We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50's classic steakhouse vibe - order the table side dishes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Bay Steak & Lobster House

Crystal Bay Steak & Lobster House
State Route 28, Crystal Bay, NV
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Crystal Bay Casino
Silicon Valley
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“50's classic steakhouse vibe - order the table side dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place feels like you've walked back in time and you might find the rat pack at a nearby table - but the food is surprisingly good! If you stick to the traditional steak house options you will not be disappointed. Also, this is one of the few places I've seen that will do table side cooking - ask them to make certain dishes table side - steak diane, caesar salad and my personal favorite - bananas foster! You'll get a show plus good food. Wine list is also good with a reasonable range of options. service can feel a bit slow if you are in a rush but if you have time, order a few table side dishes and enjoy! We've been many times and have yet to have a bad meal as far as steak options go.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    2
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Incline Village, Nevada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Used to be good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This used to be our favorite place in North Lake Tahoe. But the last time we were there the steaks were really bad so we haven't been back since. Nice atmosphere but too many people from the casino wander in in shorts or whatever.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI
Top Contributor
812 reviews 812 reviews
467 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 217 cities Reviews in 217 cities
320 helpful votes 320 helpful votes
“Super elegant dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a throw back to an elegant dining experience that you would expect in a las vegas gourmet restaurant. There is table side service for excellent Caesar salad , bananas flambee, etc. Food is top notch. Waitstaff is very professional, supervised
by Luis, who is on top of everything. Shrimp scampi appetizer, Caesar salad, lamb chops, peppercorn steak and bacon wrapped pork loin with maple glaze are our favorites and are delicious.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“NYE dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The menu had 3 choices for entrees. We chose the lobster. It was the best lobster I can remember ever having! All the food was excellent. For some reason our server was very poor. He cleared the table after the appetizer & salad. Asked what our desert choice was. After he left I realised tha t he had forgotten our entees. Flagged down another server to tell him. He then was very aloof. Gave us very small amounts of champange while other patrons were getting full glasses. I did overhear him telling another table how long he has been in the business. His service was very sub par for us but it didn't take away from the excellent food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nortre Califonkneeonee
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Total Surprise of Delights to Tastebuds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Crystal Bay is a small worn Casino where we went to see Jackie Greene for New Years. Heard restaurant was do-able so we went with reservations of what we would get, and I was even more leery with the no view overdecorated dungeon motif.

Total unexpected surprise. Table made Caesar salad was perfect. Wife's New York steak was all you wanted, tender, tasty with nice sauce. I had the special Chilean Sea Bass which I would have to go back years for a better fish dish. Waiter recommended it and he was right. Fish was baked with macadamia nut crust and dressed with pomegranate seeds with a light sauce.

Our waiter was great who later came by during the second half of the show saw my wife and they chit chatted about Jackie Greene and how lucky they are to get him every New Years. She said I must have given him a big tip the way he acted- I did worth every dime- ended up being the best of the North Shore trip.

Jackie was Great, Gambling was no win but will come back for the Food!!!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Bay Steak & Lobster House also viewed

Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Crystal Bay, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 

Been to Crystal Bay Steak & Lobster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Bay Steak & Lobster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.