We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and underwhelming” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Machi's Saloon & Grill

Machi's Saloon & Grill
450 Commercial St, Elko, NV 89801-3743
775-738-9772
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 71 Restaurants in Elko
Price range: $2 - $35
Cuisines: American, Bar, Bistro, Wine Bar
Restaurant details
Orovada, NV
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Overpriced and underwhelming”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were at Machi's for dinner last night. We had tried to go before, but there was always a long wait for a table. We thought that it was a good sign. The service was good! I ordered the prime rib off the bone, and my guy had linguini in clam sauce. The meals came with a salad that was all lettuce, except for two thinly sliced mealy tomatoes and some thin sliced red onions. The house garlic dressing was slightly fishy-tasting, and my blue cheese dressing was bland. The prime rib looked beautiful, but it had this salty, manufactured, beef-brothy tasting au jus ladled over it that put me off entirely.The vegetable medley was crisp, but was floating in that store-bought au-jus. Also, the meat, although easy to cut, was tough to chew. My guy's linguini had plenty of clams,but they were so tiny and floating in a weak tasting, watery-sauce with garlic pieces that tasted like their garlic came from a jar. We did not enjoy this meal, and will not return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    24
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Elko
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Favorite for Lunch, but love the dinners too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

One of my favorite places for lunch or dinner with friends. I have at least four special lunches I order and a variety of dinners that are delicious. All the dishes are excellent.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great lunch/supper”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Nice place, big bar area. Good food, large menu (especially for lunch). Place gets packed for lunch.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not My Favorite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Have eaten there a half a dozen times, and have never left feelling full. Maybe I'm ordering the wrong things. The flavors are mediocre at best. The only reason it gets an average is because of the outstanding cheesecake. If I must go back, that is all I will order for lunch.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
streator, Illinois
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Good Lunch Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were passing through Elko on our way to Reno and checked tripadvisor to get some ideas for lunch. We looked at a couple of menus at top rated restaurants in the downtown area and decided on Machi's because there were a lot of local people entering the restaurant.

Machi's was busy at lunch and is a rather small restaurant. Service was excellent and the food was very good. The hostess was very friendly and offered suggestions for entree choices. We ordered Chicken Parmesean that was excellent. I like the fact that it wasn't breaded and fried. We also ordered a lunch combo of soup and sandwich that was also very good. To us, the bread is an important part of the sandwich and this bread was excellent. Both selections were of good size.

The place has a good vibe and is trendy. We enjoyed looking at the photos that were displayed on the walls.

The only negative was that we were seated at a very small booth that seats two. It really is too small. However, as we were seated, we were also offered a table, and we chose the little booth. They really should try to make the booths a little larger.

If we were traveling through the area, we would stop again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Machi's Saloon & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Machi's Saloon & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Machi's Saloon & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.