We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty bad experience.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stagecoach Hotel and Casino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beatty
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stagecoach Hotel and Casino
Highway 95, Beatty, NV 89003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Beatty
Mill Creek, Wa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pretty bad experience.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

When we arrived they didn't have our reservation but they were able to find a room for us. Then she said we'd have to pay for our four day stay in full upfront with no refund if we decided to leave early. Okay, that was odd, but I handed over the credit card.

I asked for the "new" section as I read a few reviews that said there was a new section and an old section. She said that's true but the $$ is more. Okay, I'm willing to pay more when I get more for it.

However, the room was straight out of 1985. New? Not in this century. The ceiling was even textured. The drain in the tub was moldy and rusted out! The tile was ancient and the television was also circa 1980 something. When I questioned whether this really was the new section she said it was "new enough".

We had asked for a non-smoking room and while they adamantly insisted that it was non-smoking, the room smelled like cigarettes and... there was even a standard issue hotel ashtray on the table in the room. Hmmmm. Not a good hotel experience.

I would've given it one star but I didn't see any bugs and the sheets were clean. House cleaning also did a good job cleaning up after us every day, however we had a two queen room but were only given two towels and two washcloths each day.

If you can find somewhere else, skip the Stagecoach inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    64
    40
    26
    11
See reviews for
23
62
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I travel between Tuscon and Reno about 4 times a year and find the Stagecoach Hotel to be and excellent place to relax. The only problem I had was when I checked out in the AM the office smelled like someone had spilled a bottle very cheap perfume I don't know how the jeannette or janet i can't remember her name could stand the smell it was very strong, when I checked in the night before the office smelled OK .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This motel has comfortable rooms.

The check-in person wasn't friendly and interrupted checking us in to take an extended phone-in reservation. The motel is part of a casino, and the front desk is open to the very smoky casino.

The room was adequate - nice size and clean, and the rate was fine.

It was windy when we arrived, and we had a great deal of trouble with the internet connection.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the smoky and loud casino if you're there to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

At reasonable cost, Stagecoach is a good hotel to stopover. If you like travelling through the desert, it is ideally positioned just a couple of hours north of Vegas. Good for exploring Death Valley and the nearby museum gives a fascinating insight into the town and its development. If you have the time, visit Rhyolite Ghost Town to the west - some really weird arty stuff well worth seeing. Has a Denny's cafe. The rooms are what you would expect and are spacious and clean. Not at all pretentious, just good value for money. Stayed last year and booked again for this June. Always hot when we travel through - but what do you expect in the desert in June!!! Aircon works well. Some rooms are refurbished in the actual hotel and others form a courtyard. Worth considering.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Clean simple room, quiet atmosphere, friendly staff. They are dog friendly and did not ask for extra fees. While I am not a Denny's enthusiast, they are very proud to have one next to the little casino. I'd stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mojave, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

It's not the fanciest place, it's the only place I found while passing through Beatty on my way to Death Valley, but it was affordable and comfortable.
After a full day of exploring and hiking it was a welcome sight to get a shower and a meal. There is a small restaurant and gambling casino on the premises.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The showers do not work very well. Two other friends were in the same hotel and had the same problems. One friend had to get maintenance to come and get the temperature acceptable. It seem the maintenance guy doesn't like cold showers, so he sets the temperature to SCALDING. The only problem is that now you only choices are scalding or freezing. If you do finally get a temperature that doesn't kill you, it still gets warm, cold, warm, cold as you are showering. My guess is from all of the other guests trying to find an acceptable temperature.

The shower also had chipped surfaces, cracked tiles, and was not cleaned from the previous guest. Their used soap was still in there.

And speaking of water temperatures, the spa was maybe 78 degrees. I was really looking forward to it after a long dirt bike ride through Death Valley, but in cool weather, 78 is just plain cold to me for a spa. I passed.

Now for the 'Diner'. It is a Denny's. The best steaks in town according to the check-in personnel. I had dinner and breakfast there. And it was, well, Denny's.

Would I stay here again? From what I've heard of Beatty, I guess this is the best choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stagecoach Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stagecoach Hotel and Casino

Address: Highway 95, Beatty, NV 89003
Location: United States > Nevada > Beatty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Beatty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Stagecoach Hotel Beatty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stagecoach Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Stagecoach Hotel and Casino to your Saves list