We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depressing Place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Biltmore Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Tahoe Biltmore Lodge to your Saves list
Tahoe Biltmore Lodge
5 State Route 28, Crystal Bay, NV 89402   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crystal Bay
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Depressing Place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stopped here on a business trip to review for Client visit. Very dirty and quite depressing. Dark and gloomy. Service just barely OK and I would NEVER stop here again. Children playing in the lobby at a very late hour

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    18
    14
    10
    28
See reviews for
18
18
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Made my reservation a week in advance and was told the main building was full and they would put me across the street in their motel. For the cost of $125 for 2 nights stay well OK. I've been here multiple times through the years and have always enjoyed the lake, gambling, food and relaxing here.
2 days before I arrived I blew out my knee and was limping around. Thinking of canceling I decided to go and hang out and just gamble. Upon check in I told the staff of my bad leg, what did she do? Put me across the street on the top floor with plenty of stairs. I was furious but since she said on a Friday afternoon that they were sold out and this was all she had available. 1 hr later I went back to the front desk and another person was working the desk. She moved me after seeing the situation to a level room. Still a ways from the gambling and food of the Biltmore I found the outside burger shack at the nuggett to be closer to where I had been put. Unable to walk across the street my usual 10+ hours of gambling dropped to nothing this trip. I usually drop 3k per trip. Sunday I had a call from a lady claiming to be the manager rudely saying check out is at 11 when I had asked for a late check out. Construction workers staying up late hours drinking and smoking on balcony until all hours. Drug use predominant in a security less environment.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keizer, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Tahoe Biltmore in a hotel room in the main casino building. It was rustic, quaint, clean, and charming. "Clean" is the key word here. It is not chic or hipster by any means. If you are looking for glamour it left with the Rat Pack. You will find clean and secure lodging and a comfortable bed for a price that won't break your budget. The restaurant staff was engaging and the food was spot on for value. It is middle America all the way. We dined well, played in the casino to our advantage, enjoyed good cocktails while playing, and soaked up the non-frantic-historic-Tahoe atmosphere. We both enjoyed ourselves for three nights at the Tahoe Biltmore.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012 via mobile

Just got home from one of the best Italian meals I have had at the Lake. Little known Conrad's in the Tahoe Biltmore Lodge is offering a 3 course Italian meal on Thursday nights for $19.95. Started with the Caesar salad, just the right amount of dressing. I had the chicken parmigiana, tender and perfectly seasoned. Came with side of perfectly cooked speghetti. Clearly Chef Martin has dug out some of the family recipes and has been nice enough to share. The eggplant lasagna had just the right amount of eggplant and was covered with a wonderful meat sauce. If that wasn't enough and delightful piece of Tiramisu
to finish the night. This secret won't last long once the locals start talking.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Where else can you get a room for $30 in Tahoe mid-winter? Clean, LOTS of hot water, and an effective heater. Yes, I miss the fancy bedding of an upscale hotel, but with the money we saved we had an amazing meal across the street at the Crystal Bay Steak and Lobster House (which I HIGHLY recommend).

Room Tip: Cottages are roomy and have walk-in closets (we put the baby's crib in there).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012 via mobile

Conrads once again knocked the ball out of the park. Food was great, hats off to Chef Martin !!! Go before everyone discovers it.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed here again this winter, we got a great deal thanks to the season pass we have, this time we choose to stay at a cottage rather than the regular hotel rooms. The cottages are larger with two double beds and a walk-in closet which made the perfect bedroom for our 9 month old son in his pack-n-play...

Room Tip: Choose a cottage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tahoe Biltmore Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Biltmore Lodge

Address: 5 State Route 28, Crystal Bay, NV 89402
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Crystal Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crystal Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a charming property located on the beautiful North Shore of Lake Tahoe. We have two restaurants, a full service casino and 24 hr light life. We are conveniently located within minutes of Northstar Ski Resort and the fun beach community of Kings Beach. We have room types to fit everybody's budget. Choose from our newly upgraded main hotel rooms, suites and deluxe cottages. Or if you are on a budget check out our Crystal Bay Motel or regular cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tahoe Biltmore Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Biltmore Hotel Crystal Bay
Biltmore Crystal Bay
Tahoe Biltmore Crystal Bay
Tahoe Biltmore Lodge Crystal Bay, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoe Biltmore Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.