We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try Another Place” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nugget Hotel by Carefree Inns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nugget Hotel by Carefree Inns to your Saves list
Nugget Hotel by Carefree Inns
651 North Stewart Street, Carson City, NV 89701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Carson City
Cedarville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Try Another Place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The room was ok but not cleaned. Junk and lots of dirt behind the furniture. They call it a hotel but it is a motel and can use some fixing of the stairs and the doors. Not owned by Nugget. Door required a shoulder push to get it to close and lock. Concrete on stairs needs maintenance. The TV was really tiny for a hotel or motel. Smallest I ever saw but it worked well. I would rather pay a bit more and get a clean room. I didn't see and bugs and the sheets were clean.

Room Tip: Upstairs room advised but watch your step going up and down. I won't be back until I hear the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
5
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I booked a room here for 2 nights through Expedia (and I will never use Expedia again). The rate was for 29.99 a night...........I called the hotel (not a hotel by any means, but a motel, and a crappy one at that) to verify with them that pets are ok and that there aren't any additional pet fees (prior to booking the room through Expedia)....and pets were ok and there were no additional fees for pets. When I arrived to check in the desk clerk told me only 2 rooms are used for pets, and they are on the first floor , and the rooms on the first floor are at a higher rate of 39.99 a night............and as I was tired I didn't argue- I wanted to rest. I also asked for a nonsmoking room and they said the room was nonsmoking yet it had a strong odor of cigarette smoke in it- enough to give me a headache. I went to the desk to request a different room and of course wasn't given one as there are only 2 rooms designated for pets here and so I wanted to cancel my reservation for tomorrow night then and was told by another desk clerk that I had to contact Expedia to cancel. So I called Expedia and they gave me the runaround also saying I had to check out first before they issue a cancellation..............I never heard of such stupidity. I want a refund before I leave here, and not have to come back later to get it........how ridiculous!

Room Tip: find someplace else to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I've stayed in this hotel 4 times since 2010, and each stay has been pleasant. The property is quiet. Have never been disturbed by noisy guests. The rooms are clean and well maintained. Rates are generally around $40 a night. Close to downtown, casinos and even a grocery store across the street.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I have been here twice, 2009 and 2011, both stays were ok. The place has it's own charm. Sure it's not fancy and rooms are different. TVs, beds, etc. are bit old, but they work. Front side first floor is ok. I did't like the second floor room that much.

At least on 2011 the lady handled our late arrival without reservation well.

I'm not sure if I would take children with me. But friends on budget? Sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Checked orbitz and it had cheap rooms ($49) so we checked in. Rooms were surprisingly nice and clean. Would recommend it if you're just there to gamble

Room Tip: Stay on the 2nd floor. People upstairs sound like elephants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

This Hotel is not very well maintained. Carson City is not very big, any of the hotels could be considered a good location. Other Hotels at a similar price would be a better choice. I got a higher price quote when I called the Hotel direct. I got a better price through Expedia. I was in a non-smoking room that smelled like cigerette smoke. Bathroom is Motor Home small. Refergerator had let overs from a previous customer. The bed pillows are as hard as you could ever imagine.

Neighborhood recommendations: Since Carson City is not a big city, any of the Hotels in Carson City are relatively close to all you would want to see. The area around the Fandango Casino seemed like the newest, but all the Carso City Hotel locations are ok.

Dining: The Buffet in the Fandango Casino id great. They usually have a low promotional price during the week.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

We are in our 60's and frequently travel and stay in Nevada, especially Carson City. We recently spent two separate nights, about four days apart at this motel. I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms and with the courteous staff of Marlene and Jody. We have used three other downtown motels in the past and will be staying here in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nugget Hotel by Carefree Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nugget Hotel by Carefree Inns

Address: 651 North Stewart Street, Carson City, NV 89701
Location: United States > Nevada > Carson City
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Carson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nugget Hotel by Carefree Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nugget Hotel by Carefree Inns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.