We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less Smoke, More Mirrors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gold Dust West Carson City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Gold Dust West Carson City to your Saves list
Gold Dust West Carson City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2171 East William St, Carson City, NV 89701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Carson City
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Less Smoke, More Mirrors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Because Carson City is the closest big town to our home, we often travel there for one reason or another. And because we prefer to take our two small dogs along we usually stay in a pet friendly hotel. We do, however, frequent the Gold Dust West for the best steak and eggs breakfast in town. Recently we came through Carson City without the pets and decided to try the hotel out. We were given a room on the third floor of the hotel's southeast wing and found it clean, spacious, and well-appointed. And evidently the management is heeding Trip Advisor reviews concerning smoke. According to the manager the number of smoking rooms has been dropped from 25 to 10 percent, and carpets (the main culprit in smoke odor per the manager) are being replaced on a major scale. Lobby staff was cordial and responsive. Whenever we visit Carson City without our pets you can be sure we will check into the Gold Dust West.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    50
    22
    5
    9
See reviews for
33
21
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cottonwood, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The rate was a great value. Both check-in and check-out were quick with friendly, helpful staff. Enjoyed the small casino area, although it was a bit smoky in the evening, which had a variety of slot machines. We signed up for the free Gold card that offered some free slot play and other benefits like a tasty prime rib dinner in exchange for points earned during slot play. Fun! The entire facility was clean, well maintained, and nicely organized. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Friendly staff, immaculately clean & nicely appointed rooms, a nice pool & hot tub, good food / drinks & an amazing value! The casino is small but has a good variety of slot machines & a sports book. It was also nice to have the option of a snack bar on site

Room Tip: We had previously stayed in a junior suite but this trip had a 1st floor standard king room which wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Affordable rates even during the Labor Day weekend. Room was clean with plenty of towels. A bit smokey at the third level but bearable. Parking was close and easy and the breakfast at The Grille was very good. Would definetly return to GDW.

Room Tip: Third floor isn't as smokey. Bring a candle or room spray. Don't know if you can open window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotts Valley
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

A very nice room with a large well-appointed bathroom. The staff was helpful and friendly. The drinks and food were reasonably priced and the service was excellent.There is the smell of cigarette smoke pretty much throughout the property. Carson City is worth a visit and GDW is worth a stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

For the most part the hotel is clean and quaint. Not a very large casino. bowling alley is nice. Only down fall and the reason we will not stay again, the room and bedding smells like cigarette smoke. We had a non-smoking room ,but you wouldn't have known that. The smell made it very difficult to sleep.

Room Tip: Bring Febreez
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stopped at the GDW 8/9/12 and spent the night.Fun little casino very good food and service. Want a drink? Just ask.Very nice cafe (super prime rib for $7.77). Very nice people in casino,cafe and hotel.

Room Tip: They could have spent more time with the vacumn and looking under the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gold Dust West Carson City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Dust West Carson City

Address: 2171 East William St, Carson City, NV 89701
Location: United States > Nevada > Carson City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Carson City
#5 Business Hotel in Carson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gold Dust West Carson City 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gold Dust West Carson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Dust West Carson City Hotel Carson City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gold Dust West Carson City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.