We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still great snowshoeing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spooner Lake Cross Country

Spooner Lake Cross Country
P.O. Box 981, Carson City, NV 89702
(775) 749-5349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 43 things to do in Carson City
Activities: Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For cross-country ski buffs of all ages and ability levels, this area offers more than 45 miles of groomed ski trails spread over 9,000 acres of scenic wilderness area.
Genoa, Nevada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Still great snowshoeing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I was sad to see that the concession for cross country skiing has closed. I hope a new one opens for next season. In the meantime, it a beautiful place to snowshoe. A silver lining to the closing is that the scene is even quieter and more private. I encountered a total of 5 other hikers during a 4 hour snowshoe hike around the lake. It was easy enough to follow the trail. It would have been difficult for a novice on skis.
I would like to take some lessons for X-country skiing, so I hope it reopens for that purpose. If not, I will enjoy the snow shoe action.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
“Spooner Lake Cross Country is Closed forever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Max (owner) has closed the cross country ski area! Spooner Lake will no longer be groomed. You can still go out on the trails yourself as there are no trail fees anymore. I guess Max is still keeping the bike thing open in the summer, but this as a ski area is closed. If you purchased one of the 10 pass punch cards, you are in luck! Max has arranged for Tahoe City Cross XCountry to honor the any remaining value on the cards. That's great cause I still have 7 passes left on mine! Shows Max is an up standing guy and not leaving us out in the cold.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Hot Springs, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“God's Country for sure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The short 2 mile hike around the lake is beautiful. Down by the lake is rocks that the Indians actually had used to make things, you can see where they did the grinding. Very interesting. You could actually picture them living there. So so beatiful.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Spooner Lake 2 mile hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is a hike on a good trail around the circumference of Spooner Lake near the intersection of US 50 and St Rt 28. The 80 acre lake is surrounded by pines and groves of aspen trees. There are informative plaques spaced around the lake describing the location, ecology and history (dating back to late 1800s). Wintertime it provides a great cross country ski excursion.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great cross country skiing resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

This is much quieter and less packed than most other cross country ski resorts around. Good variety of beginning to difficult trails. I usually prefer backcountry skiing, but when I want to bring a beginner with me to go on groomed trails, or I want to do some skate skiing, I go here. They also have snowshoe trails.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spooner Lake Cross Country also viewed

 

Been to Spooner Lake Cross Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spooner Lake Cross Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.