We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great history very poor hotel.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cal-Neva Resort Spa and Casino

Save Saved
You added Cal-Neva Resort Spa and Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cal-Neva Resort Spa and Casino
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2 Stateline Road, (Currently closed for renovations), Crystal Bay, NV 89402   |  
Hotel amenities
Sanford, North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Great history very poor hotel.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

How to put this so that you will not this that I am just dumping on this place.
If this hotel were an animal by now someone would have called the SPCA on its owners.
We do not abandon poor defenseless animals and we should not abandon this fine landmark of the Lake Tahoe area but right now this is a great place to visit for a little to see the place but stay somewhere else until the $30,000,000 renovation the new owners plan on completing is finished.
I am not squeamish and have a high tolerance for imperfection in a hotel if it is priced accordingly with its state. That said I have stayed at nicer Motel 6, and Super 8 hotels for less money and nicer rooms.
I booked a Chalet (one of the bungalows) and when I told the hotel staff they were like “they are renting those?”
The bungalows are incredibly cute and charming with a ton of style, over look the lake and look just like they should for structures that were owned by Frank Sinatra in 1960. And they were most likely not touched since.
Ok that is harsh but not too far off the mark. From the looks of the materials used the last renovation to the property was back the 80’s sometime and this property has a lot of deferred maintenance.
It was explained to us by one hotel employee that the hotel until just two weeks before (mid may 2013) the hotel had been in bankruptcy and run in receivership and that the bank that owned the property refused to put any money into the property unless required to by law.
There is no casino in the hotel all live gaming tables and real honest to god slot machines are gone. The game area has video games and pinball machines and the gambling is on video poker machines that when we were there half were broke.
The bar an active area in any hotel was empty except for 4 people two of which were my friend and I.
The gift shop is not open for business you have to ask someone at the front desk to open it for you if you want to buy something but don’t bother they don’t have anything worth buying.
So to sum up, great history, great potential, very poor execution. See my photos to see the repairs needed.
Shoot me a message as well because I would love to go back one day and stay again if this gem could be polished up and restored to its former glory. But I will never return to this place as it is.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    8
    5
    4
    7
See reviews for
8
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Price was right and the view was great. The room was clean but there was lots of deferred maintenance that needs to be addressed. I wouldn't call this place a resort either because of the lack of typical resort amenities. The in-room entertainment was limited to an enhanced cable package with no channel guide services. I didn't see any room service offered and the lack of bell and concieairge services gave the feeling of a motel and not a resort.

I'm not a gambler and we only stayed in the hotel to sleep and breakfast on our last morning so it served our needs. We knew about the reputation when we booked the room so we weren't disappointed by what we got.

Room Tip: Get a high floor (4+) for the best view and ensure that you get a high number room. We stayed in 70...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

OK this is definitely a case of the good, the bad and the ugly!

The Good - EXCELLENT view from a high floor facing the Lake Tahoe.
That's it for the good......

The Bad - To get the BEST lake view - open the window because they are sooooooo dirty.
The furniture ALL needs to be burned for firewood - just beat to heck and had seen
better days back in the 70's!
Every bit of this property has been neglected. I could go on for some time but you
get the idea.

The Ugly - There is virtually no casino. Well to be more accurate - it's ONLY a virtual casino.
It is EXTREMELY small, a few slot machines that were shut at midnight. I am NOT
making that up and the Blackjack machine and craps machine had zero people
playing either at night or the next morning.

Don't expect water in the pool BUT the shell was there, much like EVERYTHING
else at Cal-Neva Resort !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

hotel staffs are not well trained and not friendly.
hetel bed is is in bad shape. It is somehow tilted and felt like slipping down.
breakfast buffet is really bad and difficult to chew.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rocklin
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I don't know where to start. I booked this on a travel website for $144, only to discover the hotel's rate was $81 (nothing they could do, and the front desk agent looked astonished when I told him how much I paid). Honestly, I wouldn't pay $1 to stay again. The hotel is in desperate need of a renovation; not just because it is outdated, but, it is a serious health hazard as well (see pictures). The room has a stench that varies from urine to a musty smell. The bathroom floor and bath tub had black hairs when I first walked in. The ceiling had obvious leaks that were never repaired, and there was an odd orange stain on the wall. We were late to meet friends, so we dropped our bags and left. We woke up the next morning, bugs in the soap dish, tub, and what looks like black mold and a partial attempt to repair major water damage under the windows and the wallpaper was crinkled and bubbled. I have never seen anything like this and was astonished. I was scared about possible black mold and told the front desk upon check out. She called housekeeping regarding the bugs and her response to my comment about ripped out molding and possible black mold, was simply that they are renovating soon. Oh, and, the pool was completely drained with no advanced warning during the reservation process.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The "Lady of the Lake" has slipped; but they are taking very good care of her until the upcoming 30 million renovation takes place this fall. The staff was very accommodating and polite. Our room was very clean and everything was in working order and most of all the unobstructed view of the lake from our 8th floor room looking west was unbelievable. We feel that if one can look beyond the "Lady" being tired and know she is going come roaring back will have a great time here at the Calneva.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor(7-9) facing west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

From the second I entered this disgusting establishment I was horrified. The service was horrible. The room was gross. The hallways were gross. It's not even a casino. No tables just some slots. It was 90' in the room and the air conditioning was broken. The paints peeling off the walls. I would rather sleep in my car than in this €¥%~ hole!

Room Tip: Go anywhere else!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crystal Bay
Restaurant, Poo...
Show More
18.6 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#2 of 8 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
Luxury, Restaur...
Show More
7.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Free Parking, R...
Show More
18.5 mi away
MontBleu Resort Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
2.0 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 7 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
Restaurant, Poo...
Show More
3.0 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 7 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cal-Neva Resort Spa and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cal-Neva Resort Spa and Casino

Address: 2 Stateline Road, (Currently closed for renovations), Crystal Bay, NV 89402
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Crystal Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cal-Neva Resort Spa and Casino 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Cal-Neva Resort Spa and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cal-Neva Hotel Crystal Bay
Cal Neva Lodge
Cal-Neva Resort Spa And Casino Crystal Bay, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cal-Neva Resort Spa and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.