We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Hills Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carson City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Desert Hills Motel
Save Saved
You added Desert Hills Motel to your Saves list
1010 South Carson Street, Carson City, NV 89701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Carson City
The Woodlands, Tx
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

The rooms are back off the main street so, it's quiet. The rooms have been updated. It has a fridge and microwave but no coffee pot. The office does sometimes. There is a nice area to sit outside and a place for dogs. It is close to the capitol (2 blocks.) The grounds are beautiful. Great value.

Room Tip: If someone is in the room above you, it is obvious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garden Valley, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

We have stayed here several times in the past years and missed about five years until this Thanksgiving. They are still the same clean, friendly motel. Rooms are fairly large for a motel, very clean, our stay was very quiet even tho the motel was full up. The dog "yard" area was very clean. And the best place for a great lunch or dinner is Red's across the street. We will be back to this motel and I recommend it to everybody.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

We had stayed here for one night 2 years ago and thought "what a nice place, we'll come back if wer'e in the area". Well I guess a lot can happen in 2 years. The room was just ok, old but it seemed clean until we used the bathroom. The initial burst of water from the shower was brown, if you don't place the shower curtain in just the right place you have a wet floor, when you wipe up the wet floor you get black towels. Just when was this floor last washed??? They also have long term residents who live on the second floor of the motel. We had one over our heads who appeared to enjoy stomping feet or moving furniture, we're not quite sure which. Like the other reviewers said, there is an excellent restaurant across the street, well worth the visit but stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

This is that kind of motel you hope to find when you are on a road trip and just want cozy, quiet, affordable comfort and even a touch of that roadside motel charm. Like the previous reviewer, I've been there several times and the people have (even through manager changes) always made you feel welcome. Pet friendly too. The restaurant directly across the street is a must see if not eat. Historic, with lots of art and a broad menu and impressive bar. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Nevadas, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2008

They allow pets which is nice. The rooms are not fancy, but very clean, comfortable and reasonable (much nicer than Motel 6, Super 8, etc.). We have stayed here several times, and will stay again. The people at the front desk have always been quite nice. Good restaurant across the street.

  • Liked — allow pets, yet rooms are immaculate
  • Disliked — prefer four star hotels, but they don't take pets
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Hills Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Hills Motel

Address: 1010 South Carson Street, Carson City, NV 89701
Location: United States > Nevada > Carson City
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Carson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 261

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Hills Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.