We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value, enormous room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Portal Motel

Save Saved
You added El Portal Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
El Portal Motel
301 Main Street, Beatty, NV 89003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Beatty
Tucson, AZ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Outstanding value, enormous room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Our room would have been a good value anywhere, but it seemed even more so in comparison with the lodging inside Death Valley National Park. Beatty is only about 35 miles from Stovepipe Wells, and our room was cheaper by a factor of almost 3 relative to Stovepipe Wells and a factor of more than 5 relative to Furnace Creek. It was also enormous, even for two people and two bicycles. There was a desk with plenty of space to spread out a computer and papers, plus two comfortable upholstered chairs in addition to the desk chair. Everything was clean, the bed was comfortable, and everything worked fine--fridge, microwave, wi-fi, plumbing, large (but not flat screen) TV, lights. They gave us more soap and shampoo and towels than we knew what to do with. The motel is an old-fashioned mom-and-pop style place, which was fine with us. The only minus for us was the lack of an ice machine.

Beatty is, of course, a tiny place. Restaurants are limited to a 24-hour Denny's inside a casino, a handful of establishments that style themselves as saloons, and Mel's Diner (excellent breakfast and lunch, but no dinner.) There are two gas stations ("Eddie World" with a Subway sandwich shop and ice cream counter, the "Rebel" with a local deli.) Eddie World also has a large, rather ideosyncratic nut/candy/souvenir store that must be seen to be believed. The town also has one very small market, "Beatty Mercantile", with groceries and hardware; we were told that residents drive to Pahrump (a long way!) for supermarket shopping.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    24
    15
    3
    5
See reviews for
6
22
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Izmir, Turkey
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We walked in to this motel and stayed one night on the way to Death Valley. The room was basic but clean and comfortable, bathroom was clean with hot water running and wifi worked fine. This was all we needed. No complaints, especially for the price we have paid. If you are just after a clean room for sleep, I would recommend it

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Brilliant location for Death Valley and faultless value for money. Clean, good size room, but very basic. But you expect that for what you pay for, perfectly adequate though.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
at sea
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

The room was a bit dark and quite dated, but the price was right. Fridge and micro in the room was great, but no ice machine available. Wifi was sporadic. Family owned and operated and friendly enough. Very convenient location for access to Rhyolite ghost town and entrance to Death Valley NP.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is an old motel that is a bit junky, but they were busy painting bathrooms and doing some updating. Bedding and bathrooms were clean, beds were firm. WiFi was fast. Micros and refrigerators are not common in the area and a big plus for a traveling family. The chairs were beat up, carpet and other furnishings old, but it is a decent value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We can't afford the resort inside Death Valley, so we book this motel for overnight rest.
Just a basic motel, with basic service. We book online for $45 per night, at this price I can't really ask for too much. The only issue I have is there is no coffee machine in room, but it does have microwave oven.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

At first glance the outside of this place looks pretty bad, however we stayed in the single story behind the original old building. Room was very large and clean. Carpet was stained and there was no coffee maker in the room. For the price not a bad deal. Would stay here again if back in Beatty

Room Tip: we stayed in Room 120
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Portal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Portal Motel

Also Known As:
El Portal Hotel Beatty
El Portal Hotel
Address: 301 Main Street, Beatty, NV 89003
Location: United States > Nevada > Beatty
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Beatty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your El Portal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Portal Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.