We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, clean, convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pioneer Motel

Pioneer Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carson City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pioneer Motel
Save
You added Pioneer Motel to your Saves list
907 South Carson Street, Carson City, NV 89701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Carson City
Gladstone, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cheap, clean, convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed here on our last road trip through Oregon, Nevada, and California. Very inexpensive ($37.00 with tax). We just needed a place to stop for the night and the price fit the bill. The guy at the front desk was helpful, suggesting places to eat. Wouldn't be a destination place, but I'd stay again if we were in need of a place to stop for the night. There's a little casino across the street that has large comp drinks They had a pool, but it wasn't operating when we stayed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
6
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I have stayed here each summer during fishing season. The rooms are clean, the managers are really nice, and the rooms are priced very affordable. Last year my son and grandson met up with me to do some fishing and they also stayed here. After their stay, my grandson remarked that it was a really great place!............not too bad coming from a 9-year old who has also stayed at the Madonna Inn and the Apple Farm in San Luis Obispo a number of times.

I've tried many places in Carson City and this is my preference.

Room Tip: Reserve ahead and specify what your likes are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Unfotunatelly when we woken up in the morning our bodies were full of spot.
The room was ok, also it didn’t looks so clean. The owner, a kind girl from Philippines, is nice and helpful. So when we come back to Italy two days later with a lot of bites and we were itking all over, we weren’t so happy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Couldnt figure out why i kept seeing black or brown stains on my pillow case or why i felt bugs crawling on my face in the night...had only been in the bed from ten pm until one am and got up to discover the bugs crawling on the sheets, in the pillow cases, and all over the mattress pad. I left immediately with my husband. We will not be sleeping there again and will be going back first thing to get our money back. Sleep won't be coming to me anytime soon. I am really ANGERED and DISGUSTED over the fact that I woke at one AM to find the bed crawling with bed bugs. Stripped all of the bedding and continued to find more. Was only been in the room a few hours. Like I said...we were treatedto nice by thethe people whoto work there whento we checked in but...Nice people won't make up for horrendous conditions. Will never stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Had a one-night stay at this charming mid-century motel. Rooms are kept up very nicely and the bed, linens, and pillows were much better than I'd expect at a low-budget property. Only negatives was the fairly loud air conditioner and lack of wi-fi. Still, I'd stay again without hesitation.

Why stay at a glorified jail-cell (Motel 6) when you can stay here, and be in the middle of town, for less?

Room Tip: Away from the main street is probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

I work in the area in the Construction Industry. This is a great basic motel. The rooms are clean, comfortable beds, perfectly located with many dining choices, stores, casinos, etc. Within close distance. The staff is very friendly. I don't notice much road noise.......overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

The Pioneer Motel is located smack in the middle of downtown Carson, within walking distance of several casinos (but then isn't EVERY motel in Nevada within walking distance of several casinos). There's an AM/PM across the street for your late night snacking needs, the capital building is two blocks away, the governors mansion is just up the hill, and there are plenty of places nearby to eat (the BBQ place around the corner is quite good). So it's a pretty sweet location.

The motel is a bit run down - dont get me wrong, it's clean and functional, but if your looking for high class decor, head on down the road. Me, I revel in these retro vintage motels and tend to shun the slick, modern motels and hotels - so this was right up my alley. As for the actual room, pretty good sized - could easily accomidate two people without bumping elbows. The shower is a bit on the small side, but having been to Europe several times, it's downright palacial compared to those showers. The hot and cold water responded instantly, but the water pressure was a bit low - but then I have very high standards for my water pressure.

Speaking of water, there is a small swimming pool in the center of the complex - although I didn't use it, so I cant attest to it's quality. It seemed clean and well maintained to me at a quick glance. Other amenity include cable (but then find a motel that doesn't have HBO), continental breakfast (although I cant attest to the quality, since I left before the office was open), a guest laundry and an ice machine (across the way at the parent hotel). They also include shampoo with the showers - a rare thing with motels these days it seems.

I should warn you - there is no wireless internet. Well, kind of. The slick hotel across the street is owned by the same family, so the Pioneer piggybacks on their network. Be sure to ask for the access code when you check in (or find one of the many unsecured networks floating about in the area). Also, the Motel is located right on the main drag, US Highway 395 - so if your a light sleeper, expect to toss and turn all night. I got a room towards the back and the room was quite enough for me.

My single cost me 50 dollars (plus a couple of bucks tax and fees) on the fourth of July weekend, so that's probably the upper end of their rates. Off season or not on a weekend and you could probably get a room for less. Still, it's clean and does everything I require from a motel. I would stay here again if the chance arose.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Pioneer Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Motel

Address: 907 South Carson Street, Carson City, NV 89701
Location: United States > Nevada > Carson City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Carson City
Number of rooms: 35

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pioneer Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.