We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic motel for night rest” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Portal Motel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com
El Portal Motel
301 Main Street, Beatty, NV 89003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Beatty
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“basic motel for night rest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We can't afford the resort inside Death Valley, so we book this motel for overnight rest.
Just a basic motel, with basic service. We book online for $45 per night, at this price I can't really ask for too much. The only issue I have is there is no coffee machine in room, but it does have microwave oven.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    24
    15
    3
    5
See reviews for
6
22
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingman, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

At first glance the outside of this place looks pretty bad, however we stayed in the single story behind the original old building. Room was very large and clean. Carpet was stained and there was no coffee maker in the room. For the price not a bad deal. Would stay here again if back in Beatty

Room Tip: we stayed in Room 120
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Hey, it was someplace to sleep! Not much to offer in Beatty!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Spent one night here after a long drive from San Francisco on our way to Death Valley. Made a reservation beforehand via their web site - our $49 room was huge with two comfortable queen beds, mini-fridge, microwave, and cable TV. Free wi-fi is also available.

The room was pretty tired looking but funky and with character at the same time. Since this hotel is a block off the highway it was really quiet at night. There is a great bar and a few dining options just a short walk up the street.

**Note - when driving in Beatty be sure to obey the speed limit and traffic laws. We saw two sheriff's vehicles (pick up trucks) pulling people over when we rolled into town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011 via mobile

Clean bed linen and the location is the best you can say.

Very run down with a noisy aircon and that wonderful authentic dripping tap.

A little cheaper than super 8 but unless there is no room don't save your money.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

This motel is a great find. It is right at the entrance of Death Valley and certainly much cheaper than staying right within Death Valley. The owner was friendly and helpful. Our room was large with micro wave, refrigerator, TV and what appeared to be a newly remodeled bathroom. Although there are a couple of newer, more modern hotels down the road you can't beat the price here and the opportunity to support a local business. There is also a pool. There is a good restaurant right down the road.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

If you're looking for glitz and glamour, the El Portal is not for you - but if you are en route to Death Valley, this is the perfect place to stay and sensational value for money.

It looks, like the rest of Beatty, a bit run down, but the rooms are clean and functional and while it's not particularly modern, everything you need is there. The beds are super comfy, and we had an excellent night's sleep without interruption. You can wander into Beatty for dinner (though be aware that everything shuts at about 9pm, other than the saloon) - check out the chilli in the area as it's a real local favourite.

There was no one on the desk when we arrived at about 8pm - keys were left out for us, and we paid when we left. A level of trust we're not used to in other parts of the world! If you want basic, good quality accommodation close to Death Valley, then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Portal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Portal Motel

Also Known As:
El Portal Hotel Beatty
El Portal Hotel
Address: 301 Main Street, Beatty, NV 89003
Location: United States > Nevada > Beatty
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Beatty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your El Portal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Portal Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added El Portal Motel to your Saves list