We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Friendly motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Atomic Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Atomic Inn to your Saves list
The Atomic Inn
350 South First Street, Beatty, NV 89003 (Formerly the Phoenix Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Friendly motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Very enjoyable overnight stay, staff were lovely, helpful and friendly. Would stay again if in the area. We ate at a local bar and found the locals very welcoming and we all had a great time teaching Cole the cowboy to say some English words. Air conditioning, fridges, microwaves, TV's in rooms, very large car park. There is also a well stocked mini mart and gas station very close by for supplies.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atomicinnmanager, Manager at The Atomic Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad that you enjoyed staying at our hotel. We do pride ourselves in having comfortable rooms that are warm and inviting. Look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    91
    49
    33
    37
See reviews for
48
115
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orangevale, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were looking for a place to stay before heading to Death Valley and were a little "spooked" by the first review... While it was not the Four Seasons, it was clean, convenient and fun. The manager was happy to give us travel advice, information on the town and was incredibly friendly. We did have a brief issue with the WIFI, but really, this place is in the middle of no-where. The rooms were well kept and comfortable. Very fun - you won't forget staying @ the Atomic inn.

Room Tip: The ones in the front are the best if you are comfortable being near the road. I recommend closer t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atomicinnmanager, Manager at The Atomic Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We are in the perfect location on the way to Death Valley. We love being able to give advice and travel tips to those that stay with us. Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

A friend and I were doing a couple days of hiking and siteseeing around Death Valley and stopped here for a night. I was quite happy with what they provided - a clean bed in an air conditioned room - nothing more. I had no expectations regarding anything else. Once you look at it from the outside, you know your expectations should remain simple - hot water, clean towels & linens. The TV was just a bonus! I'd put this at 3 1/2 stars - but there is not an option to use half stars, so I upped it to 4 due to the friendliness of the lovely young lady that checked us in!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atomicinnmanager, Manager at The Atomic Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Our rooms have everything you'd expect: comfortable bed, clean linens, flat screen tvs, dvd players, refrigerators, microwaves, and free wi-fi. One thing you don't expect is our unique decor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We booked The Atomic Inn based on earlier Trip Advisor reviews, which were mixed, but on the whole reasonably positive. We needed a crash place after driving from Yosemite through Death Valley.

Unfortunately we were given a room right on the end of the motel, so we had no wifi reception. Which was disappointing as you only had to walk a few rooms towards reception and we had reception.

Ok so the room was cheap, but you don't expect to find the previous guests dirty towels still hanging up on the back of the bathroom door. Nor do you expect to find a lot of long, dark hairs on the blanket covering the bed - which was immediately stripped off. Perhaps we should have asked to change rooms then, but we knew the motel was at full capacity, we were tired, we figured it was a cheap option and we weren't staying longer than one night. But in the morning I woke up to find a string of bedbug bites on my shoulder. I've backpacked through Australia before and unfortunately from previous experience, I know bedbug bites from mozzie bites. Not great.

We hopped skipped out as soon as we could in the morning.

We don't like to leave negative reviews on Trip Advisor, as we appreciate this is someone's livelihood at the end of the day, however, with a catalog of dirtiness in the room such as the above, I really can't warrant a positive review I'm afraid. Cleanliness isn't hard to get right, even at the prices you pay at Atomic Inn.

Room Tip: If you do stay here (!) try to get a room close to reception, both for security and wifi access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atomicinnmanager, Manager at The Atomic Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
We apologize if you've had a bad experience with us, this was not our intention. Please let us assure you that we do keep all of our rooms clean and well maintained. If the room was less than satisfactory we are sorry. Please also let us assure you that we have not ever had bed bugs. Our rooms, mattresses, bedding are cleaned and sanitized on a regular basis. Do not let one poor stay affect future visits. We do invite you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

After reading the most recent revues was a bit worried about staying here . However we found the room to be fine , clean and 70s style with a huge comfy bed . Beatty is a friendly place and the locals made us very welcome and told us alot about the area . It was a change not to stay in a tourist resort and meet some real charachters. The nearby garage has everything you need and the two local bars we tried were great value and friendly . Overall a good location for Death Valley which is vast and can take hours to see . I would say for the money it was value and we were able to park the car right in front of our room .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atomicinnmanager, Manager at The Atomic Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
The retro theme of this hotel is what makes people interested in staying here because we're different and not like any other hotel in town. We have a fun and funky vibe. Stay here and take a step back in time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

The Atomic Inn needs to be avoided at all costs. While staying there for 3 nights and we learnt the service was terrible; no one at the front desk when needed, dirty sheet on beds, walls are basically paper thin and we could hear the people in the next room, the hair dryer did not work, we went to the saloon to eat and when we got back my expensive perfume and my partners hair products were nowhere to be found we went to ask for them back and no one was around to hear our compliant, the tv did not work at first so we had to mess around with the wires and even then we only had a couple of channels properly working, we asked for the continental breakfast which consisted of Danish pastery from which had an expiry date of 2008! This motel surely violates regulations and SHOULD BE CLOSED DOWN!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atomicinnmanager, Manager at The Atomic Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
It's true that we do not have room service or a bell hop available, however our rooms are cleaned and inspected every day. We make sure everything is satisfactory. Our pastries, while store bought for now, will not be in the future. For now I do purchase them, but to say they expired in 2008 is wrong. I know this. Our office is closed from 11am-3pm, but there is always someone here on the property. I'm sure that if you needed something someone on my staff would have been more than happy to accomodate you. Our tvs do work properly, but if there were a problem it is not difficult to ask for help. For you to say that our hotel should be shut down is inappropriate and incredibly false. Future travelers, do not let this fabrication sway you from staying with us. I assure you will have a good stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Don't stay here, it is a shack in a town of trailers, what more can I say, DO NOT STAY OR BOOK IN HERE!! Carry on to Vegas!!! The only permanent structures in the town were the museum, saloons , shady restaurants and the gas stations. I heard stories of cars being broken into by locals, targeting tourists that are the life blood of a location like this. If you want to have a safe vacation, DO NOT STAY AT THE ATOMIC INN, BEATTY. We drove around the back of the motel and it was one of the worst places you would want to stay on the planet!! If you can't get all the way to Vegas, Pahrump is a little closer, where you'll find reasonable, clean, sound accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atomicinnmanager, Manager at The Atomic Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
First of all, our town is a rustic mining town that has been around since the early 1800s. We believe it to be a charming and safe place to be. The rooms in the back of our hotel, we do not rent out as they are being renovated to add to the already finished hotel rooms. Our rooms are clean, comfortable and well kept. If you wish to carry on to Las Vegas, be my guest. You won't find another place with this rustic charm as what we have here at the Atomic Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Atomic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atomic Inn

Address: 350 South First Street, Beatty, NV 89003 (Formerly the Phoenix Inn)
Location: United States > Nevada > Beatty
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atomic Inn is a newly remodeled retro-themed motel located only 6 miles from the Death Valley National Park entrance. All rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. Many rooms now have flat screen televisions and DVD players. NEW - Now the only motel in the area with dial from your room room service - order some popcorn and root beer to go along with your movie. NEW - DVD rentals and popular board games available for check out at the front desk! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Atomic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Atomic Hotel Beatty
The Phoenix Hotel Atomic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Atomic Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.