We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST Chicken Fried Steak on Earth!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Basque Deli

Villa Basque Deli
730 Basque Way, Carson City, NV 89706-7936
775-884-4451
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 164 Restaurants in Carson City
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Reno, NV
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
“The BEST Chicken Fried Steak on Earth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I haven't eaten here in over a year, so this weekend turned out to be a great time to come back here. It's my BF's birthday, so after receiving his good morning surprise, what better way to continue a morning then with breakfast at the Villa Basque Deli! This I will have to say is the best breakfast place in Carson City. There are many options here for breakfast ranging from breakfast burritos slathered in gravy to omelets and the star of the menu, my opinion anyway, is the chicken fried steak.

As we enter, its a seat yourself situation, so just grab wherever you like. Some of the servers have been here for decades. This seems to be quite the Carson City social gathering spot. Everybody seems to know everybody and hellos are passed between tables. Service is quick and efficient. The chicken fried steak ($9.50) comes with choice of potato, toast and eggs. We both ordered the same. Upon first bite, its OMG! (eyes rolling) YES, this is what I remember of the taste! That gravy is off the planet good! The hashbrowns came slathered in gravy too. As a bonus, the gravy has bits of house made chorizo in to too!. We both finished our plates, and that was about the limit of food I could stuff into me for breakfast. You need to come here if you are ever in Carson City and try the chicken fried steak. Now we'll go back to his house and rest with full stomachs.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Rico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Breakfast or lunch you will find great taste. My favorite is anything with Pete's hot link churizo, eggs and churizo or a salad and churizo. Best fresh orange juice in town! This is a small family owned deli with an international flair. You can find tea, olive oil besides churizo to take home with you.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hit or Miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I'm just not as excited about this place as some of the other reviewers. I do like their lamb sandwich and the mexican offerings are pretty good. I especially like their fresh sausage that you can buy for home. But I find a lack of consistency in the food and the service.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A must-visit while in Carson City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

All the rave reviews are true. This is a must-visit for Carson City.

Our server was terrific, really helpful, humoring us as we took our time deciding what to order. She brought us a sample of chorizo on bread, which was delicious. I ordered the lamb dip sandwich with rich broth for dipping, and a little bowl of Basque beans, a bit like chili with meat in a yummy sauce, though not spicy. Portions are enormous.

You can buy the chorizo to take home - fresh or frozen. We were staying with family in town, so I bought a pound of fresh chorizo to grill for an appetizer for a family dinner, and it was a hit. "What is this and where did you get it?" asked the locals, and we were happy to tell them.

There's also a whole wall of goodies to shop - olive oils, vinegars, teas... but this place really is all about the chorizo, perfectly seasoned, not greasy. I wish I'd bought a frozen brick of chorizo to stash in my carry-on the day we flew home.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Regional cuisine, and fast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

If you like to sample the regional cuisine when you travel, don't miss a chance to eat delicious and authentic Basque food in Carson City - Basque roots run deep in the local history. I was just passing through in a hurry, and was pleased to find that Villa Basque is very near the College Parkway freeway entrance. I ordered the Basque chorizo sandwich with Ortega chiles and was impressed by how quickly they could split, grill and serve it; and it was very tasty -- mildly spicy, and not greasy at all. The green salad that came with it was standard cheap iceberg-redcabbage-carrot mix but the house dressing served on the side - olive oil and red wine vinegar - was simply delectable; I wound up dipping my sandwich in it. It made a big meal, too; my only regret was that I didn't have anyone along to share it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Basque Deli also viewed

 

Been to Villa Basque Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Basque Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.