We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for the Money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Plaza Hotel Carson City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Plaza Hotel Carson City to your Saves list
The Plaza Hotel Carson City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 South Carson Street, Carson City, NV 89701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Carson City
Belmont, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Ok for the Money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Room was clean, beds and pillows comfortable, sheets, pillow cases and towels were changed daily, staff helpful and friendly. These are some of the good points.

Rooms are old and in desperate need of upgrade. Carpet had old gum embedded in the aisle from door to bathroom. Light fixture over chair was a bare bulb, no shade. Black out drapes had to be 20 years old as they were so thin they let the light leak through anyway.

Shuttle van was available, when we inquired about a ride 2 miles down the street we were told at check in there was a $5.00 charge for use of shuttle. When we called for a ride later a different desk clerk said it was a $10.00 charge, when we said the other clerk earlier stated it was $5, we were told the other clears didn't know what they were talking about.

Hotel is right across the street from Carson Station Casino, pretty good coffee shop/restaurant there. There is a lot in walking distance, food wise, as well as the nugget, and state government buildings. A great little saloon next door "Tinders" for a nightcap.

Ok to stay here if you don't expect a lot and just need a place to sleep for a descent price.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    27
    25
    6
    13
See reviews for
16
22
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jenni37
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I'm the kind of gal who likes a bargain. I would really enjoy staying at upscale hotels but I am too practical to spend all my money on something that I don't get to keep. If a hotel is clean and safe and comfortable and reasonably priced, I'm in. This hotel fit the bill. It's not fancy but it did have a microwave and fridge in the room. I recommend Red's 395 Grill which is a five minute walk from the hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I have stayed at this location twice before and I have always found it 'ok'. This time the only redeeming factor was the price. The beds were hard. The security was questionable as the front desk attendant rarely turned around to see who was entering the building when I returned (often late at night). Whilst the continental breakfast was free, we were made to feel uncomfortable by the attendant, who quite literally threw a plate of food onto the table in front of us. A stark contrast to the service I have received everywhere else in the USA and sufficiently unpleasant to make me cancel a return visit the following week.

Room Tip: Stay across the street at the Wyndham Carson Station. Better beds, friendlier staff and a great litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Decent hotel with friendly front desk service, ok breakfast and quite nice rooms, with good quality beds and a bath tub. The room was clean and I'd say you get your money's worth. Apart from that very average on all fronts, but never below standard. Remember that it can get cold out here at night, preventive heating of the rooms (which have a high ceiling) may be necessary if you don't want to get out in the middle of the night. There's a nice pub up the same street for good food and drinks.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I couldn't believe how cheap rooms were there. Mine would have worked out at $55 a night or so if I had not booked an airfare/hotel package ($606.00).

My room had central heating, two king beds (actually the cheapest available), free wi-fi and a large desk, TV and DVD.

It was so hot when I first arrived, that I turned the central heating down.

They do not have lunch or dinning services, but a complimentary breakfast and coffee bar.

I used Red bucks vouchers for some of my meals out, but mostly didn't need them.


They are the only hotel so I am told that offers direct shuttle service to and from the airport, that is from Carson City. Take fares one way can cost between $$55-65 and you have to order a taxi from the hotel otherwise.

Though services were not luxury I would rate them as very good value for money.

There is car park round the back near their conference center, so plenty of room for parking and you are almost opposite the Carson City Station Casino.

Well worth it if you are on a budget, as I was. And very nice staff.

Room Tip: Take a Room away from the street. And you need a car to get about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray, Utah
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Did not like the idea of paying the same price as in San Francisco, so tried it. Not too bad. Reasonably clean. Check in was pretty easy. Location is fine.

Several gripes. 1. the place is dated, even though it has seen some upgrade lately. 2. the bathtub is squeaky. 3. the bedding looks dated and well used. 4. breakfast is rather limited in choice. 5. exercise facility is not in the main building and requires a special access key.

So in the end, it is a decent choice. It is perhaps above average in Carson City. Different from many local hotels, this hotel has no casinos and does not allow smoking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Plaza Hotel Carson City, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
The Carson City Plaza would like to Thank you for your response. Yes we are currently upgrading our rooms. Check out our new Flat screen TV's! The Plaza is the largest Hotel in Carson City with 168 rooms with a variety of standard, Deluxe and King and Queen Suites. We are 100% non-smoking property. We are just a short walking distance to many Restaurant/Casino's, as well as museums and the Nevada State Capitol, and offer a shuttle service upon availability. Our continental breakfast offers a variety of Hot and Cold cereals, english muffins, hard boiled eggs,
fresh made waffles, juice, cocoa, teas and coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I've stayed here on 2 occasions. It's central to everything I needed in Carson.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
They moved me from a ground floor room (as I like to sleep with the window open), to a second floor room, with no problems.
The lady on the front desk, helped me out when I needed info off a website, and she looked it up for me.
Breakfast is basic, but fine.
As a single female traveller I felt perfectly safe there.

Room Tip: Preferred to not be on the ground floor, as if sleeping with window open, didn't feel too safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Plaza Hotel Carson City, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your response! The Carson City Plaza Hotel and Event Center is pleased to announce that we have been renovating our rooms and now have purchased flat screen televisions also. Our continental breakfast offers a variety of whole grain cereals, oatmeal, english muffins, hard boiled eggs, fresh made waffles, Orange juice, coffee and teas as well as a variety of yoplait yogurts. Fresh coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Plaza Hotel Carson City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel Carson City

Address: 801 South Carson Street, Carson City, NV 89701
Location: United States > Nevada > Carson City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Carson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Plaza Hotel Carson City 2*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carson City Plaza is the largest Hotel in Carson City and centrally located for convenient walking distance to many local Restaurants and Museums.The Plaza Event Center caters to Business and Social Events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Plaza Hotel Carson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Carson City
Plaza Carson City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plaza Hotel Carson City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.