We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too many people touch the food!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Vida

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Costa Vida
Interstate 80, Elko, NV
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 71 Restaurants in Elko
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Elko, Nevada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Too many people touch the food!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Waiting in line to order food that 5 people touch is not good... We order nachos,a bean and cheese burrito and the special of the day, however when we get to the register my son asks if they put rice in his bean and cheese and they looked at him crazy and told him no, THEY LIED!! Nothing tasted fresh or was worth eating! Save your money and go to La Fiesta!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring Creek
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gives the some of the junky joints in Elko run for their money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

In addition to having a *genius* location right next to the I-80 ramp, Costa Vida is the breath of fresh culinary air Elko has been begging for. If you think the word "culinary" doesn't go with a semi- fast food restaurant, live here for a month and you'll change your mind.

There's lots of good and great be said about this place. First, if you show up and there's a line outside the door, don't leave. It is run like a finely-tuned, well-oil machine - not only do they get you in and out with lightning fast precision, they do it with smiles on their faces and food that's fresh and tasty. Be prepared to make a lot of decisions quickly - every order is made your way. The next thing you'll notice is how clean and nice and cool it is inside. Yeah, it's new, but even with dozens of people every hour coming in, they somehow manage to keep it all tidy and the condiment/soda area is always well-stocked.

I've been there 5 or 6 times since they opened and they've yet to disappoint. It's always delicious, they're never stingy with the meat by trying to pile your plate up with too many fillers and you never walk out of there when you're done. No. They give you so much food, you waddle. One thing I found to be a nice feature is that they have a small but good selection of beers (even though I don't drink)...not something you see at other similar style restaurants. And you can get Coke from the fountain or a bottle. A GLASS BOTTLE!

It's not exactly spicy so if you're of the "hot" persuasion, ask them for some Sweet Habanero Sauce. I don't believe it's on the menu but they do have it readily available. My husband, who is well-versed in all foods atomic and fiery, says it's not hot, but I consider it medium...just enough kick to add some interest, but not so much you're sweating or looking for the nearest carton of milk.

I've had mango chicken salad, sweet baja shrimp salad and several varieties of burrito with grilled chicken and steak and it's all great. The tomatillo cilantro sauce is particularly tasty atop the overstuffed burrito and the mango salsa paired with mango salad dressing is surprisingly NOT overkill.

Lastly, unless you plan to dine at a bonafide fast food joint, you'll be hard pressed to find anywhere else to eat lunch or dinner for less than $30 (dinner around most places in Elko is $60+) - our bill usually runs $26 with adding on a side of nachos and 2 medium sodas. They offer a generous discount card and treat active duty military VERY well, which is another surprise, since the rest of the town claims to be die-hard supporters of the armed forces, yet when it comes to enlisting or the local businesses supporting them, it's a very different story. It's certainly NOT a requirement, but it sure is nice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elko, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Plenty of food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Went to Costa vida for lunch last Wednesday. It had only been open for about a week, so it was a little disorganized. The restaurant is set up kind of cafeteria style. You start by ordering your entree, then go down the line deciding what you want on it. I'm a big eater, and brought 1/2 home. I had a Chili Verde burrito, and it was delicious. Costa Vida will be in my rotation of lunch spots.

.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Creek, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Slow and ugly food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Costa Vida
Waited 30 minutes in line to find out they were out of the special and was told I had to wait another 30 minutes to prepare food. My wife had a really ugly taco and refried beans that looked like a bowl of soup. Do not go unless everything else in Elko is closed and you have plenty time to wait to get some really poor service and food that you spend an hour waiting for an hour for fast food in Elko, NV.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costa Vida also viewed

 

Been to Costa Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Vida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.