We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remodeled” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Exchange Club Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Exchange Club Motel to your Saves list
Exchange Club Motel
119 West Main Street, Beatty, NV 89003-0425   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
Redmond, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Remodeled”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We recently stayed at the Exchange Club Motel in Beatty Nevada. The room had been recently remodeled and was very clean. The parking lot had also just been resurfaced. We had a pet with us so were surprised by the quality of the room. The desk clerks both morning and evening were both helpful and friendly. We had a non-smoking room with none of usual cover-up odors. The only noticeable problem was noisy plumbing sounds from other rooms. Overall it was a pleasant stay which included Wi Fi and HBO.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    108
    63
    11
    6
See reviews for
32
104
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Exchange Club is a great, affordable overnight option for visiting Death Valley National Park, entering the park on the northeast end. The drive into the park from Beatty is beautiful, with views of the western mountains as you travel through the pass. It's not "luxury" accommodations but is clean and very comfortable, providing a good night's sleep - just what you need for exploring DV and its diverse landscape.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at the Exchange Club Motel. We used it as a base for exploring the northern part of Death Valley National Park (NP).

We decided to stay somewhere in the town of Beatty because it gives the best access to Death Valley NP from the eastern (Nevada) side. From Beatty, it is only about a 20 minute drive to the border of the park, and another 20 minutes or so from the border to the north/center of the park. Also, we found the lodging inside Death Valley NP to be very expensive for what you get. For example, the Furnace Creek Ranch motel inside the park was asking $199 a night, and that is more than three times (!!) what we paid to stay in Beatty at the Exchange Club Motel (a similar type of lodging).

All-in-all, we thought the Exchange Club was a good value, and would probably return there on future trips to Death Valley NP. A discussion of some of the specific pros and cons of the Exchange Club Motel follow.

Pros

The Exchange Club has an excellent location in “downtown” Beatty. There are several restaurants within walking distance of the Exchange Club. In fact, the “Happy Burro” and “KC’s Outpost Saloon” -- the two highest-rated restaurants in Beatty according to Tripadvisor -- are right across the street from the motel. So, after a hard day of hiking in Death Valley NP, you can grab a meal and a beer (or two) without worrying about driving back to your motel. There is also a gas station, with a nice little mini-mart, just about 40 yards from the Exchange Club.

Check-in at the motel was easy. Our room was fairly large, and very clean. The room had a nice queen size bed, a nice flat screen TV with 20 cable channels (including HBO), a working hairdryer, a small refrigerator, and an in-room coffee maker. There was plenty of hot water and good water pressure. The carpet and furnishings seemed to be relatively new. The motel’s internet was free, and it worked fine.

The temperature in Beatty, at an altitude of 3300 feet (one kilometer) of elevation, is generally 10 to 15 degrees cooler than on the floor of Death Valley NP. And, while we were visiting, the weather in Beatty was nice, so we had no cause to use the in-room heating/cooling unit. Still, Beatty WILL be hot in the summer (if not as hot as Death Valley NP), so I did try the various settings on the heating/cooling unit, and it seemed like the unit was working just fine.

We paid $62 a night, plus tax, for our room at the Exchange Club. This was a tremendous savings over the cost of in-park lodging, as discussed above. Although I usually book through Expedia or Hotwire, the Exchange Club was not on either website, so I used Booking.com to make my reservation.

Cons

The room had very poor soundproofing. During the afternoon and early evening, we could hear people out front, people talking in adjacent rooms, people moving upstairs, people knocking on doors, and vehicles out the back of the room (through the heating/cooling unit). Luckily, the activity died out about 9 PM, and then it got fairly quiet. But it might not always be so, and if you are light sleeper you might have problems. If you able to haul you luggage up a flight of stairs, you might consider a second floor room to lessen the noise potential.

Although much of our room’s furnishings, including the carpet, appeared new, the bathtub was older and had several chips in it. It was hard to understand why almost everything had been recently updated but not the bathtub.

The motel had only one ice machine, and it did not work. We reported the broken machine to the front office, but it was still not working when we departed. Luckily, it was easy to walk over to the mini-mart and grab some ice.

All things considered, we would recommend the Exchange Club Motel. We are likely to return when we visit Death Valley NP again (and there is so much to do in the NP!).

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room to keep the noise levels down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was an adequate motel for the location. There are not a lot of choices in Beatty, especially when you are travelling with pets. It was clean, the bed was okay, the heating unit was very loud but I had to give up on showering due to the howling coming from the pipes. I tried turning it off and on more than once, but it wouldn't stop. Finally just washed in the sink. It did have a refrigerator, but no microwave, and was relatively quiet and set off the street. When I reported the problem with the shower to the clerk on checkout, she seemed uncaring.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Typical through-route motel. Basic and clean, fridge was a bonus. Only 1 pillow per guest was a bit mean. Noise from other guests coming back late and checking out early (from 5am) disrupted our sleep. Still good value for money on balance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

If you are traveling through Beatty, you could do worse than this motel. It is right in the middle of town and you can just cross the street to eat at one of three places. Simple, no bells and whistles but free wifi and cable tv and a fridge in the room. We wish we also had a microwave or a coffee maker but you can't have it all, and certainly not at this price.
All in all a clean, decent place to sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect from this place being located in the middle of nowhere. I was recently in Beatty to visit family, and stayed at the Exchange Club. I was pleasantly surprised by the room. Very updated room with refrigerator and flat screen TV. The room was very spacious, and clean. The location is directly in the middle of town. Close to everything Beatty has to offer. Overall, I would recommend this place to anyone who has a need to go to Beatty.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Exchange Club Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exchange Club Motel

Address: 119 West Main Street, Beatty, NV 89003-0425
Location: United States > Nevada > Beatty
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Exchange Club Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exchange Club Hotel Beatty
Exchange Hotel Beatty
Exchange Motel Beatty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exchange Club Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.