We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value, enormous room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Portal Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added El Portal Motel to your Saves list
El Portal Motel
420 West Main St, Beatty, NV 89003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Outstanding value, enormous room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Our room would have been a good value anywhere, but it seemed even more so in comparison with the lodging inside Death Valley National Park. Beatty is only about 35 miles from Stovepipe Wells, and our room was cheaper by a factor of almost 3 relative to Stovepipe Wells and a factor of more than 5 relative to Furnace Creek. It was also enormous, even for two people and two bicycles. There was a desk with plenty of space to spread out a computer and papers, plus two comfortable upholstered chairs in addition to the desk chair. Everything was clean, the bed was comfortable, and everything worked fine--fridge, microwave, wi-fi, plumbing, large (but not flat screen) TV, lights. They gave us more soap and shampoo and towels than we knew what to do with. The motel is an old-fashioned mom-and-pop style place, which was fine with us. The only minus for us was the lack of an ice machine.

Beatty is, of course, a tiny place. Restaurants are limited to a 24-hour Denny's inside a casino, a handful of establishments that style themselves as saloons, and Mel's Diner (excellent breakfast and lunch, but no dinner.) There are two gas stations ("Eddie World" with a Subway sandwich shop and ice cream counter, the "Rebel" with a local deli.) Eddie World also has a large, rather ideosyncratic nut/candy/souvenir store that must be seen to be believed. The town also has one very small market, "Beatty Mercantile", with groceries and hardware; we were told that residents drive to Pahrump (a long way!) for supermarket shopping.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    50
    30
    4
    5
See reviews for
22
42
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We walked in to this motel and stayed one night on the way to Death Valley. The room was basic but clean and comfortable, bathroom was clean with hot water running and wifi worked fine. This was all we needed. No complaints, especially for the price we have paid. If you are just after a clean room for sleep, I would recommend it

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Brilliant location for Death Valley and faultless value for money. Clean, good size room, but very basic. But you expect that for what you pay for, perfectly adequate though.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
at sea
Level Contributor
160 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

The room was a bit dark and quite dated, but the price was right. Fridge and micro in the room was great, but no ice machine available. Wifi was sporadic. Family owned and operated and friendly enough. Very convenient location for access to Rhyolite ghost town and entrance to Death Valley NP.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is an old motel that is a bit junky, but they were busy painting bathrooms and doing some updating. Bedding and bathrooms were clean, beds were firm. WiFi was fast. Micros and refrigerators are not common in the area and a big plus for a traveling family. The chairs were beat up, carpet and other furnishings old, but it is a decent value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We can't afford the resort inside Death Valley, so we book this motel for overnight rest.
Just a basic motel, with basic service. We book online for $45 per night, at this price I can't really ask for too much. The only issue I have is there is no coffee machine in room, but it does have microwave oven.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

At first glance the outside of this place looks pretty bad, however we stayed in the single story behind the original old building. Room was very large and clean. Carpet was stained and there was no coffee maker in the room. For the price not a bad deal. Would stay here again if back in Beatty

Room Tip: we stayed in Room 120
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beatty hotels
0.3 mi away
Death Valley Inn
Death Valley Inn
#4 of 6 in Beatty
3.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Exchange Club Motel
Exchange Club Motel
#2 of 6 in Beatty
3.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Motel 6 Beatty / Death Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Atomic Inn
The Atomic Inn
#6 of 6 in Beatty
3.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stagecoach Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Portal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Portal Motel

Address: 420 West Main St, Beatty, NV 89003
Location: United States > Nevada > Beatty
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Portal Motel is located in Beatty Nevada is outside Death Valley National Park (only 6 miles away) making it an ideal location to rest up from you daily adventures at the park. Location is important to our guests which is why El Portal Motel is just two blocks from Hwy 95. This makes it easy to find and proves to have less traffic giving you a quiet and restful stay. Our Motel is a small cozy Motel that is Family owned and operated. We are mostly known for our location, reliable customer service, friendly and informative staff and quiet and clean area. If you are traveling to Death Valley National Park, this motel is a must stop. Too hot? No worries, take a dip in our pool! With your immediate needs taken care of. Rest assure this is the right place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your El Portal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Portal Hotel Beatty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Portal Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.