We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average room and Breakfast for a bargain price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Plaza Hotel Carson City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Plaza Hotel Carson City to your Saves list
The Plaza Hotel Carson City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 South Carson Street, Carson City, NV 89701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Carson City
FREMONT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average room and Breakfast for a bargain price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Decent hotel with standard amenities and standard routine daily breakfast menu items (limited vegetarian options like bread and cereal only). Rooms were clean, daily towel and cleaning service provided.Could hardly connect to internet from within room during course of stay as room was located at end of passage. Close to eateries, ample parking. Had microwave and min-fridge in room and helpful staff. Although 1 kid did face bug-bite on leg observed last day of stay.

Room Tip: Choose rooms in middle (if need wifi).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    27
    25
    6
    13
See reviews for
16
22
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We needed a place for two nights near Lake Tahoe and Carson city seemed like a reasonable choice in order to avoid the high prices and rush of South Lake Tahoe region. Thanks to this hotel we were reminded of our choice every minute of our stay. The rooms were terrible enough to be noticed unless one spends only a few drunk hours in them. The carpet was saturated with dust and stains which made the bed sheets look comparatively cleaner, if you can ignore the odd spots or stains. Handling the pillows and pounding them to shape before going to bed was a humbling experience. There was a separate water spout for drinking water, I presume. Little did we realize what a blessing it was in disguise. The water was so disgusting to taste that we drank almost none of it while undertaking our hike the first day and hence had to carry very little. Well, one could not complain that we weren't warned before as the sink had a huge leak and created a pool of water below every time we opened the tap.
The toiletries were of such poor quality that we had to buy some from outside in order to get through. The two queen bed room had only two towels and even after our asking we got a fresh pair only the next day when we were supposed to get a change any way. The TV looked like a fantastic piece of antique addition to the almost torn down room till we made the fatal mistake of turning it on to catch a world cup game. While the game was on we had to keep ourselves updated with the score on our cell phones as it was impossible to read it from the screen. Oh and we were using our mobile data all through out. I would have definitely reviewed the complimentary internet as well, had I been able to connect with it.
The best part was the breakfast which was a mad rush. The waffles were in such short supply that they started rationing it. The English muffins toaster demanded constant attention if you wanted to actually get the end result. The freezing cold boiled eggs were at a premium. The coffee was tasteless enough to not want and the non-dairy creamer (no half and half or any standard creamer) was an added incentive to stay away from the coffee. To top it all, you just needed to grab an extra cup of yogurt (two instead of one) for the staff to start giving you the look and passing snide remarks like "Now we know how we are running out of yogurt". To look at the bright side we ate very less and hence were light enough to undertake some strenuous hikes and enjoy a nice meal at the end of the day.
In summary, unless you want a completely wretched experience and are looking for a worthless way to spend your money, probably even a developed campsite nearby would be better.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Here for a softball tournament, the room was excellent and the service was great. Anything you need just give he front desk a call and they help you instantly. The location is great, especially the 24-hour convenience store right across the street. I will definitely recommend this hotel to people looking to stay in Carson City. I will be here again, thank Carson Plaza !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Room was clean, beds and pillows comfortable, sheets, pillow cases and towels were changed daily, staff helpful and friendly. These are some of the good points.

Rooms are old and in desperate need of upgrade. Carpet had old gum embedded in the aisle from door to bathroom. Light fixture over chair was a bare bulb, no shade. Black out drapes had to be 20 years old as they were so thin they let the light leak through anyway.

Shuttle van was available, when we inquired about a ride 2 miles down the street we were told at check in there was a $5.00 charge for use of shuttle. When we called for a ride later a different desk clerk said it was a $10.00 charge, when we said the other clerk earlier stated it was $5, we were told the other clears didn't know what they were talking about.

Hotel is right across the street from Carson Station Casino, pretty good coffee shop/restaurant there. There is a lot in walking distance, food wise, as well as the nugget, and state government buildings. A great little saloon next door "Tinders" for a nightcap.

Ok to stay here if you don't expect a lot and just need a place to sleep for a descent price.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenni37
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I'm the kind of gal who likes a bargain. I would really enjoy staying at upscale hotels but I am too practical to spend all my money on something that I don't get to keep. If a hotel is clean and safe and comfortable and reasonably priced, I'm in. This hotel fit the bill. It's not fancy but it did have a microwave and fridge in the room. I recommend Red's 395 Grill which is a five minute walk from the hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I have stayed at this location twice before and I have always found it 'ok'. This time the only redeeming factor was the price. The beds were hard. The security was questionable as the front desk attendant rarely turned around to see who was entering the building when I returned (often late at night). Whilst the continental breakfast was free, we were made to feel uncomfortable by the attendant, who quite literally threw a plate of food onto the table in front of us. A stark contrast to the service I have received everywhere else in the USA and sufficiently unpleasant to make me cancel a return visit the following week.

Room Tip: Stay across the street at the Wyndham Carson Station. Better beds, friendlier staff and a great litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Decent hotel with friendly front desk service, ok breakfast and quite nice rooms, with good quality beds and a bath tub. The room was clean and I'd say you get your money's worth. Apart from that very average on all fronts, but never below standard. Remember that it can get cold out here at night, preventive heating of the rooms (which have a high ceiling) may be necessary if you don't want to get out in the middle of the night. There's a nice pub up the same street for good food and drinks.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Plaza Hotel Carson City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel Carson City

Address: 801 South Carson Street, Carson City, NV 89701
Location: United States > Nevada > Carson City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Carson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Plaza Hotel Carson City 2*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carson City Plaza is the largest Hotel in Carson City and centrally located for convenient walking distance to many local Restaurants and Museums.The Plaza Event Center caters to Business and Social Events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Plaza Hotel Carson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Carson City
Plaza Carson City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plaza Hotel Carson City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.