hard to find hotel rooms. Therefore, when you do not have a reservation, therefore we try very hard to help every potential guest to have somewhere to stay, either with us or at another hotel in town, when we cannot accommodate them.

We hope to see you on your next trip through Elko, Nevada

Sincerely,
Laura Abraham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

I made a mistake in our on-line reservation. We were assignes a different room right away without fuss or bother. So, the check-in staff is good. The room was clean, roomy, well furnished. Location is quiet while still near the highway. Breakfast was more than I expected at a lower cost motel. After a good night's sleep, we were on our way.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Travelodge Elko, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
jimmy62_11,

Thank you for your nice comments! I am thrilled that you enjoyed you stay with us at the Elko Travelodge. We hope to see you again soon

Sincerely
Laura Abraham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, Washington
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We were attending the National Cowboy Poetry (Music and many informative lectures also) for about the 12th time. This was our first stay at this Travelodge. I wish that I had tried it out the 2nd time we came as it is nicer and represents a much better value than where we stayed 10 of the other 11 visits. The light breakfast ordered was fine. The hotel and rooms were bright and clean.The mattress was way to firm for my taste, but this is an individual matter. Parking is convenient. We like that it is an easy walk to the Convention Center. We will stay here again next year. Staff was just OK.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
923_Spokane, Manager at Travelodge Elko, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Harvey 6f,

Thank you for taking the time give us your valuable feedback about our property and staff. Cowboy Poetry is a great time to be in Elko for a number of reasons. I am very glad that you enjoyed your time with us, and I am thrilled to hear that you will be back again in 2013! As I am sure you saw this late trip, we are making many great improvements to the Travelodge, from the lobby to the guest rooms. I am sorry to hear that your bed was too firm, however we are in the process of upgrading all of our beds, so I am sure you’ll enjoy your rest more on the next trip.

Thank you for staying with us at the Travelodge in Elko, Nevada. Hope to see you soon
Lisa Fogle
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Elko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Elko

Address: 1785 Idaho St, Jennings Way / Idaho Street, Elko, NV 89801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Elko
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Elko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Elko 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Elko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Elko Hotel Elko
Travel Lodge Elko
Elko Travelodge
Elko Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Elko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.