We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay if you can tolerate the smokey casino” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gold Dust West Carson City

Save Saved
You added Gold Dust West Carson City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gold Dust West Carson City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2171 East William St, Carson City, NV 89701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 hotels in Carson City
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A nice place to stay if you can tolerate the smokey casino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 1 naught as we passed through Carson City on our way home to CA. I chose it for it's good Tripadvisor reviews and fair price and we were not disappointed.
Upon check-in, the woman at the check-in desk was very friendly and helpful. She asked if we had a room preference and when I told her as far away from the smoke as possible, she put us on the second floor, down the hall, away from the casino. We never had any issues with smoke in that location. She was great about explaining the hours for the pool and the 2 restaurants onsite. We even dealt with a few other people at the check-in desk on different occasions and they were all friendly and helpful.
The room was clean, if a touch dated. I don't need things to be brand new, just well maintained and clean which this place definitely was. The beds were comfy and the bathroom roomy and bright. The water pressure in the shower was FANTASTIC!! I didn't want to get out.
The pool and hot tub seemed nice, but it was hard to enjoy them as there were about a dozen young kids getting loud and going crazy out there even though it was after 9pm. I don't know if they all belonged to the 4 adults that were there, but it didn't matter as they weren't doing anything to control them. Judging by the bottles of rum and coke they left by the side of the hot tub, I suspect they were too lit to notice how obnoxious their kids were being. We were tired from a long day of driving and really wanted to sit and relax in the hottub, but it was tough to do so with it filled to the brim with young children using it as a swimming pool. There was also stuff floating in it... hard to tell just what since it was dark out, but we kept skimming the bits of flotsam out as it swirled near us and didn't worry to much about it. I never said anything to the hotel staff about the wild kids so I don't hold it against them.
There are 2 restaurants onsite, one Mexican and one American. We ate at the Mexican place for dinner (it's open until 9). It had a good menu and everything we tried was tasty. Portions were huge and prices were in line with other Mexican restaurants we've been too. The cafe looked good, although we only ate there for breakfast. If you book your room online everyone in the room gets a free breakfast in the cafe. You can choose from a limited menu, but there was plenty of food and it all tasted good.
If we find ourselves in Carson City again, we would certainly choose this hotel again. Perhaps we will have a better pool/hot tub experience on the next go around.

Room Tip: If you don't like smoke, ask to be on the second floor, down the hall away from the casino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    44
    16
    5
    8
See reviews for
29
17
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caruthers, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff was friendly. They were able to help us out when we were looking for a room that would accommodate our family in the middle of the night. The rate was fair and the suite had plenty of room for a family.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgas, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and quite frankly we regretted it. Although this is a nice hotel, reasonable but old rooms, nice outdoor pool and a very nice breakfast cafe the thing that lets this place down big style, are the hotel staff. At check in, we were dealt with by a very unfriendly check in clerk, who could not break a smile and answered our questions with a yes or a no. The casino staff were rude and one member of the bar staff was so rude I had to complain to the manager. The issue was over getting a drink. Drinks are free in the Casino, so long as you are at the machines. Where we were, no waiting staff came over, so we were forced to go to the bar ourselves. As we approached the bar, I asked for 2 drinks, the woman refused the order, as we were not playing the machines. I explained the situation, but she still refused and wanted to charged $10 for two drinks. We put money into one of the machines as the bar and asked for the drinks and then she insisted we played the money before issuing the drinks. We have never been spoken to like this at any Casino in Nevada. We put $10 in the machine and we were then completely ignored. This was the final straw, so I went to Reception and complained about the bar staff to the Manager. The situation was resolved, but quite frankly I vowed never to set foot in such an inhospitable place again. We had a wedding in Carson City a month later and we warned all our guests not to use this hotel and non of them did.

The unhappy Reception staff and abysmal bar staff were so bad, we avoided this place. My advice, if you want good service find somewhere else to go and play the Casino's downtown, where they bend over backwards for your custom.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As a nonsmoker, what the heck was I doing in a casino hotel anyway, right? But I found the room comfortable, the free wi-fi surprisingly fast, and the free breakfast delicious. Plus the waitresses in the coffee shop were amazingly friendly. Didn't like having to walk through a smoky casino to get to breakfast, but it was just one blip in an otherwise great experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hosts and people of this hotel were very polite and treated us
great respect we have been to this place now 4 years in a row to
bowling tournaments and other things they offer Would recommend
them.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My son and I were on a road trip and were looking for a hotel close to Virginia City. We continued on US 50 and we both saw the hotel. the bowling sign also got us to turn around. The rooms are very clean and the price was not ridiculous, in fact it is well worth the money. There was a free breakfast available, which was very good. The restaurant staff, cleanliness, and food were great (both b'fast and dinner).
We did bowl for the 2 nights that we were there and had fun!
All of the staff were very pleasant and helpful. I really liked the soaps and lotions that they provided, it blows away the "cheapie" soap and lotion. Add in the bonus that they are centrally located. My son and I will definitely stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We go back to when the SP Tournament was being bowled at Starlight Bowl in Reno. Now that it is at the Gold Dust West in Carson City was a great move. Everyone there is very friendly, like one big family.
The rooms are very spacious and clean, and have been up-graded.
The food in the coffee shop and the Ole Ole Restaurant are very good places to go. The prices are not high and the food is great for what you want to eat.
As a bowler where else can you go and park you vehicle, check into your room, go to the bowl, then go and eat and then gamble in the casino, and don't have to move you vehicle.
A great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gold Dust West Carson City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Dust West Carson City

Address: 2171 East William St, Carson City, NV 89701
Location: United States > Nevada > Carson City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 hotels in Carson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gold Dust West Carson City 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Gold Dust West Carson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Dust West Carson City Hotel Carson City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gold Dust West Carson City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.