We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, great view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cal-Neva Resort Spa and Casino

Save Saved
You added Cal-Neva Resort Spa and Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Cal-Neva Resort Spa and Casino
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2 Stateline Road, (Currently closed for renovations), Crystal Bay, NV 89402   |  
Hotel amenities
Napa, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good price, great view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Price was right and the view was great. The room was clean but there was lots of deferred maintenance that needs to be addressed. I wouldn't call this place a resort either because of the lack of typical resort amenities. The in-room entertainment was limited to an enhanced cable package with no channel guide services. I didn't see any room service offered and the lack of bell and concieairge services gave the feeling of a motel and not a resort.

I'm not a gambler and we only stayed in the hotel to sleep and breakfast on our last morning so it served our needs. We knew about the reputation when we booked the room so we weren't disappointed by what we got.

Room Tip: Get a high floor (4+) for the best view and ensure that you get a high number room. We stayed in 70...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    8
    5
    4
    7
See reviews for
8
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, AZ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

OK this is definitely a case of the good, the bad and the ugly!

The Good - EXCELLENT view from a high floor facing the Lake Tahoe.
That's it for the good......

The Bad - To get the BEST lake view - open the window because they are sooooooo dirty.
The furniture ALL needs to be burned for firewood - just beat to heck and had seen
better days back in the 70's!
Every bit of this property has been neglected. I could go on for some time but you
get the idea.

The Ugly - There is virtually no casino. Well to be more accurate - it's ONLY a virtual casino.
It is EXTREMELY small, a few slot machines that were shut at midnight. I am NOT
making that up and the Blackjack machine and craps machine had zero people
playing either at night or the next morning.

Don't expect water in the pool BUT the shell was there, much like EVERYTHING
else at Cal-Neva Resort !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Crystal Bay hotels

Seoul, South Korea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

hotel staffs are not well trained and not friendly.
hetel bed is is in bad shape. It is somehow tilted and felt like slipping down.
breakfast buffet is really bad and difficult to chew.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rocklin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I don't know where to start. I booked this on a travel website for $144, only to discover the hotel's rate was $81 (nothing they could do, and the front desk agent looked astonished when I told him how much I paid). Honestly, I wouldn't pay $1 to stay again. The hotel is in desperate need of a renovation; not just because it is outdated, but, it is a serious health hazard as well (see pictures). The room has a stench that varies from urine to a musty smell. The bathroom floor and bath tub had black hairs when I first walked in. The ceiling had obvious leaks that were never repaired, and there was an odd orange stain on the wall. We were late to meet friends, so we dropped our bags and left. We woke up the next morning, bugs in the soap dish, tub, and what looks like black mold and a partial attempt to repair major water damage under the windows and the wallpaper was crinkled and bubbled. I have never seen anything like this and was astonished. I was scared about possible black mold and told the front desk upon check out. She called housekeeping regarding the bugs and her response to my comment about ripped out molding and possible black mold, was simply that they are renovating soon. Oh, and, the pool was completely drained with no advanced warning during the reservation process.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The "Lady of the Lake" has slipped; but they are taking very good care of her until the upcoming 30 million renovation takes place this fall. The staff was very accommodating and polite. Our room was very clean and everything was in working order and most of all the unobstructed view of the lake from our 8th floor room looking west was unbelievable. We feel that if one can look beyond the "Lady" being tired and know she is going come roaring back will have a great time here at the Calneva.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor(7-9) facing west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

From the second I entered this disgusting establishment I was horrified. The service was horrible. The room was gross. The hallways were gross. It's not even a casino. No tables just some slots. It was 90' in the room and the air conditioning was broken. The paints peeling off the walls. I would rather sleep in my car than in this €¥%~ hole!

Room Tip: Go anywhere else!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We left at 8:30 the night we checked in. There was no airconditioning but they said that it would cool off and that windows could be opened. Howver the windows in the rooms do not have screens. They were nice about refunding our credit card and letting us out of our reservations. The rooms were nice enough, and clean. The bar, lobby, and casino area (not really a casino anymore) had air conditioning and for $40 more you can move to a room where the airconditioning works. Advice; go down the road two miles and stay in Kings Beach or Tahoe Vista.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cal-Neva Resort Spa and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cal-Neva Resort Spa and Casino

Also Known As:
Cal-Neva Hotel
Cal-Neva Hotel Crystal Bay
Cal Neva Hotel
Cal Neva Lodge
Cal-Neva Resort Spa And Casino Crystal Bay, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Address: 2 Stateline Road, (Currently closed for renovations), Crystal Bay, NV 89402
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Crystal Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cal-Neva Resort Spa and Casino 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Cal-Neva Resort Spa and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cal-Neva Resort Spa and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.